We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 relaxing days at The Hand Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hand Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Hand Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Hand Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bridge Street, Llangollen LL20 8PL, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 12 hotels in Llangollen
Ascot Berkshire UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“4 relaxing days at The Hand Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

True the hotel looks a little tired but for its very reasonable rates and excellent, scenic central location, you couldn't ask for more.

I took our golf group of thirty people there and we found the staff were extremely helpful, Denise, Mike, Beth and especially Josh in the restaurant.

Any request to staff at the front desk was dealt with asap.

I would certainly recommend the hotel to any group, golfers; anglers; walkers etc.

Thanks for a great time, Hand Hotel!

Room Tip: Ask for a room looking towards the River Dee
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    53
    68
    50
    16
    18
See reviews for
40
64
6
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Used Llangollen as a base for our adventure trip. Arrived with my 15yr old son, on arrival not very impressed. Struggled to find a parking space, staff at reception appearing bewildered, fumbling round to find our booking. Eventually got our room key #29, went up to our room (twin room), found the room hadn't been made up, cups with half drunken tea, newspapers and bedding strewned across the room, used towels left on the floor. Rang down to reception was given the key to #30, was told by reception that they had 'had one of those days'. Overall unimpressed with the Hotel, granted yes breakfast was probably the highlight. Some staff should be taught to smile when conversing with patrons of the hotel..... Will not return to this hotel when staying in LLangollen again.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We've recently returned from our latest jaunt to Llangollen for the Thomas the Tank Engine weekend at the steam railway.

Enjoyed another relaxing break at the Hand, with good sized family room and ample help-yourself breakfast.
A former coaching inn, the hotel has plenty of character. The rear lounge and riverside garden are perfect for food and drinks with friends. Bar meals are substantial and reasonably priced. Good quality weekend entertainment is also on offer.

A special mention on this occasion for General Manager, Denise, and Mike who went out of their way to return my son's newly-bought Thomas the Tank Engine vehicles, which he left behind amidst his excitement. Depite the staff being so busy, especially with a wedding on over the weekend, this excellent customer service and personal touch is much appreciated. John is delighted to be reunited with Bill, Ben and Diesel 10, who he says enjoyed the Hand so much that they stayed behind for a holiday!

Room Tip: Spacious family rooms, some overlooking the river, are available and add to comfort and enjoyment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

What can we say - yes, a little tired and could do with up dating, however for the price it was excellent value for money. The attention to detail from Denise was outstanding, all the staff went beyond our expectations, the rooms were clean and simple. The breakfast was delightful and comprehensive. The pims flowed, the afternoon tea was delicious - the whole experience was wonderful. A jewell In Llangollen, in an excellent location, friendly, helpful staff and we will be back. They accommodated all our family offering a superb rate, no complaints at all - thank you! Mike and Jane Garnett

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

I stayed one night and very much enjoyed my stay. The overall look was a traditional one, majestic colours and a homely feel. It made me feel comfortable and relaxed. The staff were very friendly and helpful and made us feel very welcome. Our meal in the restaurant was delicious and well presented. The girls in the restaurant were very friendly and looked after us well. Filled us in on the towns highlights and suggested a few things to do. The room was a lovely size for two of us and very clean. There was entertainment in the evening which was very good. The bar staff were quick at serving and also up for a laugh and a giggle. Breakfast in the morning was fabulous, well cooked and a lovely selection. Again, the same girls were helpful and still very cheerful. I would definatly stay at this hotel again as i had a wonderful time. The views from the garden were very beautiful and the warm weather made this garden a great place to sit and have a glass of wine.

Room Tip: river views are the best rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

There's seems little point in further outlining the kind of hotel this is as we already knew, having read the reviews here and looked at customer photos that it might be ghastly. It looks horrible, and it is indeed horrible. However being supporters of an event taking place there left us no choice but to be guests, and we were braced for the creaking old budget basement establishment the reviews hinted at, hoping it might be at least tolerable
But though some hotels can often rise above the shabby nature of their buildings and fittings by offering a charming and hospitable welcome from the staff, and a service that goes the extra mile, this is not the case here.
The sign at the car park entrance boasts 'A Warm Welsh Welcome' making one shudder at what a frosty one might be like if this is as good as it gets.
The staff consists of bewildered souls blinking incomprehensibly at the most simple requests, or sullen misanthropes irritated either by their life, or their guests, or perhaps both.
A labyrinth of musty corridors smelling of cabbage lead to small shabby rooms, ours at least with a lovely view of the river and hilltop castle ruins to dull some of the aesthetic pain.
Wifi is confined to 10 feet away from the reception desk, there is little or no mobile phone signal and they won't serve you food if they're 'too busy'.
It's cheap, but not cheap enough for this, resembling a geriatric care home your children might put you in if they hate you.
Console yourself if you've already booked that at least it's in a beautiful village full of gorgeous places to eat and wonderful things to see.( Try eating at the Corn Mill on the river. Great.)
But beware. More than one night at the Hand Hotel will scour your soul.

Room Tip: River view. But best tip, is stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

A mistake in the booking was resolved quickly and we were uprated to a superior room.
The room itself was plain std, but was clean, River side view for us saved the two night
break, because the breakfast was greasy very average and little choice.Would look around
at other hotels next time in Llangollen.
Gwyn H

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Hand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hand Hotel

Address: Bridge Street, Llangollen LL20 8PL, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Llangollen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 hotels in Llangollen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hand Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing above a beautiful stretch of the river Dee close to the centre of the pretty market town of Llangollen. The Hand Hotel with its stunning riverside garden, old world charm, ample free parking and home cooked food from our popular restaurant,is ideal for romance, for families, and groups, whether private or business, as well as for your Wedding or Conference. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your The Hand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hand Hotel Llangollen
The Hand Hotel Llangollen, Wales - North Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.