We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great value, great break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wild Pheasant Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Wild Pheasant Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Wild Pheasant Hotel & Spa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Berwyn Road, Llangollen LL20 8AD, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Llangollen
Hopton Heath
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“great value, great break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We booked a winter warmer, £85, dinner, bed and full breakfast plus the use of the excellent spa facilities.
The room was spacious and spotlessly clean and we had a very comfortable nights sleep. The food here is really good. For diner there is a varied choice and it was delicious. Breakfast was also very good.
The spa was lovely and all in for £85 per couple you can't go far wrong. We will certainly look to come here again for a break.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asif S, Owner at Wild Pheasant Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Sir,

Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review of your recent visit to Wild Pheasant Hotel.

I am pleased to read your kind comments on the service, and how much you and your wife enjoyed the whole experience.
Our Winter Warmer Offer includes free access to the Spa pools, a two course meal and 20% off on beauty treatments.
I will be sure to share your kind comments with the team here and I hope to be able to welcome you both back in the not so distant future.

Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    184
    125
    65
    47
See reviews for
55
348
10
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
wigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Went to the wild pheasant on 3rd of October and stayed for one night.Allowed to enter into the spa even though we hadn't checked in due to it being before 2pm.
The spa was excellent and spent 5 hours in there,it was so relaxing.
We then booked into our room which was clean and comfortable.(room 208)
We then had a few relaxing drinks in the bar area before going to the restaurant for dinner.
food was excellent I had vegetable and tomato soup to start,and sirloin steak for mains
My partner had chicken liver pate to start and mushroom and pea risotto for main and it was beautiful.we also shared a cheese cake as we was too full to have one each.
This hotel is very good value for money(we paid 85 pound for dinner,bed and breakfast)
highly reccomendable and if they keep the prices reasonable we will definatly be returning.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asif S, Owner at Wild Pheasant Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind response.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and delighted that you were able to make the most of our Spa pool jets and beauty therapies.

I was especially happy to know that you enjoyed your meals, our chefs are constantly preparing new and interesting menus to include International as well as Traditional British/Welsh dishes. Our Chef's Bar restaurant is available for light meals and drinks or main courses through out the day with an indoor conservatory setting or al fresco below the Dee Valley Hills.
The Yew Tree restaurant provides an evening service of three course meals and a selection of fine wines. Our staff are more than happy to cater for any special dietary requirements.

It is a pleasure to provide a welcoming and friendly stay for all of our guests and we do look forward to you imminent return.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cwmbran, Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

would like to say a massive thank you to sue on reception , you saved how weekend and service was outstanding , booked in the hotel up the road called the white waters , booked disabled room , as my father in law is completely disabled , the room they were given had no crab rails and could not move a wheel chair around in there, not suitable for my in,laws , I asked reception if they had a different room but was told no , not happy as they could not stay in that room , need to look for a new hotel , and hopefully they would have a spare room, luckly for me I walked into the wild pheasant and was greeted by sue , I explained my situation and she was brilliant she showed me the disabled room and what a room it was more like a flat every thing cater for the disabled crab rails went room pull cords if needed help , loads of space to move around even in the chair , was very happy , she also showed us to the luxury room wish is stunning but we could only have this for one nite, sad , bar maid zinne was lovely to quiet a charcter, could not do enough for us , food was good , and plenty of, this hotel is excellent and very good value for money . will defintly be returning . well recommended . a big thank you again to sue for all tour help. one thing missing wfi in every room would make it perfect

Room Tip: a luxury room well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asif S, Owner at Wild Pheasant Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for posting your kind review, it is very much appreciated.

We are very proud of all of our staff who help to make our hotel a place of relaxation and comfort and we greatly look forward to your return when I hope you would be able to spend more time with us.

Our winter Warmer Special Offer is available on our website:- Prices start from £85 for two people per night, a two course meal, full use of Spa Pools and 20 % discount on Hair or Beauty treatments in our own Impressions Spa.

Our Wedding Fair will be held on the 20th Oct 2013 where we will be showcasing our newly furnished Function hall.

Thank you once again for reviewing our rooms and all the best from everyone at Wild Pheasant Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connah's Quay, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Called in for lunch, the main restaurant was closed but lunch was available in conservatory area. You could choose from main menu or lunch menu which was two course for£12.95, we opted for the later.
We ordered a cheese beef burger with homemade chips and chilli sauce, this arrived quickly. The burger was not home made, over cooked and greasy, the chips were ok. Half of the desserts where not available to order, so we opted for lemon tart and sticky toffee pudding which was ok but not outstanding.
Cost of meal and drinks £30 plus, which for the standard of the meal was very over priced, we will not be returning.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asif S, Owner at Wild Pheasant Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Madam,

I deeply regret that you did not enjoy your meal in the Conservatory. As can be seen from previous reviews most guests do compliment our chefs and our menus.

