We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hillcrest Guest House

Hillcrest Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Llangollen
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hillcrest Guest House
Save
You added Hillcrest Guest House to your Saves list
Hill Street, Llangollen LL20 8EU , Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 30 Llangollen B&B and Inns
Liverpool
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Home from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Stayed at hillcrest with my husband and 4 kids and had a fabulous time, with Trisha & Dave making us feel very welcome. Rooms are lovely and spotless and the living room and pool table were fantastic with the kids. Breakfast was great with lots of choice and again breakfast room was spotless. Just a short walk to the town so no parking problems will definitely visit this great establishment again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    4
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
cannock
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

Had a great stay , for 2 nights , rooms clean , owners very friendly , within walking distance to town , only bad thing for me was I found a hair in my breakfast , and the table cloth had cat hairs on it , whilst having breakfast the cat did try and get in the table :(

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
enigmaBritain, Manager at Hillcrest Guest House, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Really sorry if you found a hair on your plate,first time in twelve years and wished you had mentioned it to us at the time. Our cat lives in our private accomodation but sometimes will be cheeky enough to come in the front with guests and not to our knowledge but you know what cats are like. The cat found us after being badly neglected and living off the fields for two years and very timid, however he has had a complete personality change and has since become a typical guest house cat and thinks he owns the place. All we can say apologies for this and we didnt charge for the extra on your plate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

My partner and I stayed here for a weekend in July 2013 for our anniversary. The Hill Crest is well-located and it is just a short walk to the town. Trish and Dave who run the B&B are a very friendly and welcoming couple; they make a wonderful breakfast, which is served as soon as you are at the table! Our room was a great size, and had a very cosy feel to it. We very much felt like we were at home, and after a long day of climbing mountains and canoeing it was a great place to come back to. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

This was an overnight stay for myself, my partner and my dog. We've stayed here before and I knew that all 3 of us would get a warm welcome which is why I chose to spend my birthday here. We were given Room 6 which is where we stayed last time and it's perfect for just nipping out to the back garden with the dog. There is also a lovely patio area to sit in at the back which leads directly to the very private car park. Breakfast is faultless as is everything about the place.

Room Tip: Room 6 is closest to the back door and overlooks the rear garden and carpark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ely, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We were here for a week and couldn't fault it. Very well looked after by a friendly couple. The dog was also very well looked after - and Dave & Trish were very happy for him to be there with us unlike some places where you feel the dog is 'tolerated'.
Once you know where the car park entrance is then it's really not a problem even in a fairly large car.
It's convenient for the town which has plenty of places where you can eat and a good base for exploring the local area.
We'll probably be back for another holiday - maybe next year.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
enigmaBritain, Owner at Hillcrest Guest House, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
We were very happy to have Timmy and his Mum and Dad!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for my hen weekend and we were made very welcome! Breakfast was great and rooms spacious and comfortable. Dave was good fun and very helpful. The location is excellent and close to the town, and the hill was no problem even after a few drinks! Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

only stayed the one night but owners where friendly and most helpful. rooms where great and free pool table was a bonus. breakfast was good, location was up a hill but not enough to put anyone off stopping there. good location 2 mins from centre so no loud parties going past and parking idea. would stop again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hillcrest Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillcrest Guest House

Address: Hill Street, Llangollen LL20 8EU , Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Llangollen
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Llangollen
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Hillcrest Guest House Llangollen, Wales - North Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hillcrest Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.