We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Found Heaven in Conwy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bryn Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Conwy
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bryn Guest House
Save
You added Bryn Guest House to your Saves list
Sychnant Pass Road, Conwy, Snowdonia National Park LL32 8NS, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 26 Conwy B&B and Inns
Whittier, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Found Heaven in Conwy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Everything was perfect at Bryn Guest House! The proprietor, Allison, is such an incredible decorator and hostess. She was spot on with her recommendations for dinner. Her breakfast included only the highest quality ingredients and was simply delightful from the first bite to the last. The views from our room were nothing short of spectacular, and our bedroom and bathroom were luxurious. The location was ideal for exploring the fascinating town of Conwy. This is truly a destination!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
114
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Hereford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Bryn Guest House is a beautiful Victorian house immediately outside the walls of Conwy Castle. We were very warmly welcome by the owner, Alison, who is a wonderful hostess -- a font of local knowledge, brilliant breakfast cook (lovely breakfasts and don't forget to try her homemade Welsh Cakes --mmm ) and is rightly proud of her home. We had 3 nights memorable stay, local restaurants to walk to in Conwy town. We liked Watsons a short walk down the road from the house brilliant food staff and a warm welcome. Alfredos is an Italian pizza and pasta restaurant which always appeared to be full --a good night there. Pop into the Albion pub for a choice of beers afterwards-- just been refurbed with it's original Arts and crafts interior. Well worth a visit or two. A short drive to the Groes Inn at Tyn-y-Groes (5minutes drive-Ask Alison). Good food and atmosphere.
Plenty to do and see in the region so we'll be back. 3 nights isn't enough.
Many thanks Alison.

Room Tip: It doesn't matter which of the four rooms as all excellent with en suite. Alison does say that t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

I knew when we pulled in to the parking lot that this would be a truly wonderful experience, and it was! The view was magnificent, the room was stunning, the hostess was fun and interesting - and she did a wonderful breakfast, complete with local Welch goodies and home baked bread. It was right at the top!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

All other positive reviews are accurate. Excellent location, just walk a few feet and you are in the town walks. Beautiful grounds, clean rooms, helpful, and AMAZING breakfast, Alison's Welsh cakes are the best. She pays attention to details. For example the room has an US power converter. For the price you are getting a great value. Don't hesitate if she has room availability. By the way this was my first B&B because I'm a hotel guy but my wife convinced me to try and it was an excellent experience.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Bryn Guest House is the perfect place to stay in Conwy. Right outside (literally) of the walls of the city, perched on a hilltop, the house is a historical treasure, cozy, inviting and the hosts are a treat.

We stayed in room 3, which has a view of the castle, surrounding valley, and town. We could sit and soak up the sun (without the chilly wind) right from the comfort of our room. The room was very pretty with a big comfy bed, fireplace, sitting area and small en-suite bathroom. I love the historical details like the overhead pull cords for the lights.

The breakfast was incredible -- with options for vegans, vegetarians, celiacs, etc. They take every effort to make every person happy and satisfied. The welsh cakes were the best we had anywhere, and the sunny, warm breakfast room made us never want to leave.

Conwy is a lovely town, well worth a stop and an overnight, if not two! Walking the walls, sitting in the cozy pubs and just wandering through the village was really fantastic, and how nice to know we were staying right there and didn't have to move the car once we arrived.

Our only issue was that we had a tricky time finding the B&B at first, but it was more our GPS's fault than anything else, once we knew where it was we couldn't believe we had driven right past it!

We hope that we have the chance to go back to Bryn Guest House again- it would be such a joy to be a two-time guest at this amazing B&B.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dronfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I have just come back from a night away in Conwy and our stay at Bryn was brilliant. Alison and Nick are fabulous hosts, helpful, friendly and very welcoming.
The house and gardens are beautiful and our room had everything we could ask for. The bed was actually the best I've ever slept in.
Breakfast was lush, homemade Welsh cakes on every table, beautiful fruit salad and a wonderful Welsh breakfast with locally sourced meats. Homemade bread and locally made jams topped it all off.
I would recommend Bryn to everyone.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Just got back from an amazing weekend staying at Bryn guest house. Starting with the friendly hosts, it was immediately obvious we had made the right choice. From the immaculate house and room, to the amazing location right by the city walls, it was perfect even before we had the joys of the unbelievable breakfasts and gluten free baking! It's the little touches like the gluten free biscuits and the cupcakes marked "mmmm!" that make the difference, and smiling happy hosts are the way forward! Had some great chats over breakfast with the other guests from the USA, and even managed to learn some new facts about our country. Without going off topic and rambling about how good it was, this is the way it should be, a perfect enjoyable weekend in an amazing B&B, worth every penny! We will be back!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bryn Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bryn Guest House

Address: Sychnant Pass Road, Conwy, Snowdonia National Park LL32 8NS, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Conwy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Conwy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Bryn Guest House Conwy, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bryn Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.