We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wondiferous” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Watsons Bistro

Watsons Bistro
Chapel Street, Conwy, Snowdonia National Park LL32 8BP, Wales (Formerly Bistro Bach)
01492596326
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 46 Restaurants in Conwy
Price range: $37 - $47
Cuisines: Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Skipton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wondiferous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Busy restaurant (always a good sign) yet service was nevertheless speedy and courteous. Food presentation and quality excellent. Atmosphere superb. The place is small enough to provide intimacy but large enough to give a choice of seating.

Nice touches including such things as complimentary sorbet (mid course) to cleanse the pallet. Waitresses very attentive. Menus choice and specials board comprehensive.

When next in Conwy wont look anywhere else.

£70 for two course meal for two inclusive of £16 bottle of wine - but worth every penny.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chef_eeConwy, Owner at Watsons Bistro, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Thank you for your very complimentary review. We are delighted that you enjoyed dinner here with us recently and look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Conwy. Kind regards, Ian, Anne and staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    342
    95
    15
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Selby, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Quite tucked away and we wouldn't have found it without the Trip Advisor app's near me feature; when following the map, we did wonder where we were heading!

When we arrived, we were pleased. Lovely decor throughout but try and sit in the conservatory if you can! The little yard is closed off by the Conwy walls - made a great talking point! Great atmosphere here too - couldn't put my finger on why, but there was.

Excellent service, very friendly but not over attentive.

The food was glorious and the wine list impressive. The popcorn appetizer was delicious!

Great value for money and well worth a visit.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chef_eeConwy, Owner at Watsons Bistro, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your evening here with us recently and hope if you are in Conwy in the future you will come and see us. Regards, Ian, Anne and staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“first time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

first time we have been here even though we are local,and we were not disappointed,good service reasonable prices,good quality food beautifully cooked.A step up in class from dawsons resteraunt which is just down the road and should be avoided at all costs.The lobster risotto which we all had was delicious,my lamb trio was divine,my wifes steak loverly and tender.Did nt have a pudding as we were to full.definatly recommend this place to anyone.great night out !!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chef_eeConwy, Owner at Watsons Bistro, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Thank you for your complimentary review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your dinner with us recently and hope that now you have found us you will return in the not too distant future. Regards, Ian, Anne and staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Tucked away but worth finding”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

For my one night in Conwy, I chose Watson's Bistro, which was featured in my Rick Steves guidebook. The restaurant is tucked on a back street near the city walls, but it's a pretty small town, so is not too hard to find. The place is not huge, but had plenty of space for everyone when I was there. It was a Monday night, so not too crowded and I got a table without a wait. I had a very good steak dinner with some excellent wine. The service was very prompt and courteous and the food was top-notch. There was a wide variety on the menu as well. Would definitely return if I am ever back in Conwy.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chef_eeConwy, Owner at Watsons Bistro, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your evening with us recently. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip. Kind regards, Ian, Anne and staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paso Robles, California
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Watsons Bistro was recommended by our B&B host, so after a walk around the city wall, we stopped there for lunch. We had a very nice menu to choose from and loved what we ordered. The service and ambiance were great as well. The next day we went back for dinner, but alas we had not made reservations (even though we were warned) and they were completely booked on a Friday night. They were most apologetic, but it was our own fault. We did really enjoy the lunch and would recommend Watsons Bistro wholeheartedly.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chef_eeConwy, Owner at Watsons Bistro, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Thank you for such a lovely review, we are delighted that you enjoyed lunch here with us recently but sorry that we could not accommodate you for dinner the next day! We hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip. Kind regards Ian, Anne and staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Watsons Bistro also viewed

Conwy, Snowdonia National Park
Conwy, Snowdonia National Park
 
Conwy, Snowdonia National Park
Conwy, Snowdonia National Park
 

Been to Watsons Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Watsons Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.