We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not for children” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Wild Pheasant Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Wild Pheasant Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Wild Pheasant Hotel & Spa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Berwyn Road, Llangollen LL20 8AD, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Llangollen
england
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“not for children”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2009

This place is the most child-unfriendly place we've ever stayed. We went with our 7 year old and the pool area was out of bounds. The hotel is dirty, old fashioned, cynical towards its guests and no wonder it runs on special offers on its website as it needs to get up to date. People now expect so so so much more these days

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    182
    123
    65
    47
See reviews for
55
346
10
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2009

We were desperate for a much needed break and came home feeling worse than before we got there. The first room had wall paper hanging off the walls, was drab and dreary. We asked for our money back there and then but they refused to refund our money because we had booked it on-line through Legacy Hotels. We couldn't understand this as the Wild Pheasant is supposedly in the Legacy Hotel Chain!! We were upgraded to a better room which turned out to be just as bad. From smelly smoked in room, holes in the nets and bed linen, lights hanging out of the ceiling, some not working at all, we ended up sleeping on 3 duvets as the springs were so bad in the bed, no rubber on the shower screen hence floor flooded every time the shower was used. Un-clean glass, marks on the carpet, xpelair only turned off at isolator switch - need we say any more! Breakfast was cold on the first morning. Food was over-priced and average. Avoid this hotel at all costs-unless of course they are offering it free but even then I would avoid! In the spa, only one sauna was in use and it was un-clean. The beauty place attached messed up our booking - a total nightmare in all!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2009

My wife and I stayed at the Wild Pheasant for four nights in November 2009. Having spent much of my working life in 4* hotels, I can only describe the offering at the Wild Pheasant as exceptional value for money. Staff friendly and efficient. Evening meal superb all be it a little repetitive after 4 meals! But where oh where are the real ales??

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2009

This hotel needs updating very very quickly. Our room was in need of a make over, wallpaper coming off, the shower was awful and cold water only. The decor is dated and for the money it is poor value, we stay in many places and this is nearly at the bottom of the pile.
The food was poor and over priced, the portions were small....dry dauphinoise, smallest sea bass ever caught (from a farm) with salad??? how bizarre!
Much better places nearby according to other reviews so keep clear of this place until all refurbished, new chef and realistic pricing.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2009

Booked as a treat, and the rooms were fine but we had booked the hotel for the spa facilities so that the children could enjoy a swim after a hard day's walking. However they were not allowed in the pool, and NOTHING on the website or pre-booking information advised us of this. We complained and were wold we would get a £20 discount - we agreed, thinking it would be £20 a day, but nothing doing. We had a disappointing stay, and would have changed hotels if we had known. The website HAS NOT been updated, and although we complained to the Welsh Tourist Board this hotel does not voluntarily subscribe to them so no further action can be taken.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2009

We booked in around 5pm. Were told we would need to book for evening meal as tables were nearly all taken. Restaurant prices £20-£25. We were not told that bar meals were available. The room was large with king size bed. First impressions were ok, but then as we were settling in we noticed how dirty the carpet was (badly stained). Curtain tieback was hanging off wall (rawl plugs and all). Two irons in room, one attached to ironing board, this one could not be used for steam as no cover over water container. The other one would not steam, but would spray. Two very flat pillows. Asked for more milk and sugar in evening, was offered three cartons of milk and four sachets of sugar - grudgingly - but chap who had been running restaurant earlier. Opened curtains next morning and found in voile nets a cluster of quite large, I think all dead, spiders. Obviously been there for quite a while. Also very noisy during night with I think what was extractors etc. Would not stay again. Chose to eat in bar and this was quite nice with pleasant staff. I could not eat the breakfast as it was swimming in 'liquid' and undercooked egg, horrible sausage, bitter tomato and TWO mushrooms.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wirral
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2009

Stayed as we were attending a wedding at Bodidris Hall a short distance away. Booked 2 rooms for my husband and two daughters thru Superbreak at a cost 46.50 per person including breakfast. As we had to be at the wedding for 2pm we stopped at the hotel at about 12.30pm (pre-arranged) and dropped luggage off to be held behind reception - check in not till 2pm. On our return at about 12.30am the front reception was absolutely deserted and despite ringing the bell on the front desk and wandering around various corridors etc no-one to be seen. In the end i rang the hotel using my mobile - phone ringing out all over reception area etc ...still no-one. Eventually my daughters went off to the loo and found by chance some young guy sweeping out the bar area in the dark who eventually checked us in - not a word of apology etc.....In our opinion whilst the setting and location is lovely, decor within the hotel itself is very dated and desperately in need of refurbishment. Cetainly not worth nearly £100.00 per room per night!! We stayed in room 206 and experienced the WORST shower i have ever had to use. There was just a very small grotty shower cubicle with a miserable litte shower that trickled water in a very half hearted manner. Toilet had to be pumped to flush, even to get rid of a scrap of tissue. We later met up for friends and had lunch at the White Water hotel just 500 metres further down the road (other guests at the wedding had also stayed there) and felt this was a much nicer, cleaner alternative. I dont know how the prices compare, but would be a much more preferable choice for the future.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wild Pheasant Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wild Pheasant Hotel & Spa

Address: Berwyn Road, Llangollen LL20 8AD, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Llangollen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Llangollen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Wild Pheasant Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Wild Pheasant Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wild Pheasant Hotel And Spa
Hotel Wild Pheasant
Wild Pheasant Hotel & Spa Llangollen, Wales - North Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wild Pheasant Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.