We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fabulous weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Town House (B&B) Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Conwy
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Town House (B&B) Guest House
Save
You added The Town House (B&B) Guest House to your Saves list
18 Rose Hill Street, Conwy, Snowdonia National Park LL32 8LD, Wales   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 26 Conwy B&B and Inns
Burnley, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“fabulous weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

we have just returned home after a fabulous weekend celebrating my wifes birthday.Mark andJulie were the best hosts we have ever had in all our travels all over Europe and beyond.nothing was too much trouble too them and they even bought flowers and put them in our room for my wifes birthday,brilliant hosting skills and we cant wait to go back again later this year all being well ,the room (2)was fantastic the breakfast was fantastic and the location is second to none.ten out of ten.

Room Tip: all rooms are great but the higher you go the better view you get.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JPSMP, Owner at The Town House (B&B) Guest House, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Thank you for taking time to write such a lovely review. It was great to have you both here and we really enjoyed your company. We hope you will come back later in the year but if not, we shall expect to see you again for Jean's birthday next year. We also hope the vanity case made it home without spontaneously unpacking itself again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    2
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
53
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

Great weekend with friends & motorbikes. Julie and Mark were fantastic hosts. Clean & spotless room. Great breakfast..plenty of coffee. What more could you ask for! Good knowledge of local pubs & biking roads.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JPSMP, Owner at The Town House (B&B) Guest House, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Thank you for your review, it was great having the bikers here and we hope you will come back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan, USA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We would echo all the recent reviews of The Town House Guest House in Conwy - the B and B is in every way clean, comfortable, in an exceptional location, and provides a hearty, delicious breakfast.
The one thing we can add is the fact that Mark and Julie so graciously accommodated our special requests. We informed Mark and Julie beforehand that my husband has to be on a strict dairy-free diet. Our wonderful breakfast table included a pitcher of dairy-free milk. Julie even had dairy-free yogurt on hand so my husband would not miss out on the beautiful breakfast parfait - and it was all provided with a smile!
Before our trip I also emailed Julie and Mark that we were interested in attending a Male Voice Choral Concert during our short stay in Wales. They did some investigating long before our arrival and found a nearby concert that fit our request exactly.
If we were ever to visit Wales again, we would definitely go to Conwy so we could stay at the Town House - not just for the perfect accommodations but to visit the friends we feel we met in Mark and Julie.

Room Tip: We reserved early and requested a "room with a view." I think we were in room 4 that has a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JPSMP, Owner at The Town House (B&B) Guest House, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Thank you both for taking the time to write a review. It was easy to accommodate your dietary needs as you gave us plenty of notice to source the right things - it's not always easy to find things at the last minute in Conwy as it is quite a small town. We are especially pleased that you enjoyed the concert as I know this is something you were particularly looking forward to. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday particularly your narrow-boat experience and didn't get too scared on the Pontcysyllte aqueduct.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea S.Wales
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

We booked a last minute break in N. Wales and are very glad we found The Town House in Conwy. It's situated right in the town so is convenient for the shops, harbour and eating places etc. The absence of their own car park did concern us a bit before we booked, but in fact was no problem as the public car park opposite charged just 60p for an overnight stay and even the daytime fee was good though we were out and about in the car then anyway. Mark was quick to take our luggage from us and deliver it to our room on arrival, and as many others have said both he and Julie were valuable sources of advice and info to us. Our room was light, bright and very comfortable and the freshly cooked breakfast was made using good quality local sausages and bacon - even the baked beans were hot, which rarely happens in even 4 or 5 star hotels!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JPSMP, Owner at The Town House (B&B) Guest House, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are glad you chose to stay with us as it was lovely to meet you both. We are pleased you enjoyed breakfast and especially the hot beans! Come back and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

My friend and I stayed with Mark and Julie at the end of May-first part of June. We absolutely loved our hosts and our stay at the Town House! Mark and Julie are the kind of people that we could envision being our friends if we lived closer...we loved Mark's sense of humor and stories. He made us smile every time we talked with him. He was a prince to lug (and I mean lug!) our two VERY heavy suitcases up all the stairs to our room (all the while teasing us nicely about how heavy they were...and they were!). Our room had a fantastic view of Conwy Castle and was a comfortable, happy place for us to return to each of our two night stay. We had extremely handy parking right across the street! We would have loved another night's stay in Conwy at the Town House, because we just fell in love with the walled city, the beautiful green hills around the city, and the area in general. We would have loved to have visited Snowdonia National Park and the wonderful hiking available there.

Julie did an awesome job of preparing our breakfasts and Mark was the server...we never went away hungry, and the food was very good! They gave us great recommendations for Conwy restaurants, pubs, and things to do. Of our two week visit to the U.K., the Town House, Mark and Julie, and Conwy were among the highlights of our trip. We hope others will see our review and choose to stay at the Town House. We wish Mark and Julie continued success and thank them for their kindness and helpfulness!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JPSMP, Owner at The Town House (B&B) Guest House, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Thank you for your very kind review. We had great fun with you both and, as we said at the time, you brought joy into the house. Your enthusiasm for Conwy and our recommendations was a pleasure to see and we would love to see you both again - but make sure your suitcases aren't quite so heavy next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pickering, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

We stayed 2 nights at this fantastic B&B. Julie and Mark were personable hosts and helpful in many ways. They made suggestions of great places to eat and visit during our stay. The room was clean and modern and breakfast was great. The view of the castle out our bedroom window was a surprise. We totally enjoyed our stay and would stay here again if the opportunity arises. Thank you Julie and Mark!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JPSMP, Owner at The Town House (B&B) Guest House, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, they are very important to us. It was great to welcome you to the Town House, we enjoyed the afternoon we spent with you in the Blue Bell. We are pleased you liked the room and the view of the Castle and we would love to see you here again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

We stayed at The Town House for two nights this past April as part of our travels around Britain. Our daughter rated this her favorite out of all the places we stayed. She was delighted with the view out her bedroom window, with the town walls and tower seemingly almost within reach. Mark and Julie were fabulous hosts, providing recommendations on food and drink and places to visit. They guided us to delicious local restaurants, the local traditional pub, the restored house of Plas Mawr, and scenic back roads to and from Snowdonia. Conwy is a very delightful place to visit and The Town House is very nicely situated for everything there. Our rooms were very nice, airy, and comfortable. Breakfasts were delicious, with plenty of food for my substantial appetite. Julie and Mark made sure that we always had whatever we needed for a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JPSMP, Owner at The Town House (B&B) Guest House, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Thank you for your review, it was lovely having you to stay with us. We are happy that you enjoyed Conwy and also the recommendations we made.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Town House (B&B) Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Town House (B&B) Guest House

Address: 18 Rose Hill Street, Conwy, Snowdonia National Park LL32 8LD, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Conwy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Conwy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Town House is one of the very few houses offering bed and breakfast accommodation situated within the medieval walls of Conwy Town. We are located opposite Conwy Castle, offering guests some of the finest views of both the castle and the town walls. The guest house, owned and managed by Julie & Mark Poole, was built in the Victorian era around 1849 and has been restored and upgraded to provide tastefully decorated and furnished en-suite bed and breakfast accommodation. The Town House benefits from being close to several pay and display car parks offering overnight parking for as little as £0.60. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Town House (B&B) Guest House Conwy, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Town House (B&B) Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.