We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Choice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Manorhaus Llangollen

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Manorhaus Llangollen to your Saves list
Manorhaus Llangollen
HIll Street, Llangollen LL20 8EU, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 30 Llangollen B&B and Inns
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good Choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Arrived at hotel Sunday 2nd June . Our son had bought this break as a Christmas present. We met Gavin on arrival who politely showed us to our room and explained where everything was. The room was lovely, ensuite everything we needed. The only thing if we return I would choose a front room with less stairs. We had a beautiful evening meal with a bottle of wine, we have eaten in some of the best restaurants and this was up there, infact we may return just to eat in the restaurant it was so nice. We had a fantastic time in Llangollen , and to top it all the weather was glorious . Definitely recommend this hotel, hope to return.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    25
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
4
93
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here this month for one night midweek, and everything was perfect. The rooms were modern, well-equipped and spotlessly clean. The free standing bath in the room was a nice touch! We also were able to use the rooftop hot tub for an hour with prosecco which was lovely. We didn't eat in the restaurant as we felt it was a little overpriced, but the breakfast was delicious. We would definitely recommend manorhaus Llangollen!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

Friendly greeting on arrival and a free parking permit given so that we could park the car literally 1 minute away. The hotel is lovely, cosy, with lots of modern interior
furniture and decor. Our room was super, we had a lounge area with large tv and seating leading through to the bath and wet room area then on into the bedroom all lovely, spotlessly clean and again modern but comfortable. Gorgeous fluffy towels and bathrobes awaited us along with a nice Coffee/Tea making facility. We had dinner in the restaurant and everything was very good, delicious food and good service.
We had an hour free to us to use the hot tub they have upstairs on a small terrace and this is where I have...not a complaint, more a constructive criticism i hope. The hot tub is a lovely add on to the hotel but please clean up the area, old varnish tins, a rentokil rat trap etc do not add to what should be such a tranquil, romantic way to pass a lovely hour with such a wonderful view.
With a little bit of tlc it could be so nice.
Also, instead of the very tacky miniture bottle of prosseco do the classy thing and arrive with a proper glass of something sparkling. Everything upto this point had been perfect with just a couple of little tweaks i would have been giving you ten out of ten. Thankyou for a nice evening.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gavinvharris, Owner at Manorhaus Llangollen, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you for your review and for enjoying so much of what we offer and the service we provide.

Sorry we didn't quite get to 10 out of 10, but the hot tub area, as noted on other responses has been work in progress - especially as the wet spring (wet decking that can't be stained until fully dry) meant that staining the wood has only just been done last week, and the last square foot got stopped by a shower (hence me forgetting the tin behind the door).

The pest control box is there as the deck is built into the top of the hillside with large trees and garden behind so we want to ensure that nothing uninvited takes a swim. Pots and planters will help conceal this shortly.

As an area with bare feet use we can't allow regular glasses to be taken onto the deck in case of breakage, so we have to provide plastic glasses and the Prosecco in safer baby bottles. Full bottles of Prosecco or Champagne can be enjoyed for an extra cost if you prefer.

Many thanks and we look forward to welcoming you again.

Gavin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicestershire
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Booked through Groupon and as usual we were lucky to find such a good value hotel
Suite although small was well equipt with everything we could need including an excellent view across to the mountain.
Host Christopher was very friendly with breakfast served in an immaculate dining room with plenty to choose from.
Good situation on the edge of town which led to 2 good nights sleep.

Room Tip: We had room Oriel 4 which was not as it was described in brochure but no complaints
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gavinvharris, Owner at Manorhaus Llangollen, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you for taking a moment to review us.

We have 4 suites each a little different so the photos on our website show a combination of them We don't produce a brochure but the images you refer to may have been on the voucher promotion and again showed a generic suite, however they all have the same arrangement with a lounge area facing the fab view, wet room shower pod, and in room bath, with a bedroom area located towards the back where it is quieter.

Many thanks and we hope to welcome you both again.

Gavin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Stayed at manorhaus with friends for 2 nights. Lovely hotel. E mailed the hotel prior to request a menu to be emailed and instantly received within seconds, that's service. Rooms were decorated beautifully and the bed is so comfortable due to luxurious mattress topper and Egyptian cotton sheets. Handmade toiletries are gorgeous and the hot tub an additional treat (agree regarding comments about surrounding area, however, as already stated work in progress)

My husband and I have also stayed at this hotel in Ruthin which is also first class. Definitely recommend, cannot fault it. Food in restaurant also superb.

