We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous” 5 of 5 stars
Review of White Waters Country Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added White Waters Country Hotel to your Saves list
White Waters Country Hotel
Berwyn Road, Llangollen LL20 8AD, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Llangollen
North Wales
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Have stayed numerous tomes since our first wedding anniversary in 2008. Amazing staff, wonderful place to stat. Welcoming, cosy, food scrummy. No faults to find at all. Can't wait to go back again and would recommend to anyone. Gorgeous location. Relaxing and lots more xxxxxx

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White_Waters1, Front Office Manager at White Waters Country Hotel, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Thank you for your review.

It is very pleasing to read that you enjoyed your stay again and lovely that you were happy with all aspects of your stay.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards

Sarah Davies
Reception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    154
    48
    23
    23
See reviews for
60
318
7
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Welshpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Had a most enjoyable stay to bring in 2013. We attended the Gala Evening. The canapes only came round once which was a shame as they were very good. The three course meal was excellent, very tasty, hot and plenty of it. My only complaint was there was no coffee included to finish the meal. There was an excellent disco with a very wide variety of music and played requests. Just after midnight there was an excellent firework display and the music played on until well after 1.00am. The room was comfortable but as we had a standard room the bed was only a standard double. We stayed on for an extra night, breakfast was excellent with a good choice and plenty of it. We ate in the bar the second evening, an extensive choice of menu and the food was excellent again. The staff are all very friendly and helpful. Llangollen is a lovely place to stay and the hotel is within walking distance of the town on the banks of the river Dee which was very full and the river raged through the valley making for a dramatic sound and sight. We would definitely stay at White Waters Hotel again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White_Waters1, Front Office Manager at White Waters Country Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review.

I am very pleased that you decided on White Waters Country Hotel to celebrate New Year’s Eve. Excellent that you enjoyed the Gala Dinner and celebrations. We have found in the past that coffee and tea tended not to be required but anyone is welcome to request it and would be swiftly served.
The evening was enjoyed by all and thank you for your positive feedback and hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Sarah Davies
Reception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

5th visit to Whiter Waters in 4 years and once again a very enjoyable stay. The staff are all very friendly and the parrot Alfie will have you laughing if you spend time chatting to him. The food is also delicious. If you are looking for a pleasant and comfortable place to stay then look no further. I would definitely book White Waters.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White_Waters1, Front Office Manager at White Waters Country Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you for your review.

It is excellent that this is your 5th Visit to White Waters and thank you for your positive comments on your stay.
Alfie get’s yet another mention; he’s proving to be a bit of competition for us staff.
We all look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards

Sarah Davies
Reception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
198 reviews 198 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We just had the time to manage one day / night away to celebrate our wedding anniversary, so we picked the lovely town of Llangollen and the White Waters Country Hotel. A warm and friendly welcome from reception and Alf the parrot. For our special occasion we booked one of the best rooms which overlooked the River Dee. Very spacious. Everything was just right. You could even have your own meal in the room with a table set in a circular area at one end of a short corridor, with great views. But we decided to eat in the restaurant. We chose a traditional christmas meal which was excellent, followed by coffee and mince pieces in the lounge in front of an inviting open fire.

We will certainly try to make a return visit sometime in the near future. It was lovely to walk by the River Dee, which was quite high after all the rain coming down from the Welsh Hills. For a contrast there are gentle walks along the canal, one direction to the Horseshoe Falls and the other to the famous aqueduct. Horse drawn and motorised boat trips available in season. There is also the steam railway. All in all plenty to do for a few days within walking distance of the hotel.

Room Tip: The Dee Valley room was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White_Waters1, Front Office Manager at White Waters Country Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review White Waters Country Hotel and choosing to stay here for your Wedding Anniversary.

It is lovely to hear that you enjoyed dining in the restaurant and I certainly agree you can’t beat rounding the evening of sitting by our roaring log fire.

Kind regards

Sarah Davies
Reception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

This hotel stands over the River Dee a short walk outside the town of Llangollen, and is a perfect base for exploring the countryside of NorthEast Wales. The bar food I had was far superior to most bar food, the service was great and I managed to find a mid-week, out of season bargain for £49 B+B. The hotel has a spa room - and a colourful parrot with very colourful language! There's also lots of convenient parking.

Room Tip: ask for a room overlooking the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White_Waters1, Front Office Manager at White Waters Country Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you for reviewing the Hotel

It is excellent to hear that you enjoyed the high standards of food and service.
Fancy ‘Alf’ getting another mention on Trip Advisor! He does have very good days & has a New Year resolution to be on his best behaviour!
Look forward to you returning to White Waters Hotel.

Kind regards

Sarah Davies
Reception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

This is a lovely hotel in a great location. The staff and parrot are very welcoming and friendly and the room was spotlessly clean, warm and comfortable. Sitting by the wood burner was a real bonus! Would reccomend staying here and we are coming back again in the spring. One suggestion I would like to make - fresh fruit and yogurt would have been a nice extra on the breakfast choice.

Room Tip: Ask if one is available overlooking the river - for scenary. We were at the front but never heard an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White_Waters1, Front Office Manager at White Waters Country Hotel, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review White Waters.

I am glad that you enjoyed your stay. “Alf “the resident parrot may have to go on the payroll soon as he is quite an asset!
I am sorry that there weren’t any yoghurts out on the breakfast table (there certainly should have been- just a little oversight)
It’s always good to have feedback from our customers to see where improvements can be made.
We will be happy to see you return to White Waters in the spring.

Kind regards

Sarah Davies
Reception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

We have just arrived back from White Waters Hotel after staying over for a night. I can sum it up in one word Fantastic. Right across the board from owners to staff to location not a fault. It is a must stay for anyone visiting Llangollen.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White_Waters1, Front Office Manager at White Waters Country Hotel, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thank you for writing this review.

We very much appreciate your kind words. We are delighted that you enjoyed everything about your stay at White Waters Country Hotel.

Kind regards

Sarah Davies
Reception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to White Waters Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Waters Country Hotel

Address: Berwyn Road, Llangollen LL20 8AD, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Llangollen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Llangollen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
White Waters Hotel is a new hotel situated in delightful surroundings overlooking the River Dee and yet located only one mile from the town centre. The ethos of this new hotel is to offer the highest quality of luxurious accommodation and service with a restaurant dedicated to fine dining and an environment to provide that ‘little extra’ that puts it apart from other hotels in the area. It offers 25 bedrooms all with en-suite facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your White Waters Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Waters Country Llangollen
Hotel White Waters Country
White Waters Country Hotel Llangollen, Wales - North Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage White Waters Country Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.