We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of White Waters Country Hotel

Save Saved
You added White Waters Country Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
White Waters Country Hotel
Berwyn Road, Llangollen LL20 8AD, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 12 hotels in Llangollen
wolverhampton
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“nice place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

went to the white waters hotel, through late rooms.com, staff were very pleasant and the place was great. only down side was the bathroom needed updating and the tiled floor was loose, otherwise very nice stay, would recommend to anyone..

Room Tip: request room overlooking the river, excellent view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White_Waters1, Front Office Manager at White Waters Country Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you very much for your review.

I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and that you will recommend the hotel to others always very helpful to us.

The little problem regarding the bathroom will be dealt with shortly and thank you for letting us know.

I do hope that you return for a further visit.

Kind regards

Sarah Davies
Reception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    223
    135
    43
    22
    22
See reviews for
53
288
6
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Walsall, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Unfortunatley we only had one night here but what a lovely stay , lovely deluxe room only one problem couldnt get shower to work, but apart from that it was perfect stayed for an evening meal food was lovelyand a great breakfast. Staff were very friendly and Mark goes that extra mile. The view from our room and balcony were stunning, over the river dee and the snow coverd hills.will def visit again

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White_Waters1, Front Office Manager at White Waters Country Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for writing a review.

I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay even though it was only a short break.

It's excellent to read that you enjoyed dinner & breakfast in the restaurant and plan a return visit.

The balcony certainly does take advantage of the beautiful views as you say. (as long as the snow just stays dusted on the hills and not two feet on the ground is fine by me!)

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards

Sarah Davies
Reception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Twenty six of our family and friends spent a weekend at white waters with us for my birthday . We all had a fantastic time the staff were very helpful and mark the manager exceptional . The food in the restaurant was first class as we're the breakfast . We stayed in the dee valley room which was very comfortable .we have been to white waters before and we will be definitely be returning we would highly recommend this hotel to anyone .

Room Tip: Ask for a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White_Waters1, Front Office Manager at White Waters Country Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review White Waters Country Hotel.

I am delighted you chose White Waters to celebrate your special birthday. I am very pleased to read that you all enjoyed the food in the restaurant and that you were happy with all aspects of your stay.

All of the staff thoroughly enjoyed looking after you and your party and it's lovely to know that this was appreciated.

We all very much look forward to you returning.

Kind regards

Sarah Davies
Reception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bridgend
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Recently spent weekend as a couple. Plan was to do some walking and enjoy a good quality stay at a comfortable hotel. The fact that this hotel is rated no1 on trip advisor really influenced my choice. Had seen lots of good reviews but was a bit wary of some of the more negative ones. This hotel advertises itself as luxury on the river! Considering the opposing viewpoints on this hotel, it must be undergoing a refurbishment programme and unfortunately for us we obviously were allocated a room which has not been updated. Our first room had a grubby and stained carpet and furniture was old and battered and the bedspread and curtains faded and dated. To be fair we were reallocated the room next door which did have a fresh carpet in place but the same dreary and very basic decor. The bathroom was also very tired and had a black mouldy patch behind the toilet which gave off an unpleasant smell. I should have taken note of the previous reviews that have also picked up unpleasant odours. The dining area was very pleasant with acceptable enough food and the staff were very pleasant and efficient. The other public areas were dreary and depressing. This hotel is in a stunning location but is in need of a major refurbishment. The fact that this hotel has been so highly rated by others leaves me totally perplexed.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White_Waters1, Front Office Manager at White Waters Country Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you for taking time to write a review.

Firstly I am glad that you appreciate the beautiful location of the hotel but I am concerned about your review regarding your opinion on your room.

You selected a standard double room and you were situated in the new part of the hotel which has only been built for six years. In my opinion and many others who have stayed here the rooms are modern and well decorated, wear and tear on hotel rooms is very high and I am very pleased that you were relocated to a room with a new carpet. It is very difficult to please everyones different tastes and that is why we have a variety of styles within the hotel.

Regarding an odour from your bathroom I know that there had been a problem previously mentioned on tripadvisor but this had been addressed and rectified before you stayed.

I am pleased you liked the dining area and food and that the staff were efficient.

Kind regards

Sarah Davies
Reception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

I must start by saying that the reviews from Brighton and the other one must have been about somewhere else!. Travelling as a couple we chose to stay here while our daughter was completing her Duke of Edinburgh Award. Met with a lovely welcome we found there was a genuine interest in us and a wish to make sure our weekend was perfect. The food was excellent, reasonably priced and the staff gave fantastic service. We had our evening meal in the restaurant and the the service was efficient, not overbearing and the waiter and waitress had a real awareness about them. Nothing was too much trouble ! Food so good we decided to stay for Sunday lunch before we left. Definitely recommend.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White_Waters1, Front Office Manager at White Waters Country Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review White Waters Country Hotel.

I really do appreciate your lovely comments. It is crucial to all of us here that the right level of customer service is given and it is excellent to read that this was achieved.

I am delighted that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and that you found the food to be of high standards.

We certainely do hope you return for another visit.

Kind regards

Sarah Davies
Reception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

I chose this hotel for a quiet night away within a short travelling distance from home. I used the hotel website to book which was simple and straightforward to use. We selected a VIP room which had a balcony overlooking the river. Although the weather wasn't the best the view was still impressive in particular the view of Dinas Bran partially shrouded in mist. The river provides a constant backdrop which we found pleasant. The room itself was clean and well presented and the bed was very comfortable.
We dined in the hotel in the Rafters restaraunt. The menu is Table d'hote therefore the choice was limited, but as long as you are aware of this prior to visiting, as we were, then this should not be an issue.The food itself was of good quality. The staff throughout our stay were welcoming and helpful. I would recommend this hotel to others.

Room Tip: I would recommend spending a little extra for a room with a balcony overlooking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White_Waters1, Front Office Manager at White Waters Country Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for writing a review on White Waters Country Hotel.

It's good to read that you found it easy and straightforward to book on-line.

I agree the VIP rooms do have the added bonus of a balcony with stunning views and I also find the sound of the river tranquil.

I appreciate your comments on the restaurant and execellent to hear you found all staff friendly and helpful.

Thank you for recommending the hotel.

Kind regards

Sarah Davies
Reception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Bad food and really over-priced. Went elsewhere on our 2nd night which was heaps cheaper and also much better! Didnt like our room either which was not as the website described - "manor house" is stretching it somewhat!

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White_Waters1, Front Office Manager at White Waters Country Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for your review.

As previously stated we use quality ingredients and have a very varied menu hoping to appeal to a wide audience.

Regarding your opinion on your room I appreciate everyone's taste is different but obviously we didn't win you round.

Kind regards

Sarah Davies
Reception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to White Waters Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Waters Country Hotel

Address: Berwyn Road, Llangollen LL20 8AD, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Llangollen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 hotels in Llangollen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
White Waters Hotel is a new hotel situated in delightful surroundings overlooking the River Dee and yet located only one mile from the town centre. The ethos of this new hotel is to offer the highest quality of luxurious accommodation and service with a restaurant dedicated to fine dining and an environment to provide that ‘little extra’ that puts it apart from other hotels in the area. It offers 25 bedrooms all with en-suite facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your White Waters Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Waters Country Llangollen
Hotel White Waters Country
White Waters Country Hotel Llangollen, Wales - North Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage White Waters Country Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.