We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good hotel but disappointing food.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wild Pheasant Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Wild Pheasant Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Wild Pheasant Hotel & Spa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Berwyn Road, Llangollen LL20 8AD, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Llangollen
Hants
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Really good hotel but disappointing food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

The room was just fabulous, especially coming immediately after a pretty awful one. Staff were friendly and helpful. Fixed the one thing not working immediately. Leaves you with a great impression. Best to eat elsewhere as the rooms are 4/5* and the restaurant is 2/3*. Staff everywhere could not have been more helpful and the location is wonderful.

Room Tip: quiet at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    184
    125
    65
    47
See reviews for
55
348
10
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights over bank holiday which was supposed to be a romantic break. We booked a junior suite in the "luxury" wing. On our first night we only had power from one plug socket out of four which was very inconvenient. We told reception the next day and it was later sorted. We went to look at the spa and the sauna was out of order and half the jets didn't work. When we asked if we could book a spa treatment we were told very rudely that they were fully booked and the receptionist made no effort to ask us if we wanted another day. Later that night we went back to our room around 9pm to find our tv not working. We went down to complain and were told that it was being looked at and we weren't the only ones having problems. During this time we couldn't even get phone signal so had to go outside to make calls. After waiting over 2 hrs to get signal on our tv ( which was very old and didn't even have free view!!!) we decided to go to sleep. We were then disturbed by a big family including about 10 children running up and down the corridor past our room, screaming and shouting. We had previously been disturbed by this same family earlier in the day and noticed they were in the spa at 10.30pm even tho it closes at 8pm. We think they must be family of the new owner as they seemed to just run round the hotel, not caring that they were disturbing paying guests. Overall very overpriced hotel that needs updating and the staff need to learn some people skills. What was supposed to be a relaxing weekend turned into a nightmare, will not be returning!!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

We stayed on the Friday night before summer Bank Holiday. ..so the hotel was quiet but gearing up for a very busy weekend. We stayed in rooms in the older part of the hotel. The (late) rate was very good for B&B and free spa. The staff were pleasant. The rooms were adequate. The breakfast was good. The spa was very good... The reason for the 3 star (possibly 2 star) rating is that there were several things that were very obviously in need of attention - but seemed to be overlooked by the hotel management / staff: Breakfast milk jug (glass) had a big chip next to the spout, no signs to show fruit juice types (during the time that we ate most customer asked the waitress), gents urinal (only 1 available) out of order in spa - throughout 2-day stay, 10.45 am gents spa changing rooms not cleaned / tidied since previous day - so lots of wet towels on floor, shower in gents changing rooms out of order on both days - mud on floor at 10.45am on day 2; wallpaper peeling in rooms, no aircon, no bathroom fan , someone else's boxers and socks in one drawer on arrival. I addition, the sauna was out of action on both days. Each thing could have been so easily put right with a bit more care and attention from the management / staff. The hotel is well-placed with a very good spa (in a newer part of the hotel) and pleasant staff.

Room Tip: ask for the new part - check whether the spa will be fully open
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

wedding reception for my daughter. glorious day rounded off by really professional staff at the hotel.what a wonderful venue, could not find fault with anything at all.everything they promised was delivered.would recommend to anyone planning a similar function.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nowra, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed at Wild Pheasant Hotel on the night of Wednesday 1 August 2012 in room 202, booked through laterooms.com.

While the deal offered and welcome at the hotel were very satisfactory, when we arrived at our room (202) we found it to be hellish hot and despite opening the window and running the bathroom extraction fan for hours, it did not cool down.

The bed frame looked incredibly unstable and upon inspection we found it to have been repaired several times. The television was unable to be viewed from the bed due to the bed frame, and only one chair was supplied so please tell me how two people were supposed to relax and watch TV.

The toilet did not flush properly and the handbasin was cracked.

We had a horrendous nights' sleep due to the heat in the room, something we were unable to do anything about despite opening up the window as wide as possible.

On checking out, we reported these issues to the receptionist. She indicated that she was well aware that the heat was a problem in that room, and thanked us for reporting the other issues, stating "We'll get those fixed for you". This seemed quite bizarre, since clearly we wouldn't be returning to a hotel with such facilities.

Without wanting to put the receptionist in a difficult position (probably too kind on our part), we paid the bill in full mentioning that if she would please refer these issues to her manager we would be interested in discussing a discount to make up for the poor conditions we experienced. Two days later I have heard nothing further, so I emailed pretty much this description to the Manager. As of today, 20 August, I have still not received a response.

While obviously the room was offered on laterooms.com at a discounted rate, the full rate is quoted as GBP105.00 and I would be interested to know how customer satisfaction is achieved at that rate for the room we were given. We did not expect to receive such a low-quality room given the quoted full price.

Room Tip: Read the above, avoid room 202 at all costs or those nearby it I would think!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We stopped here for a meal in the afternoon at which time they have reduced prices up to 17.00 hours. The full price menu was rather pricey and after sampling the food was only glad we paid less. The starter was of garlic mushrooms was huge but completely tasteless and the main course of Chicken curry was only warm and also lacking in flavour. The staff were pleasant but we would certainly not vist again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
107 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
175 helpful votes 175 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

The hotel is slightly shabby in the older section which is still rather 1980s, but the rooms are clean enough, and comfortable and not bad in size. Sure the wallpaper needs a bit of attendance and it is all a bit 3 star and slightly chaotic, typical of a small out of the way hotel. But it is cheap well located in Llangollen and the staff are nice and helpful, and it is quite pleasent but do not expect too much. The newer section of the hotel is crisper and sharper but it dates from the mid 2000s. The hotel does need to spend a bit of money on the older section as it is very near its sell by date but overall i have no complaints and was pleased enough and unsurprised by what i got there.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wild Pheasant Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wild Pheasant Hotel & Spa

Address: Berwyn Road, Llangollen LL20 8AD, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Llangollen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Llangollen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Wild Pheasant Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Wild Pheasant Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wild Pheasant Hotel And Spa
Hotel Wild Pheasant
Wild Pheasant Hotel & Spa Llangollen, Wales - North Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wild Pheasant Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.