We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Short Break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Castle Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Castle Hotel to your Saves list
Castle Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   High Street, Conwy, Snowdonia National Park LL32 8DB, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Conwy
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Walsall, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great Short Break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

Lovely old hotel staff very friendly made to feel welcome excellent location. Breakfast very good excellent service. Dined at hotel all 3 nights and thoroughly enjoyed meals in both restaurant and bar area nice menu. Room was a little disappointing although clean had a bit of strange smell and décor needed a bit of an update which was a shame as everything else was brilliant.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

608 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    349
    165
    56
    25
    13
See reviews for
78
342
17
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

If you're ever in Conwy, that's the place to stay. Food is amazing bedrooms are luxury!!! We stayed for 3 nights and every night got better and better, we are often visiting the hotel because they are very warm and welcoming and it's just a lovely place to be!!!!

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

Stayed just for one night, as meeting up with Family. Overall impression of the outside, is that it needs cleaning but I have high standards. Quirky Hotel, with lovely lamps but attention detail isn't there, though I would hate to be part of Housekeeping as there are so many 'ornaments and areas' to keep clean. The staff throughout are very polite and extremely helpful,the owner/manager is extremely lucky to have such enthusiastic staff. Disappointed with our room, 208. Décor rather mismatched, and Bathroom very dated. I like everything immaculate and expect that when staying away. There was no privacy in the room as the windows overlooked the High Street, which was both busy and looking onto many homes and businesses. We had to draw the curtains which made the room very dark, and not even a blind in the bathroom. Though the Hotel is extremely old, the plumbing including water pressure certainly needs attention, and this was apparent in many of the rooms after chatting with guests. Though I loved the Quirkiness of this Hotel, the standard wasn't quite as high as I would have expected, but that was mainly our room 208. Family were staying in better standard rooms, on the floor below. We stayed on a Sunday special paying a slightly higher rate than the the 'basic room' Sunday special but the standard in our room wasn't good. Ate in restaurant that evening as included in our room rate was £20 off food, our bill for 6 was almost £180, with couple of bottles of wine. Restaurant and staff were the best part of this Hotel.

Room Tip: don't chose 208
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

We stayed in Conwy for the one night but really enjoyed it. The desk staff were very welcoming and the hotel corridors had a feel of a private museum. The room was well appointed and had everything we needed, although the bath in the main room was unusual!
The location is great being right in this historic walled town and after a lovely day exploring we dined in. The restaurant was a lovely experience, really good service and a lovely meal too. We had the delicious liver and the chicken Ballantine.
A lovely stay as part of our Welsh tour........

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales uk
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

Came here on the 22nd August for a meal there were 9 of us as it was my daughters birthday. The food was out of this world, service fantastic we have eaten at lots of restaurants and this was the best ever.Thank you to Gail for sorting us out with our table and Ian and the other staff serving us. We had a fabulous time.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

My wife and I stayed only one night and liked nearly everything, especially the evening meal which was almost faultless ( I am a chef ). the Welsh breakfast was superb, it was nice to have a pot of tea that gave more than just two cups. the local Welsh cider was a delight .I would highly recommended this Hotel and I have in fact already done so to all I have spoken to. The staff were pleasant and friendly.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

We went on sunday night to the restaurant of this hotel and we loved it. Wine was excelent and food very good. The rissotto and the Rosty were fantantic, full of flavour and delicious. My partner order the posh fish and chips which was gluten free and include fresh scallops, prawns, salmon and haddock!!! Is very difficult and almost impossible to find decent gluten free battered fish, so we really apreaciated. Fantastic meal, service and atmosphere. I definitely strongly recommend it and I will be back soon!

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plavin1906, Owner at Castle Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Thank you for writing such a positive review.
We've been offering more and more gluten free meals over the last couple of years and this year we found we could use gluten free flour in our Conwy beer batter, so our GF free menu has expanded even more - we've now got over 20 meals and snacks that are gluten free and most of our homemade desserts are also GF,
Hope we see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hotel

Address: High Street, Conwy, Snowdonia National Park LL32 8DB, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Conwy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Conwy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
'Boutiquey' Town House Hotel in middle of World Heritage walled town. After many years of upgrades and restoration, this famous old Inn now offers contemporary styling mixed with 'arts & crafts' character. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Hotels.com so you can book your Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hotel Conwy, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castle Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.