We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel & area” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Whinward House

Whinward House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Whinward House to your Saves list
Whinward House
Whinacres | Conwy Morfa, Conwy, Snowdonia National Park LL32 8ET, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 26 Conwy B&B and Inns
Bernartice, Czech Republic
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
“Beautiful hotel & area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Everything was beautiful. The hotel and its owners are very pleasant. We had a nice double room. Excellent home made breakfast. Chris told us everything we needed, recommended good places to eat, a nice walk to the centre. We'd like to stay there again, 3 days weren't enough. A good place to start trips to Snowdonia, Anglesey etc.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    10
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
6
34
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Its in a lovely area but quite difficult to find. The booking was easy and in general the accommodation was nice. However, it is in need of updating and quite cluttered. Some green mold in the bathroom and the cleanliness of the room wasn't fantastic. Eg dirty cup marks on the bed side table, lamps covered in dust, bathroom basket had used items in including dirty cotton buds. The menus and maps in the room were printed on a4 paper and were dirty/creased

Furthermore the fire procedures were on the old side (hand bell at the bottom of the stairs to ring) there was no sign of smoke detectors or sprinklers in the rooms or on the landing On the positive side there is some beautiful art in the property produce by Janice

Shower other then dirty was lovely strong and warm, room temperature was just right and useful extras such as tea and coffee facilities, tv and hair drier and a book and DVD library you were able to use.

Breakfast was nice but awkward as everyone eats together at one table but lots of choice and the home made bread is a nice touch although we found it tasted rather strange. The menu items however on the room menus was not accurate and a small jug of orange juice and milk were all that was available for people who don't want hot drinks (one jug between 6 with about 2 glasses worth in it) Breakfast is also only available between 8.30 and 9am so there is no chance of timing breakfast so you can eat alone without having to make small talk. Although the gentleman who runs the property was nice and chatty, when we said good morning to Janice we got no response.

Unfortunately throughout our stay we felt awkward and like misbehaving children if we came back after 10pm and despite advising we would be arrived late were told that the owner had "almost given up on us," as previously stated the B&B was hard to find and we couldn't find a phone number.

Conwy itself was lovely and well worth the visit but we found this B&B pricey and not up to the standard expected for its price nor for its tourism board rating.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horgen
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

For us it was not easy to find the Whinward House immediately but with the help of a friendly, helpful man we found it.

Once arrived we were welcomed by Chris the owner. He explained us everything related to the location and helped us to bring the luggage to our room.

Our twin room was located in the first floor. The room had a sloped ceiling. So if you are bigger than 175cm this can cause a problem. The room was not so big. The bathroom was quite big.
Everything was clean.

The breakfast served was to our full satisfaction. What we liked was that the breakfast room has just on big table. So you will have breakfast with the other guests of the house and you can hear from their trips and excursions.

Conwy village and castle are in walking distance.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Comfortable, quiet accommodation and breakfast made to order and cooked to perfection. Outstanding location, walking distance to the city centre. This was my second trip to Conwy-stayed at The Castle Hotel previously- and would not hesitate to stay at Whinward House again. Chris and Janis are brilliant hosts, providing excellent recommendations for sights to see that you might not find in your standard guidebook, as well as pubs worth a visit. Enjoyed chatting with other guests at breakfast swapping travel stories. Very welcoming while also allowing enough privacy.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
telford
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

I booked the Whinward after reading the positive reviews on here, but I have to say, I was very disappointed.

First though, the good points: It’s within easy walking distance of both Conwy itself and the Marina. The couple who run it are (as everyone says) friendly. The place itself is tidy and for the most part, reasonably clean.

So what’s not to like?

Firstly, the ensuite we had was just horrible with dirty dark stained grouting around the shower and plenty of dirty grouting peeling off. Yuk! The owners had also left USED soap in the bathroom, which is just plain tacky and unhygenic.

Reviewers have said it’s like a home from home, well that’s partly true, because it is certainly the owners home! All you’re really staying in is one of their spare bedrooms. Of a morning you share a large table with whoever else is staying, forcing stilted conversation, whether you want it or not!

For cooked breakfast you have a choice of eight items – sausage, bacon, egg, etc. The funny thing is though, if you just like say five items, that is all you get. They don’t double up or anything, so it’s one sausage, one rasher of bacon! I’m sure if you asked for more they would give you more, but really, why should you have to ask for a decent breakfast?

All in all I left with the impression of a couple penny pinching. For £80 a night, there are much better options available.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Stayed here yet again July 25th to 29th. We're golfers so it was handy for the golf course and also to walk into Conwy on the days we're not playing. Also good as a touring base to the beautiful places North Wales has to offer. Wonderful place to stay. Nothing is too much trouble for Janis and Chris, always a cheery smile and a helping hand.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Me and my friend stayed in the twin room and it was lovely the bathroom had a large corner shower cubicle which was brilliant (but not suitable for tall people!!).
The breakfast was cooked to perfection and you could choose exactly what you wanted.
The bread was delicious and made me regret giving my breadmaker away!!
Janis and Chris were brilliant and very informative.
Nothing was too much trouble.
We would definately return.
Thankyou

Room Tip: Only choose the twin if you are petite in height
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Whinward House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whinward House

Address: Whinacres | Conwy Morfa, Conwy, Snowdonia National Park LL32 8ET, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Conwy
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Conwy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1890's former Coach House with lots of character and views of Conwy Mountain from rear. Open all year round. 2 Double rooms with kingsize beds, en-suite shower, TV/DVD/radio and complimentary tea tray. Sitting room and conservatory overlook beautiful gardens, walled and gated grounds offering secure car parking. Near to Golf course, Town, beaches and Marina, Post Office and restaurants. Ideal base for whole of North Wales and Snowdonia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Whinward House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whinward House Conwy, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Whinward House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.