We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant surprise!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mulberry

Mulberry
Conwy Marina | Ellis Way, Conwy, Snowdonia National Park LL32 8EP, Wales
(0)1492 583350
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 46 Restaurants in Conwy
Price range: $13 - $55
Cuisines: British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Went with friends for lunch. We all enjoyed our food and I have to say from past experiences the food has certainly improved. I had the shepherds pie with red cabbage and could not fault it at all. The mashed potato topping was to my liking, which was golden brown and the peaks nice and crispy. The other mains were - duck with noodles, which my friend really enjoyed, the scampi and chips again was liked and hot beef in a bread roll with chips - this was average and my friend was a little disappointed that they used a cheap white roll. But overall the food was good.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    45
    20
    28
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Good lunch with a great view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

Our second visit here whilst staying in Conwy. It's a nice walk around the estuary from the centre of town to the marina. We had a completely different experience from the previous review. Service was quick, staff were pleasant and food of good quality. Perhaps it was because it was an early lunch time and relatively quite. I guess it can be very busy in the holiday season. Either way, it was a pleasant lunch followed by a leisurely stroll back to Conwy and would recommend it. One small tip is that I now notice that at the end of the estuary trail past the school there is now a small sign on the wall showing the direction to the pub. Before that it is not that easy to find as you have to cross the road bridge over the A55.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lots of profit for the mulberry at the expense of poor service and mediocre food... Don't bother”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

We are actually sitting here writing this review. The pub is clean and well presented. The staff are ok. There is no special effort to welcome anyone.
When we arrived we ordered food and drinks. The transaction was cordial a straightforward swap of our money for their food. We waited 40 minutes for a sausage and mash and steak and chips. While we have waited other customers have arrived and it seems that they are getting waitress service which would have been nice had we been offered.
The food when it arrived pretended to be the posh minimal food but was actually fairly basic presentation and quality. It was tasty enough but nothing that special to represent the price. When our plates have finally been taken away we were not asked if everything was ok nor offered anything else. We can only assume they would like us to leave which we are only too happy to oblige.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Mexico on the Marina”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Attended a Mariachi evening last Saturday at the Mulberry, I couldn't believe how once the band started everyone got into the spirit of Mexico. There was dancing on the tables and lots of people dressed the part. Service behind the bar was fast and considering it was very busy. even the staff appeared to be enjoying themselves. The location is superb overlooking the Marina and if you visit in the warmer summer months I would imagine it would be lovely sitting out on the quayside .
You can pick the cruiser you will buy when the six numbers come up!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colwyn Bay, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great value carvery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Went this Sunday for a carvery at the Mulberry in Conway Marina. Very good food. Hot and loads of it. Lovely beef, pork or ham and good service. Would recommend.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mulberry also viewed

Conwy, Snowdonia National Park
Dwygyfylchi, Conwy County
 
Llandudno, Conwy County
 

Been to Mulberry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mulberry, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.