We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Castle Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Castle Hotel to your Saves list
Castle Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   High Street, Conwy, Snowdonia National Park LL32 8DB, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Conwy
Sitka
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Highly recommended!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

Unique hotel, with comfort and luxury combined. Wonderful room, amazing view from my windows, excellent breakfast included, and the restaurant is amazing. Can't beat the location. Helpful and friendly staff. I enjoyed Conwy and the Castle Hotel very, very much.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    322
    141
    52
    24
    12
See reviews for
76
311
16
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights on winter break deal to go winter walking in Snowdonia. The hotel is perfectly positioned in the centre of Conwy, within easy walking distance of all the main attractions. Our room was spacious, tastefully decorated and with a great view of Conwy Castle, behind which the sun rises. Check-in was swift and service friendly. The restaurant food is delicious with a nice focus on local produce. Also an excellent selection of quality local ales in the hotel bar. Very enjoyable stay.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Have stayed here a number of times in the past so decided to take advantage of the Easter Special weekend, as always the food exceptional!!!!! have now sampled most of the menu nothing disappoints the rooms wonderful, spotless a and staff very friendly and helpful!! Enjoyable stay cannot fault a single thing well done!!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

On 27th march 1963 we spent the first night of our honeymoon at The Castle Hotel, 50 years
later, we returned to celebrate our Golden Wedding.Much has changed in that time, not least
the hotel and quality of food.Having booked one of the deals that was on offer at the time,we were
greeted by very friendly staff, supplied with a beautifully furnished room,with all the comforts for
a pleasant stay including a bottle of champagne.when we decided to go down for dinner,the dining
room staff were just as helpful,taking us through the menu with a great deal of knowledge and a
smile.The meal was an experience of culinary delight,together with a lovely bottle of wine.Breakfast the next morning was just as good.The date was memorable to start with made
unforgettable by a wonderful hotel, with fantastic food and staff. Thank you

Room Tip: All rooms are individual and furnished to the highest standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shropshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Stayed bed and breakfast on Travel zoo deal, good value for money.Lovely room,comfortable bed, chilled bottle of champagne in room on arrival,nice touch,(bit risky though, sharing bottle of champers then walking around town on castle wall ).Very tasty 4 course meal .Hotel ideal location for visiting local attractions.Conwy well worth a visit.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Booked two nights at the hotel. Hotel was warm, inviting and relaxing.

Easy check in, booked deluxe room had castle view and jacuzzi. Had trouble finding the tv which came up from the end of the bed, great idea. Room warm and comfortable. Bar selling cask ales and had relaxed atmosphere. Had breakfast two mornings, plenty of choice.

Had evening meal served in room. Food was fabulous.

Had lovely two night break and came home feeling relaxed. Weather did not bother us due to the surroundings that we were in.

Would definitely book again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

A few years ago we were regular visitors to the Castle but recently we have only popped in for a evening meal (you all must try the haddock and chorizo risotto) or drink when visiting Conwy. But we stayed here this week for my wife's birthday and the experience we had reminded me how good the Castle is. We enjoyed a one nights dinner, bed and breakfast deal and it was made even more special by the welcome we received from the owner Joe (who we had not seen for a a number of years) and the reception we received from Mandy (I think that was her name) on the front desk. The service, accomodation and food made it a very special birthday for my wife.

Room Tip: If you visit in November the fireworks display by Conwy Castle is amazing and can be watched from th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plavin1906, Owner at Castle Hotel, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Thanks for the great review and coming back to see us again.
Pleased that my son Joe was his usual charming self and made you feel welcome - and yes it is Mandy on the front desk. We like to think the hotel is good too, but it's all about the people who visit and the great team we have here. Mandy has been with us for a number of years now and Joe has created a very professional, friendly group of people who always try their best and get it right most of the time.
See you soon we hope.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hotel

Address: High Street, Conwy, Snowdonia National Park LL32 8DB, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Conwy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Conwy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
'Boutiquey' Town House Hotel in middle of World Heritage walled town. After many years of upgrades and restoration, this famous old Inn now offers contemporary styling mixed with 'arts & crafts' character. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hotel Conwy, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castle Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.