We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our new home from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sychnant Pass Country House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Sychnant Pass Country House to your Saves list
Sychnant Pass Country House
5.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Sychnant Pass Road, Conwy, Snowdonia National Park LL32 8BJ , Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 26 Conwy B&B and Inns
Hamilton, Bermuda
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Our new home from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Myself and my partner have what is now referred to as a blended family which includes three boys, a girl and a puppy ranging from 18 years old to 3 months, which means we don’t get much chance to spend time alone together very often. Added to this that I spend three to four nights a week working away from home the time we do spend together is important to us.

Boxing Day has become our time, when the children are away with the respective other halves, we slip away for a couple of days doing absolutely nothing. We have a 12 week old puppy and had expected that this year we would have to break tradition and stay at home.

However a quick search of pet friendly hotels within a reasonable distance from home threw up a couple of candidates, one being the Sychnant Pass Country House. A quick email to the owners confirmed the puppy would be welcome within certain rules and guidelines including her being caged at night so I called to book and was dealt with courteously and efficiently.

I know the area well and knew immediately it would be a lovely setting but the house itself is also stunning and located in an area of outstanding natural beauty.

We arrived on Boxing Day with pooch in tow and was greeted by Hugh the owner, it was immediately evident that he was a very enthusiastic host and we soon felt welcome and at ease and after a quick check in we were shown all of the amenities and on to our room. The suite was extremely welcoming, a well-appointed lounge with comfortable settee leads off to a lovely bedroom with kingsize bed and the modern bathroom light, airy and spotlessly clean. The room had two large patio doors leading to a private terrace with hot-tub.

We dumped our bags and headed for the tastefully appointed lounge and set up shop in front of a beautiful open fire which was inlayed with the tudor rose. Hugh was immediately on hand to explain the history of the house and its connection to Tudor Britain and also to take the much needed drinks order. We ordered a very nice bottle of Sancerre from a very, very good wine list that left us a little bit spoilt for choice. We then settled down to do exactly what we were there to do, absolutely nothing.

We went for dinner around 7:30 and again our genial host was on hand to take the drinks order which included locally sourced ales and ciders. Our order was taken and it was explained that the menu was there as a guide and if we fancied anything slightly different it would be catered for, Beth immediately asked for the goats cheese in the salad to be replaced with Stilton which was done without fuss. All three courses couldn’t not be faulted, in fact it is one of the nicest meals I have eaten in a long time, all freshly prepared using local produce and the service was excellent.

The cheese course was served in the lounge which gave you the chance to speak with the other guests, all of whom made similar comments over the quality of the food and service. The following day, breakfast, which has a tendency not to be too good at hotels was again excellent. Local sausages, eggs and bacon sourced within one mile of the hotel and cooked to perfection.

Our lazy break continued with a quick walk along the beach with the puppy, a little bit of shopping followed by a beer and sandwich at Conwy Harbour which is only a 10 minute drive away. We returned to the hotel for more laziness, a stint in the pool and a bottle of fizz in the hot-tub. The pool is very well maintained, tidy and spotlessly clean although a couple of areas around the pool need a lick of paint but I’m sure that will be on one of Hugh’s lists somewhere. The communal showers were again spotless with an abundance of soft towels easily on hand. As you can imagine on a holiday of this type we didn’t venture near the gym.

The hotel was very quiet on the second night which didn’t cause us too much concern as we were there to get away from it all and we had the place to ourselves as the other residents had decided not to eat in, their loss! Dinner that evening was again excellent, couldn’t be faulted in any way. We headed off to the lounge for cheese and biscuits and Hugh arrived shortly after and asked if he could join us which we insisted he did, closely followed by his wife. The conversation was light and entertaining and you felt like you were visiting friends rather than a hotel. This is Hugh’s number one strength, he makes you feel welcome.

We have read all of the reviews for the Sychnant Pass Country House over the last few days and we must admit to being a little bit taken aback by some of the comments. You have to go a long way to find fault with this hotel, sure it may need a lick of paint here and there in the communal areas like the pool but what hotel doesn’t?

