We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value B and B” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cambrian Guest House & Tea Rooms

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Cambrian Guest House & Tea Rooms to your Saves list
Cambrian Guest House & Tea Rooms
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Berwyn Street, Llangollen LL20 8NB, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 30 Llangollen B&B and Inns
England
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good value B and B”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

This place is in the middle of town on the main road and offers easy access to all Llangolen attractions. The breakfast was good and the owner is friendly and helpful. You get basic accomodation at a budget price here. One bonus is the secure parking lot.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    13
    8
    4
    1
See reviews for
5
8
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
bishopstoke
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

We were accommodated in a comfortable double room with a spare single bed- very spacious. We were on the second floor and had access to a landing with chairs and tea and coffee making facilities, well stocked. Also separate shower room, shower not particularly powerful, but hot. Room and linen clean. Decor probably 10/15 years out of date- but then so are we! Wallpaper matched border and both matched duvet cover. Guest house is in centre of Llangollen and offers secure free parking - which is a great asset in this area, some b and b's on double yellow which put us off. The cost of the room was fair for what we paid.
Breakfast ample and service good. Traditional fried breakfast including mushrooms and tomato plus cereal fruit juice and toast. Dining room clean - old world charm including bone china cups/plates. Would happily return - Llangollen is at the entrance to Snowdonia with lots of activities and places of interest within easy reach.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

Stayed here as a last minute booking in Aug 2011. Roger was very friendly but the room was a little dowdy and the shower/toilet (both inside something the size of a wardrobe in a normal double room - per Roger to be refurbished over the winter) could have done with a clean. Breakfast was OK given the cost of the room but not amazing. I probably would try to stay somewhere else over this next time in the area.

Room Tip: Ask for the refurbished rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

Having made a last minute decision to travel to Llangollen with the added excitement of not having to find somewhere to stay, Cambrian Guest House was the first B&B we came across ideally located for easy access to the town itself.

On first meeting Roger both my partner and I instintively knew we didn't need to go any further to look for accommodation and whilst the decor may not be to everybodies taste, I was pleasantly surprised and happy with where we would be staying, so much so, a night stop turned into us staying for 3 days.

We didn't have the pleasure of meeting Carole to speak with, albeit I do believe there were fleeting moments, passing her whilst she worked in the kitchen, but Roger made us feel very at home and was very approachable so should we have needed to, he would have been at hand to assist with our enquiries. My partner likes an adventure so whilst we didn't ask for assistance in finding our way around the area, over hearing Roger with other guests he seemed knowledgable of the area.

Our room was situated at the front of the property along the main road which although was at times noisy, I am a heavy sleeper and the last thing I want to do whilst away from home is sleeping in but I could appreciate if some guests may find this off putting. Again however, Roger was completely hospitable throughout so am sure if it had been too much, we could have spoken with him.

My partner and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the hotel and when travelling from home, another factor that it is important is that we feel safe and secure where we are which was certainly the case also. I will certainly be recommending Cambrian Guest House to friends and family and will be hoping to go back soon!!

Room Tip: Ask for room to rear of property due to traffic on main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2009

On arrival first impression was that the place could do with some paint, dining room ceiling was falling down in areas. The throw over on the bed had tea/coffeee stains on them and the welcoming was not pleasant. Would not recommend this guiest houe to anyone only in an emergency. Rogers smile was not bright & kind and Carole did not soothe my mind as stated on their wall

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2008

My wife, 2 sons and I stayed here on our mini tour of North Wales. We know Llangollen well through day visits over a twenty year period and decided to stay over night. Roger was very friendly and welcoming when showing us to our room. However, what greeted us was not as advertised on the website. By Roger's admission, the website is being revamped but the current pictures seem a lot newer than the room we were given. A double, single and childs bed had been shoe-horned into a decent sized double room and the drab, grey bedspreads were equally uninviting although the room was clean. The 'ensuite' bathroom was across an ante space which acted as the fire escape for the other guests, so the room might as well have been sold as non en suite at a lower rate.

The other annoying point was the address - Berwyn Street. Technically correct but 'situated on the main A5 route' would have been a more apt description. It was also opposite the Royal Mail main sorting office which, at 6am, is a noisy place too. Combined with the traffic noise and the jammed open window - sleep was limited. The location cannot be helped so the friendliness of the place along with the enjoyable breakfast went someway to making amends. The owner has many ideas for improvements to his business and The Cambrian Guest House definitely needs a new lease of life.

  • Liked — friendliness
  • Disliked — drab accommodation
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cambrian Guest House & Tea Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambrian Guest House & Tea Rooms

Address: Berwyn Street, Llangollen LL20 8NB, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Llangollen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Llangollen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cambrian Guest House & Tea Rooms 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Cambrian Guest House & Tea Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambrian Guest House & Tea Rooms Llangollen, Wales - North Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cambrian Guest House & Tea Rooms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.