We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Lunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Castle Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Castle Hotel to your Saves list
Castle Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   High Street, Conwy, Snowdonia National Park LL32 8DB, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Conwy
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Wantage, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Had a beautiful Sunday Lunch in the courtyard which was a fantastic experience.

Food was good quality and reasonably priced.

Service was impeccable from the moment we walked in and we will be returning!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

608 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    349
    165
    56
    25
    13
See reviews for
78
342
17
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Neath, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Just come back from a one night stay at the Castle hotel. The hotel is perfect for relaxing and one night there felt like a holiday. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The food in the bar was absolutely superb and I would highly recommend this hotel. We had a beautiful room on the top floor, with a window seat, large bed and walk in shower. Would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

We spent two nights in this hotel in June, 2014. The hotel is right in the center of Conwy, close to the harbor, castle and other sights. The rooms are unique and lovely, very very large and comfortable. They have a wonderful restaurant where we had dinner as well as breakfast each morning. It is a shame that they are cannot provide adequate plumbing for their guests. Room 202 had a single drip that came out of the shower head. There was no tub. Makes for a less than comfortable way to end a long travel day. Perhaps other rooms have better pressure, but under no circumstances book room 202.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pueblo, Colorado
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

After touring the castle and Plas Mawr we headed for the Castle Hotel and had a traditional Welsh lunch (rarebit and local Conwy brew) in the bar. It was an extremely busy place with both locals and tourists coming and going. The service was excellent, prices reasonable, hotel charming. We were renewed enough to enjoy the amazing Bodnant Gardens in the afternoon!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

This was booked for my birthday. we stayed for one night and had our evening meal there.

The room was beautiful. The view at the castle was perfect.

The restaurant is extremely warm.

Overall I was delighted with the break here. I didn't pay for this hotel, it was a romantic break so I have no idea what was paid, but I'm so glad it was booked.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Apart from the very faded decor of this establishment, both my wife and I were very disappointed by the food served at lunchtime. My Croque Madame consisted of a ramekin lined with buttered bread, and consisting of an egg covered by some cheese. For over £7 !! And, at £67 for bar meals plus drinks for four, we left wishing we'd visited one of Conwy's many chippies instead.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Anglesey, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

We visited the Castle Hotel for lunch. The food was excellent with a wide choice of menu to choose from. The service was very good, the waitress who served us was very helpful as there was so much to choose from we were spoilt for choice. Would highly recommend a visit. They get very busy especially at holiday times so would recommend booking a table to save any disappointment.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hotel

Address: High Street, Conwy, Snowdonia National Park LL32 8DB, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Conwy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Conwy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
'Boutiquey' Town House Hotel in middle of World Heritage walled town. After many years of upgrades and restoration, this famous old Inn now offers contemporary styling mixed with 'arts & crafts' character. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Hotels.com so you can book your Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hotel Conwy, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castle Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.