In my 25 year career as an IT Consultant I have spent my working life living out of a suitcase and in hotels all around the world including much of the UK, Bermuda, Canada, Luxemburg and Australia. I must say that staying at The Sychnant Pass Country House is most definitely one of the nicest experiences we have had and as many people have said in previous comments we are just trying to work out when we can go back because we certainly won’t be leaving it until next Boxing Day.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HNRP, Owner at Sychnant Pass Country House, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Really good to meet you. Glad you enjoyed your break and look forward to seeing Sky on future visits as he grows older.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    31
    11
    15
    3
See reviews for
35
91
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
manchester
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We have stayed here 3 times now and each time we love it. We are a couple in our mid thirties who enjoy quality breaks with fine dining and service.
Hugh makes you feel welcome as soon as you arrive. We always stay in the attic room with the hot tub which we take full advantage of day and night it's great especially with a bottle of bubbly. Our meal was great yet again and the room is soo cosy, just right for a romantic weekend away.
We have booked to stay from the 30th December to the 1st of January taking our daughter too... Can't wait!

Room Tip: Go for a room with a hot tub!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

My husband & I just spent a lovely weekend here. Hugh and all the staff were welcoming and friendly. We stayed in Calon Lan a room with a hot tub on it's own decking and were more than satisfied. We ate in the restaurant both nights and the food was excellent and good value for money and there was a good choice of wines. We were even able to take our dogs who enjoyed their break too as there were nice walks on the doorstep without us needing to take the car. A nice bonus was the sauna and swimming pool which we utilised after coming back from a long walk. A nice warming fire in the lounge in the evening was very welcoming and it was nice to chat to other guests, Good place for a romantic getaway for couples and we will certainly go back

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We have just got home from an afternoon at the Sychnant Pass House. It was my Mother and Father's 60th anniversary so we decided afternoon tea would suit them best and the reat of the family. Couldn't have wished for a better place than this. Hugh was fantastic helping along the way to make the occasion right...and it was! The sandwich's and cakes were lovely, everyone thought the same.
Nothing was too much trouble. Just want to say it's a fantastic place and with the open fire roaring away when we left, we wanted to stay because it was all so relaxed. Thank you Hugh and your staff :) We are now thinking of returning for a pre-christmas meal !

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

On arrival Hugh made us most welcome as did his staff. The ambience of the hotel helped us to relax, and the cuisine was excellent. A bonus was the swimming pool. Even our aged dog, Mac, enjoyed a stroll in the gardens. Would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: We chose ground floor room because we needed access to garden because of our aged dog, but it was qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Just returned from a 3 night stay at the Sychnant Pass House, what a wonderful place, Hugh and the staff are brilliant, they make you feel so welcome. My sister and I really enjoyed our stay meeting lots of nice people, it was in a really great location to get out and about to many local places of interest. We strolled into Conwy within 40 mins. The food is absolutely scrumptious and would recommend you have evening dinner if you can (you wont regret it). We will certainly return in the future, the facilities are excellent. Thank you to Hugh and all your staff.

Room Tip: When speaking with other guests it would appear all rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

We stayed here as grandma, mum and two year old on Thursday 30/8 and had an absolutely lovely stay
The host was charming and couldn't do enough for us.
The room(suite with private hot tub) was gorgeous with lots of space and all amenities including a full size fridge.
The pool was lovely and relaxing.
What can we say about the hot tub on our private terrace - fabulous, extremely clean and once in didn't want to get out -even our two year old.
Can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Could recommend to anyone
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HNRP, Owner at Sychnant Pass Country House, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Really glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sychnant Pass Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sychnant Pass Country House

Address: Sychnant Pass Road, Conwy, Snowdonia National Park LL32 8BJ , Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Conwy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Conwy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sychnant Pass Country House 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful Edwardian country house hotel offering dinner, bed and breakfast accommodation in a peaceful setting close to the town of Conwy. On the edge of the Snowdonia National Park, Sychnant Pass House is set in three acres of its own grounds and is the perfect place to relax and unwind. Our restaurant is outstanding and we offer a 5-course dinner menu with food that is freshly cooked to order, using local ingredients wherever possible. 2-3 courses are available on request.With its own indoor heated swimming pool, gym and sauna, an outside hot tub completes our spa facilities. In the heart of the country yet less than 10 minute drive from the A55. Convenient for Llandudno, Conwy, Bodnant Gardens, Mount Snowdon, beaches, Anglesey and en route to the Holyhead ferry terminal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sychnant Pass Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sychnant Pass House Hotel Conwy
Sychnant Pass Country House Conwy, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sychnant Pass Country House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.