Our burgers are made from 100% Welsh Black Beef which has been supplied by local farmers and all of our deserts and some breads are baked in our own kitchen.

We are more than happy to provide special meals and meals for those with special dietary requirements. Our staff are often requested to bake cakes for Birthday dinner parties and are more than happy to oblige.

I do hope you will return and provide us with another opportunity to provide you with a meal which is more to your liking.

Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

I was working in the area for a few days and being mid-week, was able to trade-up and enjoy both types of Penthouse Suite. Fantastic value, space and fit-out. Evenings were relaxing, being welcomed by friendly staff, enjoying walking down to River, using the spa and dining in the conservatory. Most certainly a place I will be returning with my family and if you possibly can, do push the boat out a little extra for the Penthouse luxury - you won't regret it!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Runcorn, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Me and my partner were looking for a place to stay, after looking at multiple places my partner chose this one.. we were weary after reading previous reviews, but we thought we would take the risk.

I'm glad we did. The staff are amazing and fully accommodating! You enter the reception greeted with a smile and the check in process is easy and simple. The rooms are very very comfortable especially if you pay that little extra for the Suites. We recommend the "Dinas Bran" suite! - Beautiful.

Dinner is a 3 course meal which is mouth watering and and add that little added extra cost who cares.. (Treat yourself)! The menu does differ slightly from night to night so there is a great variety of food. Breakfast again is the same, lots of variety in regards to cereals and fruits, you also get a selection of juices as well.. Followed by a cooked breakfast, kippers or whatever you fancy.

The spa is also where we spend alot of our time, with steam room, sauna and a hydro-pool it is great to relax in with the stunning views surrounding the fully glassed "conservatory". Treatments again are of a very good standard and something we get done regularly!

I would recommend this hotel to anyone and have! We have been here 10 times and we are now planning our 11th stay and our wedding here!

Please go!

Room Tip: Dinas Bran suite is amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asif S, Owner at Wild Pheasant Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Guests,

It is indeed a great pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for writing your review. It is also heartening that you have been visiting us for many years and I do hope for many more.

It is especially pleasing to hear that you enjoyed our restaurant menu prepared by our innovative chefs who are keen to try new and exciting dishes.

Our penthouse suites are particularly popular with their balconies and private hot tubs.

Finally it is a great honour that you have chosen Wild Pheasant Hotel as the venue for your wedding. Many congratulations!
Let us ensure that your special day will be most memorable by allowing our wedding organisers to take the pressure of events, leaving yourselves to relax and enjoy the day.

Best Wishes for the future from all of the staff at Wild Pheasant Hotel and we look forward to your imminent return.

Please see our Christmas and New Year brochure which is available on our website www.wildpheasant.co.uk with some festive menus and outstanding overnight packages.

Your Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

The title says it all - the spa area is a very pleasant and well kept area. The rest of the hotel is shabby in places - with peeling wallpaper ++ in our room. The staff were also hopeless at dealing with a noise matter on our first night - will not return or recommend. breakfast ok.

Room Tip: stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asif S, Owner at Wild Pheasant Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking time out to write a review and I am very pleased that you enjoyed our spa pools.

I do regret that your evening was disturbed by other guests. Upon investigation it appears that after a wedding reception a few of the overnight guests were drunk and proceeded to have an argument in the hallways, as there were children present the night porter was not able to leave the group immediately, to inform the police. Fortunately he was able to calm the group down and no further intervention was required.

It is most unfortunate that this situation occurred during your visit and I would like to offer yourself and your partner a free room upgrade and complimentary access to the Spa if you would like to return.

We are aware that our dear hotel is in need of refurbishment in some place and are doing our utmost to speed up the process. Work has begun in the Function Hall with new flooring expected next week.

In the meantime many of our reviews show that Wild Pheasant Hotel offers a warm, friendly and homely atmosphere with excellent staff who go out of their way to make sure all guest have a wonderful stay.
Most guests also enjoy good food from our two restaurants, therapies from our own Impressions Spa and our ideal, scenic location with ample guest parking.

Please accept my apologies for any inconvenience caused to yourself and your group and I look forward to your return.

Yours Sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wild Pheasant Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wild Pheasant Hotel & Spa

Address: Berwyn Road, Llangollen LL20 8AD, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Llangollen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Llangollen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Wild Pheasant Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Wild Pheasant Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wild Pheasant Hotel And Spa
Hotel Wild Pheasant
Wild Pheasant Hotel & Spa Llangollen, Wales - North Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wild Pheasant Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.