We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We just can't rate this place highly enough!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Squirrels Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Llangollen
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Squirrels Guest House
Abbey Road, Llangollen LL20 8SP, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 30 Llangollen B&B and Inns
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“We just can't rate this place highly enough!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

Another wonderful stay in this amazing house. The highlights - friendly attentive and knowledgeable hosts who are always on hand if you need them but who are expert at allowing you privacy. They will really go out of their way to accommodate any special requirements.

The house is superbly set out and decorated - every time we go back, another little touch has been added. The rooms are stylish and comfortable - really designed for all your holiday needs rather than just for show.

The location is brilliant - Squirrels has its own car park and is literally a couple of minutes walking time from the end of the bridge where you will find the steam railway, an excellent selection of pubs, restaurants and shops, canal boat trips, and the start of some great walks. In short, no need to take the car out at all unless you want to go further afield.

No review of Squirrels is complete without mentioning the superb breakfasts. The full welsh is delicious, made from fresh local inredients and cooked and presented with flair. Other options are available for vegetarians or those who prefer something lighter (smoked salmon for example) and there is always plenty of fresh fruit salad, yoghurt and breakfast cereals etc, as well as great tea, coffee and toast.

I am sure I have forgotten to mention something about this wonderful holiday location, but you get the idea!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    6
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
23
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

Last stopped here in Dec 2010 but have stayed a few times before. Each room was beautifully and stylishly furnished in a modern style. Very comfortable and spotlessly clean. One room we had was quite small and cramped, but it was cheaper than the other rooms, all the other rooms were spacious. The chocolates were a nice little touch.
We had a friendly welcome and the breakfast was good.
In an ideal location, not far from the centre of town.
Excellent value for money, highly recommended!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful, but the cheapest one is small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
182 helpful votes 182 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2010

I stayed in room 3. The room was nice and very clean. Everything worked, tea/coffee making in room with biscuits and a couple of nice little chocs all topped up every day, decent flat screen tv with free view and dvd player built in. Clean/Comfy bed and that was seen to everyday. Shower was cleaned everyday, all nice and clean. Fresh towels everyday. The breakfast was amazing. There is a breakfast menu, the full Welsh is Too much food but it was so nice I had to finish it. The owners are a very nice respectable couple. As you can see from my other reviews I travel alot. I would deffo go back when in the area.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2010

We spend two nights in the Squirrel guest gouse during our Wales trip.
The location is quite good, altough it is located at a main road, its quiet. Only 5 minutes to walk to the train station or the Llangollen Canal. There are several restaurants in close walking distance. Free parking is provided on the guesthouse ground.
As the name of the guesthouse announces, the whole house is decorated with squirrels.

We stayed in room 4, which is very big and also has a big bathroom. The room ice nicely equipped, tea and coffee making facilities are provided. WiFi however, is not available.

Breakfast ist typical coocked and there is nothing to complain about it.

It would have been a nice stay - if there would not been the bed in the room. Its a metal bed and it makes awful noise if you just move a little in it. And to make it worse, the mattress of the bed is totally worn out, you could feel every single spring it it. This made sleeping there very uncomfortable.
So if the owners would replace it, this would be a place to be recommended, but not in its current state.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2010

What a fantastic find this B&B is. The rooms were pristine clean and very comfortable. The decor was gorgeous throughout, and there were some lovely personal touches, that made it feel like home. The dining room was lovely and the tables set out beautifully, from the Royal Doulton crockery to the stemmed glasses and Coopers of Stortford cutlery and the individual bowls of fruit salad and choice of yoghgurts and a divine breakfast. The proprietors were lovely; helpful but 'in the background', and nothing was too much trouble. And no, there was no internet connection, and yes we had to pay by (belive it or not ) cash money....how refreshingly quaint and unpretentious! And all for £55 for a double en suite...we will most defintely be back!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane Australia
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2010

Great location; good parking. However be advised that they only take cash which we didn't find out about until we were checking out which was disappointing. There is no breakfast menu and if you don't know to ask, you will just be given the standard meal, ie smoked salmon and scrambled eggs is available but not advised!! However, breakfast size and quality is excellent. There is also no internet connection available although they have it in the house, they don't share. Room clean and everything else fine.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester, uk
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
178 helpful votes 178 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2010

A group of us stayed, all were very pleased. Situated right next to the Eisteddfod Centre, and about 5 minutes walk from centre. Has a car park (which they allowed us to park in from the morning of our arrival) and there is also on street parking outside. Nice breakfast. We had the top room which has a dedicated, very spacious, bathroom across the landing from the room itself - worked fine for us. Only downside was that the front rooms overlook quite a busy road so we elected to close the windows, which made it a bit warm. Others of the group stayed in the Bridge End Hotel and gave it mixed reviews.

Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Squirrels Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Squirrels Guest House

Address: Abbey Road, Llangollen LL20 8SP, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Llangollen
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Llangollen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Squirrels Guest House Llangollen, Wales - North Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Squirrels Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Squirrels Guest House to your Saves list