We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Canal Walk” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bryn Howel Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Bryn Howel Hotel to your Saves list
Bryn Howel Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bryn Howel Lane, Trevor, Llangollen LL20 7UW, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Llangollen
Certificate of Excellence 2014
dublin
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Excellent Canal Walk”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

Stayed one night and found the food about average and the bedroom was ok with lovely views. The hotel needs upgrading as it has a perfect location and excellent canal walks. Very peacful in hotel a place you could have a relaxing weekend. I would return again.

Room Tip: Ask forone overlooking the grounds
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    131
    40
    13
    12
See reviews for
45
189
6
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights in September 2011. I is a nice hotel but badly in need of an upgrade. The rooms are very old and worn as is the whole hotel. Having said that, the staff are excellent and the food was also top notch. The location is quite good, while not in the town of Llangollen it is within easy reach, and is in an excellent location for touring north Wales. The hotel itself is below average for the price, but the food and the staff pull it up a little. The Internet service, while free is very slow and unreliable, also there are no elevators.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

The hotel is nicely situated close to Llangollen, 5 minutes away by car or one hour along a nice canal towpath.

The room we stayed in was dated and a little musty-smelling. That said, it was clean and more than adequate. Apparently they are in the process of refurbishing the rooms. We obviously didn't stay in one of the refurbished ones.

Breakfast was good (self serve buffet) and importantly the hot food was kept very hot indeed. Staff and receptionists are not overly attentive or welcoming compared to many hotels we've stayed at, but not terrible by any means.

Overall, the hotel is fine as an inexpensive base for exploring Wales and I would recommend it based on the £50 we paid for our night's stay (including breakfast for two). I give it four out of five based on the price - had we paid the standard room rate of £105 it would have been poor value indeed. Give it a try as long as you can get a cheap rate deal.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

My wife and I stayed here for two nights last week on dinner,bed and breakfast,and the whole stay was really good.We had a good bedroom,with an extremely large bathroom,with a corner whirlpool bath.The food was excellent,with good service.We would not hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: We were in room 15.It overlooks the carpark,but also has beautiful views of the hills.The bathroom i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
170 helpful votes 170 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

We were invited to attend a family lunch at this hotel after having been to our friend's wedding reception the day before. (at a different venue) However, the bride and groom's family stayed here - as did the happy couple on their wedding night.

Lunch was yummie and the service was faultless, and if we are ever up in this area again, we will check out their availabilty and stay here - as opposed to the other venue where we stayed for 3 nights. {see my other review for Llangollen}.
We would have booked here had it not been for the fact that they were full.

Plenty of car parking facilities also

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penarth
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2011

Stayed here in a group of 38 touring the locality. All was good about the place with the location and standard of cuisine quite outstanding

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

My partner and I stayed at the Bryn Howel for one night as part of a wedding party (we tried not to clog up reception or the bar!). All the staff were very pleasant and helpful. The room was very clean although the furniture had seen better days but was in the correct style for a Victorian house and a few tiles in the bathroom could do with adjustment. The view from our room was absolutely stunning. The shower was the best I have had for a long while - very soothing for travel sore shoulders. The bed was comfortable and we had a good night's sleep. Bar prices were a little high, although not for bar snacks - we thought these were very reasonably priced. The chocolate fountains (yes plural)were gorgeous. Breakfast - what can I say - plenty of choice, hot (especially the plates) and smiling, polite staff. Both check in and check out were smooth. We would definitely stay again and recommend the Bryn Howel for a stay in Llangollen. Iechyd da!

Room Tip: Garden view double rooms are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bryn Howel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bryn Howel Hotel

Address: Bryn Howel Lane, Trevor, Llangollen LL20 7UW, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Llangollen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Llangollen
#3 Family Hotel in Llangollen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bryn Howel Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bryn Howel Hotel the most perfect setting for your perfect day, Set in the spectacular Dee Valley, alongside the Llangollen Canal absolutely outstanding views, Our aim is to provide perfect service and excellent food to all guests regardless of your choice of dining be it in our famous lounge bar with its oak wood paneled surround and blazing open fire, to the amazing Ceder Tree Restaurant both of which have undergone major investment. Our award winning team of chefs are here to cater for your requirements, What ever they may be. The service team have undergone intense training to ensure your requirements are carried out to the letter, we pride our reputation on our standards of service, refer to Facebook or TripAdvisor for your satisfaction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Bryn Howel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bryn Howel Llangollen
Bryn Howel Hotel Llangollen, Wales - North Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bryn Howel Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.