We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night stay-Monday Night” 4 of 5 stars
Review of White Waters Country Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added White Waters Country Hotel to your Saves list
White Waters Country Hotel
Berwyn Road, Llangollen LL20 8AD, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Llangollen
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“One night stay-Monday Night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We arrived to a friendly welcome, evening meal and the full Welsh Breakfast were good.
The weather was excellent and therefore we made the most of the decking area and the stunning views down the valley back to Llangollen.
Would like to return with friends for another one night break.
Sorry to see the indoor pool/spa was not open due to running costs-it would have made the trip complete.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White_Waters1, Front Office Manager at White Waters Country Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for reviewing White Waters country Hotel.

It is lovely to read that you enjoyed your stay. When the sun shines there is no better place to relax than out on the decking where a lot of our guests like to sit and take time appreciating the lovely views.

I am sorry that you were disappointed that the hydrotherapy pool and steam room was closed, but due to a huge maintenance problem it will remain closed for the foreseeable future.

I do hope this does not affect you making a return trip an do always ring direct to see if we have any offers at all that may be of interest to you.

Kind regards

Sarah Davies
Reception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    154
    48
    23
    23
See reviews for
60
318
7
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Ashton-under-Lyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

got a deal from a certain site as a present at Christmas but overlooked the book by date
but a phone call to the hotel our minds were put at rest as they said they would honour the deal.
we arrived on the sunday afternoon and were checked in with a smile.
found the room overlooking the decking and a view of the river.,cannot fault the room for cleanliness all be it the room did look a little tired.
evening meal and welsh breakfast could not be faulted also bar prices reasonable for a hotel.
the staff were faultless and nothing was to much trouble the barman even kept me up to date on the cricket by looking at hotels pc.
overall would I recommend this hotel YES
would I return YES
thank you white waters hope to see you again soon
ps alfie is the star of the reception area
also noted decorating being done
.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White_Waters1, Front Office Manager at White Waters Country Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for writing a review.

I am delighted that we were able to accommodate you as it is very important to be flexible if at all possible.

It is very rewarding to us all that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay.

Mark the Barman is indeed excellent at keeping guests informed on the sports scores.

I do hope you make a return visit in the future and once again thank you for your lovely review.

Kind regards

Sarah Davies
Reception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We have just returned from a very relaxing stay here, it was only for one night but very,very good.
The staff were very friendly and helpful, the bar area is large and open and the decking area over looking the river lovely with a great view down the river and over to the railway line on the other side, it was a Sunday so the old locomotive was running.
We had a walk into Llangollen during the day and decided to eat in the restaurant back at White waters, the food was very good, plenty of choice on the menu and specials board ( very good mixed grill ), the weather was good so were able to enjoy a drink outside later.
We stayed in the Cedar room which has alovely large bed, clean bathroom and a little balcony also overlooking the river.
In all we had a lovely time if only for just one night we plan to return.

Room Tip: Aroom with a river view is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White_Waters1, Front Office Manager at White Waters Country Hotel, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Thank you for writing a review on White Waters.

I am very happy to read that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay.

Thank you for your lovely comments as it is a good source of information for future visitors to read.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind regards

Sarah Davies
Reception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N.Wales
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

I stayed at the White Waters Country hotel in June 2013.Myself and wife stayed for 1 night on a Dinner bed&breakfast package as a treat for our anniversary. The food was lovely as was the service.The bar service was good also and not too expensive for a hotel.The view from the decking outside was lovely and a pleasant place to sit and chill out.The only thing that struck me about this hotel is the fact it is looking tired in some areas.Like I said the decking area affords great views but the seating needs sanding and a lick of varnish/paint as it does not look good at all.The same can be said for the facias and soffits on the back of the building.Please don't let this put you off staying as it is just an observation that I hope the manager will pick up on.For a pleasant stay at a good rate then I would recommend p.s the Spar is not open either and I found this a shame.

Room Tip: Worth having a river view with a high floor because of creaky floors above
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White_Waters1, Front Office Manager at White Waters Country Hotel, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Thank you very much for your review.

I am delighted that you found the food and service of good standard and the decking area relaxing. I agree that the views are delightful from the decking area and it is lovely place to relax.

I would just like to let you know that the hotel is currently being redecorated inside and in the early spring the outside will be having the attention that is needed, so everywhere will be spic and span!

I do hope you return in the future and once again thank you for your review.