Would definitely return

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gavinvharris, Owner at Manorhaus Llangollen, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
HI Donna.

We are really glad you and your friends enjoyed your stay and appreciated some of the less noticeable details like the Bathing Beauty Toiletries that are handmade for us by Georgina Jones in Ruthin.

We hope to welcome you again soon at manorhaus Llangollen or Ruthin.

Many thanks

Gavin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales, UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Just returned from a stay at Manorhaus Llangollen courtesy of a Living Social voucher. It was a wonderful way to test the accommodation at a very reasonable price and after our experience I will definitely go back (with or without a voucher).
From the friendly warm greeting by Gavin, the well thought out parking arrangement, the rooms, food right through to the general feel of the hotel, it was fantastic.
We had the Oriel 4 suite with plenty of space and a great view over Dinas Bran hill from the front window (although overlooked a wall from the bedroom window which was at the back of the suite - this wasn't a problem for me personally). The extra touches like Senseo coffee maker, iPod dock, Egyptian cotton sheets, beautifully comfortable bed with luxurious mattress topper, thick fluffy towels, locally handmade toiletries and bathrobes with flip flops made this independent hotel a real gem.
The hot tub experience was perfect and I agree with other observations (and Gavin's responses), the area surrounding the hot tub is still a bit "work in progress" but once the opportunity arises, with a few flower tubs / shrubs it will feel more natural. The view over the hills was stunning however - I can't deny that.
Can't fault the food. We had dinner and a breakfast with no complaints from either of us. Staff were warm, friendly and attentive. Decor, crockery and cutlery were of high quality.
We will definitely go back and possibly consider their other hotel in Ruthin.
I would probably give 5 stars next time once the final touches to the outside are done so it's actually 4.5 stars at this point in time.
Well done Gavin and Christopher.

Room Tip: Oriel 4 suite is spacious and has great views at the front (where the 'living' area of the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gavinvharris, Owner at Manorhaus Llangollen, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review and appreciating us as 'a little gem'. We aim to provide something a bit different for Llangollen, and your review highlights some of the things that we offer that hopefully makes us stand out (the fab view is not our doing but a great asset). Unfortunately we have no control over the weather, but the current warm spell is allowing us to tend to the hot tub areas and hope it will be blooming later in the summer (a dry one please!).

Do consider adding yourself to our guestlist newsletter to gain access to special offers that are comparable to our opening voucher offers.

Many thanks

Gavin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed overnight for our Anniversary in May 2014. The room was spacious and luxurious. I loved the handmade soaps and shampoos in the room. It had all the modcons and a lovely coffee machine! We had got a discount through purchasing the stay with Living Social. The price was £79. i would say this was a good price to pay for the room. The bed was lovely and comfy. The B and B was modern and clean and the owner was friendly. We also dined in the restaurant which we highly reccommend- the food was beautiful! Breakfast was delicious with plenty of choice and good quality ingredients. The B and B was in excellent walking distance to the town centre and our room had a lovely view of Dinas Bran hill.

The only thing which stops me from giving it a 5 is the a) hot tub area-it felt a little more like being in someones back garden as it was not particularly hi tech and it needed some sort of roof b) the buildings to the side of the property were run down and this spoilt the immediate impression-our room although having lovely views was spoilt by the rubbish in the garden next door.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gavinvharris, Owner at Manorhaus Llangollen, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Glad you enjoyed your stay and thanks for taking time to review us, but sorry our neighbours garden put you off giving us 5 stars.

As an elevated area overlooking adjacent properties, the view down into other peoples gardens is out of our control, and screening with planting would hide the main feature which is a fab view of the hills and castle. The hot tub area was constructed over the winter and still has elements to be completed, including some tubs and planting. Creating manorhaus Llangollen involved substantial investment (difficult during a recession) and we concentrated on the facilities inside - decorating the side of the building will be done after the summer season.

We are glad that all other aspects of our accommodation and restaurant were enjoyed and hope to welcome you again.

Many thanks

Gavin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Manorhaus Llangollen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manorhaus Llangollen

Address: HIll Street, Llangollen LL20 8EU, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Llangollen
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Llangollen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Manorhaus Llangollen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manorhaus Llangollen Wales - North Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manorhaus Llangollen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.