We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday carvery - family lunch out” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mulberry

Mulberry
Conwy Marina | Ellis Way, Conwy, Snowdonia National Park LL32 8EP, Wales
(0)1492 583350
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 34 Restaurants in Conwy
Price range: $12 - $53
Cuisines: British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
North Wales
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Sunday carvery - family lunch out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

10 family members went for Sunday lunch - age range 2 to 95! Problem when we first got there as we had been given an upstairs table for the carvery downstairs. When I explained that we had a 95 year old and an 87 year old in the party, we were able to change to a downstairs table.
Plenty of food available and the meat was all very good and tender, vegetables OK.
Very much a bar meal, maybe the table seating upstairs is more 'laid out', but it suited us all right. a reasonable price for what you got.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    49
    26
    31
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Raw chips!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Since we were leaving Conwy to drive home we called in early and ordered as soon as the kitchen opened. You would think that any pub could produce Scampi and Chips but not, apparently, the Mulberry. The chips were unusually pale and to our surprise at least half of them were raw (and greasy at the same time). When we told the "waitress" she just said that they were made on the premises from potato (!) and sorry about that. Charging over ten pounds each for the meal and then serving the worst chips ever - if you can't cook a chip what sort of chef are you?

Not surprisingly we shall not be going back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Overpriced for what for what you get..”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Called into mulberry after lovely trip to Anglesey. As we has already eaten we decided to try the desert of the day which was rhubarb crumble. However, it arrived with custard instead of ice cream. The body of the dish was like liquid mush. Overpriced and won't be eating there again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
1 review
“Very welcoming, great pub food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

we visited the mulberry last night for a last minute meal, it was a quiet night but there was a nice atmosphere with friendly staff to welcome us when we arrived! The meals were delicous with good portions as me and my partner couldnt finish the whole meals. Stunning location views overlooking the conwy marina, would definatley go back to this welcoming pub with good food and service.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Unforgivable service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

Whilst on holiday we visited the mulberry for an early evening meal to celebrate my brother-in-laws birthday. Our party consisted of 5 adults, a 3yr old and a 11 month old baby. The pub was busy but there was enough tables for us to chose somewhere to sit. The meal took a while to come, so I asked how long it would be as our girls were getting cranky and tired. The children's pasta arrived soon after but someone in the kitchen had put a spicy chilli sauce in the children's pasta rather than the plain ragu. Our 3yr old started eating her garlic bread and our 11 month old baby ate the pasta and started getting more and more distressed. It wasn't until the 3yr old complained the pasta was too hot that we realised the mistake. By this point our poor 11month old baby daughter was so distressed she was screaming and crying. Luckily she hadn't got any sauce on her face or near her eyes. My wife and I had to leave with the kids ASAP, the manageress refunded three meals
and packed the main meals as a carry out. We didn't get the drinks refunded and the rest of the party had to pay and finish their meals without us. Later I tried to eat the belly pork and noodles and it was laced with salt. I had to throw it away.
A complete and utter disaster with a unforgivable mistake. We are lucky our baby seems ok now but we have had to explain to our 3yr old why we had to leave the restaurant on her uncles birthday and she couldn't eat her meal.
An evening we would all like to forget. Don't think we will be going there again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mulberry also viewed

Conwy, Snowdonia National Park
Dwygyfylchi, Conwy County
 
Rhos-on-Sea, Conwy County
 

Been to Mulberry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mulberry, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.