We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Foggy Wales” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bryn Howel Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Bryn Howel Hotel to your Saves list
Bryn Howel Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bryn Howel Lane, Trevor, Llangollen LL20 7UW, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Llangollen
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Foggy Wales”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here with Caroline whilst attending an event in nearby Shrewsbury, fabulous location when the fog lifts. They seem to do a few weddings so it was a bit noisy, nicely appointed room though. Breakfast was pretty good albeit rather busy, had a good meal in the restaurant in the evening; the Chef's roasted sweet potato & veg soup was very good as was the double chocolate torte dessert. Slightly disappointed with the roast of the day, not something I would usually have as I can do them myself! (made me remember why)
Good value for money would go again if I needed to be in the area Overall 78%

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    118
    35
    10
    11
See reviews for
42
174
6
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Runcorn
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

Over many years we have visited this hotel with a group of ten friends we have known for over 50 years, we have a great catch up twice a year. Unfortunatley due to my deteriating mobility this hotel will no longer be managable. The room we use no 1 is classed as suitable for a wheelchair user yes you can move around and get into the bathroom but access to the toilet is difficult from your chair as the wash basin and shower cubicle block your access.There is plenty of room to convert this properly and if they do this I would happily return.
The ground floor is very accessable small ramp into bar and good bar food. The restaurant is also very easy to get into and the food and choice very good. There is also a very good disabled toilet with easy access and support rails.
The staff are all very helpful we arrived on Sunday when they where serving Sunday Lunch and as we planned on having a evening meal we asked if we could have a bar snack the receptionist said she would ask chef who said he would do a sandwich we said yes and had the best roast beef sandwich ever.
This hotel overall is good but I just wish they would upgrade at least 1 room for the wheelchair user.

Room Tip: Not suitable for wheelchair users. But all rooms seem nice very individual.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2014 via mobile

Location was perfect and so was the views, that's where it ended, room was shabby at best, bedsheets were stained, bathroom was worse, floor had many stains on them and the hot bath tap didn't work so was useless and after complaining at 9:30 after breakfast they sent a young lady up from the cleaning staff to rectify the problem at 10:50 when checkout was 11:00 which was pointless and a waste of time, the bed was fine however the sleep was hurrendous due to the shower tap leaking onto the bath through the night which we couldn't stop so our sleep was non existing, overall the hotel and location was perfect just a shame about the room and considering the price we paid we expected better!

  • Stayed October 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2014

Spent 2 nights ,had a lovely stay. Meals in bar very good and all the staff were friendly and very helpful. Lovely views and rooms very clean just need a little updating and bigger tvs in the rooms.Will certainly stay again .

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saundersfoot
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2014

This was our 3rd stopover and a 4th visit, and, although the experience this time left a lot to be desired, it does not deserve a BAD review...! The receptionist eventually came to check us in after the guy in the t-shirt and shorts who appeared from the office said "she's doing something" and proceded to take our details...??? The same room in 4 visits is uncanny...but must be the twin request that does it....can't complain for the money £69 B&B...! The waiting residents at reception and in the bar when we came through for a drink and a bite to eat was bemusing...."there's no staff to be found anywhere" we were told..?? I found the chef and informed him...only to be told that they were out moving tiles....?? WHAT...?? ALL of them...??
Eventually some order to the chaos was restored and the bar was staffed PERMANENTLY but only after insisting it be so...!!! The clientel were attended to and we had no problems thereafter...it's a shame really because the food was good and plentiful and the prices reasonable..! The building and surrounding area are lovely ...! It's just a bit of TLC and upgrading... and staff discipline... that's needed...! Weddings seem to be the hotels forte and if this is to the detriment of everything else then they've a bit of rethinking to do...!

Room Tip: Anothers review mentioned a modern room... this may be upstairs where I have not seen the rooms....c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langport, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2014

We had a lovely one night stay at The Bryn Howel hotel on our way to Anglesey for our recent holiday, it's a nightmare to find as there aren't any signs and it's approached by a very narrow lane, but it was worth it when we got there. We had Room 1 which had views to the back of the hotel and was beautiful in the early morning mist, it was also a lovely quiet room and we didn't hear any noise all night which was wonderful. Room was spotlessly clean and warm, the shower was powerful with plenty of piping hot water and the towels were white and fluffy. The restaurant menu was not really to our taste so we ate in the bar, the meal was lovely and well presented. There was however just one problem, the bar didn't serve 'proper beer', not even in bottles in the fridge, apparently there's no call for 'beer' according to the very nice barman, so it was Guinness and Pear Cider for my poor hubby that night!! Breccy was plentiful, fresh and hot, all the usual cereals and English fry up, as well as fresh and tinned fruit, yogurts on a bed of ice and some rather gorgeous Danish pastries and baby croissant, so all in all it was a really lovely experience and yes we would go back again if going in that direction and we could get a 'cheap room deal' as I'm afraid we don't usually pay hotel prices when a Travelodge will do!! Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2014

The hotel offers probably some of the best views I have seen, and it is quite close to Llangolen, a popular tourist destination, and an old Aqueduct (with even better views). It has a grand oldy worldy bar. The rooms are somewhat dated, but it is a good value for money (Llangolen hotels are often above £100 per night).

Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bryn Howel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bryn Howel Hotel

Address: Bryn Howel Lane, Trevor, Llangollen LL20 7UW, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Llangollen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Llangollen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bryn Howel Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bryn Howel Hotel the most perfect setting for your perfect day, Set in the spectacular Dee Valley, alongside the Llangollen Canal absolutely outstanding views, Our aim is to provide perfect service and excellent food to all guests regardless of your choice of dining be it in our famous lounge bar with its oak wood paneled surround and blazing open fire, to the amazing Ceder Tree Restaurant both of which have undergone major investment. Our award winning team of chefs are here to cater for your requirements, What ever they may be. The service team have undergone intense training to ensure your requirements are carried out to the letter, we pride our reputation on our standards of service, refer to Facebook or TripAdvisor for your satisfaction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Bryn Howel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bryn Howel Llangollen
Bryn Howel Hotel Llangollen, Wales - North Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bryn Howel Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.