We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical pub food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sun Trevor

Sun Trevor
Sunbank, Llangollen LL20 8EG, Wales
01978 860 651
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 51 Restaurants in Llangollen
Cuisines: British, Pub
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
liverpool
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“Typical pub food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Turned up here with no booking on a late Saturday evening having spent the afternoon on our barge on the canal. There was no problem getting a table as it was not that busy.The food was pretty much pub food and we could only describe it as average. The staff were pleasant enough and the views of the area were amazing as dusk came. There was not much of an atomsphere here and I don't think we would go out of our way to call again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    22
    7
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. Neots, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“No sunny welcome at this inn.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Whilst on a recent canal boating boating holiday we planned to have a meal at the Sun Trevor having read the reviews and advertisement that state that food is availabe all day. We arrived there on Thursday 1st August at 8.15pm expecting to enjoy a family meal for 6. Despite other diners still being served, the staff refused to serve us saying food was no longer available with no real explanation other than that they had been busy all day. This was very disappointing as few other options available when arriving by water so the message is DO NOT rely on eating in this establishment. THEY SEEM NEITHER TO WANT OR NEED YOUR CUSTOM

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent pub food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

We ate here after a trip to Llangollen and this pub came highly recommended from the staff at our hotel. The food and service did not dissapoint. Good value and tasty food with a decent selection. Will definitley come back again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“poor quality food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

called in for lunch with family with young children after a long wait kids were getting fed up when food arrived they were good portons but we felt the the food was just thrown on the plate and had very little flavour for we paid for having said this i would be prepared to give it another try based on past reviews i did notice there was a lack of staff ie the bar lady seemed to do all the running around where was the manager

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Dog friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

Most enjoyable
Good food and generous portions and good local ale and any place that welcomes our two springer spaniels gets our vote

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sun Trevor also viewed

Llangollen, Denbighshire
Llangollen, Denbighshire
 
Trevor, Wrexham County
Llangollen, Denbighshire
 

Been to Sun Trevor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sun Trevor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.