We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful setting, lovely atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chainbridge Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Chainbridge Hotel to your Saves list
Chainbridge Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Berwyn, Llangollen LL20 8BS, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Llangollen
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful setting, lovely atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here with a group of friends, for our ten year post uni reunion.
The hotel is just outside the town, right on the river. Our room had beautiful balcony that looked out over the river. It was so peaceful. We walked along the canal to town (ten minute walk), we took a barge ride (with mulled wine and mince pies) along the canal and via duct. It was the perfect environment to catch up with old friends! The food was really high quality and the wines were really good. It is a family run business and the couple were there with their baby (who was very cute). They really made our stay, as u can see how much they care, going that extra mile to make ur stay enjoyable. Really really lovely place to stay. # definately will be coming back!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chainbridge1, Owner at Chainbridge Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thanks for your great review. We're very happy to hear that you and your old friends enjoyed your 10 year anniversary! It sounds like you made the most of your time here and explored the surrounding area. The canal boat with the mulled wine and mince pies is very popular, which shows that Llangollen is a great area to come to in Winter as well as in the main season.

I'm very pleased that you enjoyed your food and the wine, and that our service was appreciated! It was a pleasure to host your group and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Chainbridge in the future!

All the best
Seamus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    152
    59
    38
    34
See reviews for
73
252
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Widnes, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

this was my second stay at the chainbridge as i said i would be back in the summer and was not dissapointed the scenery was even more beautiful than in the winter and horse shoe falls was closer than i thought. hotel now has new owners now as there was a lot of painting and adjustements going on room was very nice with the river flowing past is beautiful also steam train every so often.breakfast was better this time round as it was buffet style and was delicious, must say i have been back to llangollen since staying here but stayed in a different hotel as it was cheaper was lovely but when i come back again later this year it will be to the chainbridge as it holds a special place in my heart. good luck to the new owners.

Room Tip: room with a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chainbridge1, Owner at Chainbridge Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thank you for your very kind and thoughtful review. It's wonderful to hear that The Chainbridge holds a special place in your heart, and that you will be returning again soon - we'll look forward to welcoming you.

I'm delighted that you're pleased with the improvements that are being made to the hotel, and hope that you will see further progress by the time you next visit.

All the best
Seamus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

we wanted somewhere to stay for a night where we could relax and not too far from home. we where pleasantly suprised with this little find . even though the new owner was having some improvement made to the hotel it was not visible to the residents . will definitely be coming back too stay had a lovely evening meal and breakfast was good .staff brilliant

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chainbridge1, Owner at Chainbridge Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thank you for your positive review. I'm delighted that you had a peaceful and relaxing stay, and that you found your evening meal and breakfast to be good quality.

I'm glad to hear that you were impressed by the staff, and all of us look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards
Seamus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

disappointed.
room was tatty, 3 of the lights did not work. The double bed was 2 single beds pushed together with 2 single quilts. Dead flies and cobwebs in the room, dimps and weeds on the balcony. The shower curtain was stained along the bottom edge. We came back to the hotel both evenings to find it so cold in the bar, we had to sit with our coats on. Breakfast was served in the dining room which again was cold. Buffet breakfast was not hot enough and served on cold plates.
Our party paid nearly £1000 for the weekend for 6 double rooms, 12 guests, and on leaving I was asked to pay 70p for a newspaper.
We love the location of this hotel, and have stayed a number of times previously and had noticed that it had become tired but had hoped to see some real improvements as it was under new ownership, sadly this was not the case.
We wish the new owners success in the future but would respectfully suggest they review their priorities in light of points raised in this review.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chainbridge1, Owner at Chainbridge Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
I'm sorry to read there were elements of your stay here that you weren't happy with. It's a real shame that none of this was mentioned during stay, when your group were in the hotel and within easy access to the staff, as I think some of these points could have been addressed. For instance, due to power surges, bulbs can often go, but can be replaced in a matter of minutes. I will be sure to look into the other issues you raise.

I do think that there has been significant improvements since we acquired the business in June, so it's disappointing that you don't agree.

It's disappointing too that you didn't mention in your review how accomodating the staff were, placing birthday banners around the bar for your celebration, or how they looked after your group on your return from town after the man celebrating his birthday had slipped down the embankment of the river and cut his head.

