We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Old White House

The Old White House
Bangor Road, Conwy, Snowdonia National Park LL32 8DP, Wales
01492 573 133
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 46 Restaurants in Conwy
Cuisines: British, Pub
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
north wales
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“lovely atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We have eaten here on many occasions and always find it to have a really good atmosphere, good food and good beer.
Nothing to dislike except perhaps there is not enough tables,

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    11
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

After reading the good reviews we decided this was the place to eat after a day out. One thing I must say is don't judge it on first impressions! It's only a small restaurant and it's not the poshest of places but the service and food makes up for this. And I must say it I'd quite cosie when you get comfortable! There were five of us, between us we had 2 Turkey dinners, 1 lamb rump with mash, cabbage and peas, 1 scampi and chips and peas and one fish and chips with peas and they were all polished off... Clean plates all round! Then we had 2 Apple pie and custard, 1 sticky toffee pudding with ice cream, one chocolate fudge cake and cream and one ice cream stack which had chocolate and biscuit.... Which we also enjoyed!

It was a nice atmosphere although it did feel like we the only ones who weren't locals. Not that we were treated any differently! The staff were lovely! And they had a good selection of songs playing in the background. The meals were all good value, most below the £10 mark (even the lamb rump... Which wasn't small!) By the time we were leaving (about 6pm) it was starting to get busy so I would advise you to phone and book a table... I guarantee you'll leave with a full belly! Hope you enjoy! :)

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Top class pub food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

The good thing about The White House is that it doesn't pretend to be something it isn't. Pauline cooks excellent pub food, it's simple and delicious and the steak pie and the syrup sponge pudding are highlights. We have recently moved to Conwy and The White House has already become a favourite with us as the owners and all the staff are extremely friendly and helpful. There is also a really good selection of music in the background and live music on most weekends. Definitely worth a visit.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Brilliant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

Ate here last week & loved the food! My husband had the homemade steak & ale pie, which I should add was a 'real' pie not filling in a pot with a puff pastry lid and I had the dressed crab salad which was also very good!
The prices were very reasonable, this is a pub that serves very good homemade
food & isn't trying to dress itself up as a 'gastro pub' so it can charge you more!!

Well done Haydn, Pauline & staff!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abergele, Wales, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Very Friendly & Welcoming Family Pub!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

As soon as you walk in, the Landlord makes you welcome! The Guinness is probably the best in the area & so are the various Real Ales available. The food was excellent & plenty of it, which makes a change! The prices were slightly lower than average for the area. They have a couple of quizzes a week which are very well attended so go early if possible or you might not get a table!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old White House also viewed

Conwy, Snowdonia National Park
Conwy, Snowdonia National Park
 
Conwy, Snowdonia National Park
Conwy, Snowdonia National Park
 

Been to The Old White House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old White House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.