Kind regards

Sarah Davies
Reception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bewdley, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Our stay was to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary as well as a renewal of vows. From the moment we arrived we felt at ease and able to fully relax. The Hotel is clean and welcoming as well as having a spacious bar area and very attractive restaurant called Rafters. Outside is a large decked area that stands above a garden on the bank of the river Dee with access between the two via a steepish set of wooden stairs and well worth the climb back.
Food varied in price depending on what you wanted. Be it a bar snack, a meal or something from the Table d'ote menu in Rafters restaurant it was all very well cooked and delivered with excellent service.
The Hotel is approx 10mins walk from town as well as at a good starting point for walks of varying degrees of easiness to difficulty. As well as being adjacent to outdoor activity centres.
Thankyou for a lovely week and we hope to be back asap.

Room Tip: Rooms to the rear will have river / valley views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White_Waters1, Front Office Manager at White Waters Country Hotel, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay here at White Waters Country Hotel.

It is wonderful to read that you relaxed and were happy with your stay, especially with it being on such a special occasion.

Thank you for your positive feedback and helpful comments for other travellers.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards

Sarah Davies
Reception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

The last time I stayed here was in winter. I returned with the weather a bit warmer and was greeted by the most stunning views of the river and the forest/foliage around the hotel. It is an amazing place to stay, the staff are very friendly and always accomodating.

My only 'constructive' criticism is for the hotel to have the WiFi looked at. It works, but is quite often 'up and down', i.e. turns itself off now and again. If internet access is not important to you then that won't be a problem.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White_Waters1, Front Office Manager at White Waters Country Hotel, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Thank you for writing a review on White Waters Country Hotel.

It is fantastic that you returned at a different time of year and appreciated the river and stunning surrounding scenery.

I am delighted that you found the staff to be friendly and accomodating as it is very important to us all here that our customer service standards are high but not intrusive.

I do understand your frustration with our WiFi and these problems are being investigated.

Thank you for your continued custom.

Kind regards

Sarah Davies
Reception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Absolutely the best birthday retreat I have ever had was spent last month in the River Dee room at the White Water Hotel. Whether is was watching the sun rise behind the pictorial scene over the Castell Dinas Bran or relaxing to the soothing and tranquil sounds of the river just a few feet below on our private balcony, I could not have asked for a more perfect stay. From the moment we arrived, the staff greeted us warmly and took the time to answer all of our questions on the local attractions. When we first booked the reservations we were a little hesitant on if we would be welcome. Our fears were quickly laid to rest when we found and read the prominently displayed terms of business clearly stating the owners non-discriminatory policy regardless of orientation. The bed was soft and comfortable and provided this picky American one of the best nights of sleep I have had comparable to more expensive chain hotels.

Only two downsides to the hotels services. The first was that the spa was closed even though it was listed on the website and was at the bottom of our when we checked in. The staff did not tell us the spa was closed. The second problem was the continental breakfast did not have a great selection. Mostly it consisted of do it yourself toast and tasteless cereal. Croissants would have been nice and add a vegetarian choice to hot option.

Overall we had an wonderful experience and are planning on returning. Thanks for making my birthday special.

Room Tip: Ask for the River Dee room. Best view of the river and a very spacious private room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White_Waters1, Front Office Manager at White Waters Country Hotel, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Thank you for your review on White Waters Country Hotel.

I am extremely pleased that you enjoyed your Birthday celebrations here at the hotel.

Having a balcony room is lovely to take in the tranquil scenes and for just taking time out to relax. It is lovely to read that your room was comfortable and a good nights sleep was had.

Regarding the spa I can only apologise for you not being informed of its closure.

Your comments regarding Continental breakfast have also been addressed. Croissants are always available please do just ask the breakfast staff and they will order them from the kitchen for you.

Thank you for your feedback which is very much appreciated as it helps us solve any problems that may arise.

We all look forward to you returning to the hotel.

Kind regards

Sarah Davies
Reception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to White Waters Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Waters Country Hotel

Address: Berwyn Road, Llangollen LL20 8AD, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Llangollen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Llangollen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
White Waters Hotel is a new hotel situated in delightful surroundings overlooking the River Dee and yet located only one mile from the town centre. The ethos of this new hotel is to offer the highest quality of luxurious accommodation and service with a restaurant dedicated to fine dining and an environment to provide that ‘little extra’ that puts it apart from other hotels in the area. It offers 25 bedrooms all with en-suite facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your White Waters Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Waters Country Llangollen
Hotel White Waters Country
White Waters Country Hotel Llangollen, Wales - North Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage White Waters Country Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.