In regard to being charged for the newspapers, it is common practice to pay for something you order, irrelevant of what else you have paid for your stay (which I don't think was bad value for 12 people, for a weekend away). Having said that, one of your party did leave without paying for their papers!

I understand your comments, and do appreciate the feedback. We are working hard to improve and your comments will help us to better consider what our guests expect and need.

Kind regards
Seamus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

My wife and I took our 2 grandsons for a treat and stayed for one night in room 37 , a family room with two single beds and a double bed. The singles were ok but the bases of the beds were exposed. The double bed was very uncomfortable and should be replaced with a decent king size bed as soon as possible. There was no bin in the bathrooom. The water did not drain properly from the sink and the bath. One light in the bath room did not work. Breakfast is served in the restaurant and it is a lovely big room with great views of the river rushing by. However, everything was a liitle cold. Having cold plates to put the food on did not help matters. Even the toast was cold. Attention to details such as I have mentioned would greatly add to the experience of staying in such a lovely location. Hopefully things will improve soon.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chainbridge1, Owner at Chainbridge Hotel, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Thank you for posting a review. I'm very sorry to read that you had a few issues with your stay. It's a shame that these weren't discussed with the Reception staff when they asked how you were settling in, as I'm sure that some of the issues could have been remedied swiftly.

I do appreciate your feedback and will take your comments on board. We always strive to improve on our performance and we will endeavour to ensure that some of the issues you address will be seen to.

I'm glad that your overall experience of the hotel and the surrounding area was a good one, and hopefully we'll see you here again in the future.

Kind regards
Seamus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wirral
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Comment above sums up our recent stay at this hotel.We oringinally planned a 2 night stay to celebrate our anniversary but booked an extra night as it was so good.
Breakfasts were very nice and if you wanted more of anything it was readily available.
Room seemed to have been recently redecorated to a high standard and the bed was so comfy that even someone like me who has trouble sleeping ,slept like a baby. A contributory factor in this is the superb location of the hotel and the clear Welsh air.
This is indeed an area of outstanding natural beauty and the fast flowing river Dee creates an aura of relaxation that would be hard to find anywhere else in the country. How anybody can criticise and say its too noisy beggars belief.
We asked the staff for advice on places to visit etc and they went out of thier way to be helpful.
Seamus has only recently taken over the running of the hotel and has plans to redecorate and change some aspects of it. We send our best wishes to him and the staff and can't wait to visit again to see the proposed changes.
Yours sincerely David & Betty W..

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chainbridge1, Owner at Chainbridge Hotel, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear David and Betty

Thank you for your review. It's so satisfying and pleasing to receive such a review, and we're delighted that you enjoyed being at the hotel for your anniversary.

As you say, it's a beautiful location and the Welsh air and all of the local attractions make it a wonderful place to spend a few days and it's great that these factors added to your stay. Delighted too to hear that you slept like a baby!

We look forward to seeing you again, and hope that further improvements will have been made by the time of your next visit.

Best regards
Seamus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We stayed for a weekend in August with our dog and really enjoyed the experience. We were made most welcome, the staff were extremely friendly and helpful and the food was amazing. We were so impressed that we subsequently booked weekends for our daughter and her fiance and our son and his partner and they all enjoyed it as much as we did. As other reviewers have noted, the hotel is curently refurbishing and updating but our room was clean and comfortable and we had no complaints at all. There were no 'cigarette ends or cobwebs' to be seen when we were there and we will definitely return in the future.

Room Tip: Even though we had a ground floor 'dog friendly' room, we were perfectly comfortable and wou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chainbridge1, Owner at Chainbridge Hotel, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Thank you for your very kind review. We're so pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and it speaks volumes that you recommended our hotel to your family, and that they too enjoyed it.

We're delighted that you plan on returning in the future, and I hope that the refurbishment and further improvements we're making will add to your stay.

It's a great part of the world, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards
Seamus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chainbridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chainbridge Hotel

Address: Berwyn, Llangollen LL20 8BS, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Llangollen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Llangollen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chainbridge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Chainbridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chain Bridge Llangollen
Hotel Chain Bridge
Chainbridge Hotel Llangollen, Wales - North Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chainbridge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.