We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Location, Lovely Hotel, Def Recommended!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chainbridge Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Chainbridge Hotel to your Saves list
Chainbridge Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Berwyn, Llangollen LL20 8BS, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Llangollen
England
Top Contributor
293 reviews 293 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 113 cities Reviews in 113 cities
160 helpful votes 160 helpful votes
“Fantastic Location, Lovely Hotel, Def Recommended!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2010

We stayed at this hotel as part of a last minute.com deal so it was great value and we were not disappointed, the hotel is situated on a river and nearly all rooms look out onto the river and the steam train line above, the location is very relaxing, lovely balconies too. The room was en suite and a decent size, thoroughly enjoyed our stay and the town of Llangollen! Also they have no spa here but there sister hotel less than a minute down the road had a lovely spa that Chain Bridge guests can use (not as beautiful location though so stay at this one!).

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    160
    60
    38
    34
See reviews for
75
273
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wiltshire, England
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2010

Want the main terrestial channels on your room TV? Want all the lights to work? Want a double room if you've booked one? This is not the place for you.
Like a pretty riverside setting and the background noise of the rapids? Twitcher tendancies so you like to watch a dipper feed as you do? Not fussy about details or an odd smell? Book now.
Tip: if you need something fixed (and its likely) the older receptionist just gives varied reasons why things are wrong. The younger one tries to help you.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
253 helpful votes 253 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2010

We stayed in this hotel for a two night stay at the end of July and we booked the hotel because of its location which is adjacent to the river and steam railway. As many people have commented the location is very nice and as we had taken our dog with us we were put into one of the ground floor rooms that has external access. The room was reasonably clean but very small and there was very little storage space and no shelf / clothes hooks in the bathroom which meant putting your toilet accessories on the floor.
As this hotel is between the river on one side and the canel on the other there is only one access road and limited parking so everything has to get to the hotel by this road or by two steep foot bridges. In an emergency this could cause a problem for fire appliances and ambulances. When I started to check the fire and safety precautions I was quite surprised because this is what I found:

1. Fire Alarm and Automatic Fire Detection - The brochure indicates that the hotel has a sophisticated fire alarm system but looking at the system it appears to be a mixture of domestic and automatic fire detectors and one break glass that obviously doesn't work.
2. Fire Escape Facilities -
a) When I checked a fire exit door this morning it was locked shut with no method of opening it and this is a clear breach of fire safety regulations.
b) I also noted that the fire door to the Restaurant was "wedged open" which is another breach of the regulations and also it had no fire or smoke seals which I also noted was a problem with some of the other fire doors.
c) There was also a considerable amount of combustible materials stored under the external fire escape.
d) There is also considerable amount of combustible storage along the main access route to the hotel and this could easily allow a fire to spread to the hotel via the adjacent windows.
e) In the bar area there is an electrical fitting which is not propery secured.
f) The CCTV details are not completed which are required to be displayed.
g) There was a lot of evidence of waste smoking materials adjacent to combustible items and around the outside of the hotel.
3. General - The one Disabled Parking Bay was nearly always occupied by a white van with no disabled permit.

Whilst I appreciate that the owners are upgrading the hotel if they are not paying strict attention to basic fire safety measures not only are they risking the lives of guests and staff they are also risking prosecution.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2010

The room was tastefully decorated, very roomy with stunning views. The food was excellent. The location is breathtaking- cannot wait to visit again.

Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2010

We stayed at the Chainbridge for a family occasion, we all loved it! The scenery is beautiful, we enjoyed sitting in the bar watching the river go by. The refurbished rooms are clean and tidy. My room had a balcony which overlooked the river. The food was delicious, empty plates all round! I would certainly recommend the Chainbridge for a wonderful stay in a countryside hotel.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2010

This hotel is in an unbeatable position, looks over white water rapids, the outside looks tired, and the entrance to the hotel, looks more tired than rip van winkle. Very friendly and professional staff, nothing was to much trouble. The food was 4* even the bar food was the same standard,lunchtime offer of £5.00 unbeatable.
We had one of the annex rooms, which hopefully was not finished being upgraded, as you had to put your shoulder to the door to get it to open, as a new carpet had been laid, well appointed, towels nicely arranged on the bed, which was a bit rickety had to put a towel behind the headboard to stop it banging on the wall. En-suite bathroom with large shower and bath, only problem, the bathmat looked about 60 years old. Separate toilet, but very strange, been newly re-furbished, with a sink etc. but no rail to put a towel on.
Overall good value for money, and when the re-refurbishment is complete, should be an excellent hotel

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2010

We have just stayed at the chainbridge for two nights. The location is perfect, overlooking the river dee, the staff were fantastic and our newly refurbished room was absolutely brilliant. The food was first class and not overly priced like some contributors have suggested. We would definitely go back as we enjoyed our stay do much

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chainbridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chainbridge Hotel

Address: Berwyn, Llangollen LL20 8BS, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Llangollen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Llangollen
#2 Family Hotel in Llangollen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chainbridge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Chainbridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chain Bridge Llangollen
Hotel Chain Bridge
Chainbridge Hotel Llangollen, Wales - North Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chainbridge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.