We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm, comfortable and characterful.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Castle Hotel

Save Saved
You added Castle Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Castle Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   High Street, Conwy, Snowdonia National Park LL32 8DB, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Conwy
Stoke on Trent
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Warm, comfortable and characterful.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We stayed here for one night's dinner, B & B through a Travelzoo deal. This is a beautiful old building with loads of character. Our room wasn't that large, but was warm, comfortable, clean & well-furnished. Although it faced the high street we heard no noise at night. Just a slight "gripe"- we found the level of lighting was inadequate (just 2 bedside lamps and a lamp on the desk which couldn't be adjusted to throw more light into the room). The bathroom was spotlessly clean (apart from a dusty extractor fan!) with a range of toiletries and plenty of towels. The food was amazing - full marks to the chef! The drinks weren't too expensive either for a hotel of this calibre. The staff were polite, pleasant & and helpful. There is plenty of customer parking, although when entering the hotel from the front it would be beneficial to have signs directing guests to Reception, as it's not immediately apparent where to go to check in. All in all a very enjoyable experience and we would definitely like to go back some time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plavin1906, Owner at Castle Hotel, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Thanks for a very constructive review.
We're really pleased that you enjoyed your one night stay with us especially the food. Since we bought the hotel in 2000, we have always strived to provide the very best food and drink experience we can. We like to think we offer good value for money even in these times of rapidly escallating costs.
Sorry about the dusty fan and low level of lighting in your bedroom. We converted all our lights to LED's around a year ago in an effort to reduce our carbon footprint, but some guests find the light a little dull sometimes. We do have extra lamps available if required to try and compensate, for guests who need more light.
Thanks once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    280
    124
    43
    23
    10
See reviews for
66
268
15
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bolton Lancs
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Stayed at the Castle the first weekend in February for the fourth time and again it didn't disappoint
Our room was nicely decorated and appointed although the paintwork was beginning to fade a little.Comfortable bed and good tea and coffee making facilities all helped to make things cosy
however there was an eccentricity with the bathroom in that the radiator there only worked whilst the hot water tap was turned on(extremely wasteful).
Breakfasts were good and hearty and set one up admirably for the day and the staff most obliging and friendly.
We dined on both nights in the restaurant and the choice was excellent had a fantastic starter of haddock and egg on a rosti on one night we both had the lamb chump the first night which whilst nicely cooked was rather lacking in flavour our second foray was much better.All of the staff were pleasant and helpful and there is a very good bar for beers etc .All in all we had a good weekend at the Castle and would recommend it.I do feel however that the colour scheme in the dining room does not now enhance the Dawson paintings as it did formerly

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

The castle hotel delivers excellence the moment you walk through the door .Friendly efficient staff,Lovely appointed bedrooms .There is a bar selling ales and scrumpy cider along with the usual wines and spirits.you can also eat in this area although on this occasion we ate in the restaurant the food choice was very good,cooked to perfection and in large proportions.there was no rush in service meaning a great experience.Just to say what a great little place Conwy is and what a fantastic castle it has.just 10minutes away is Llandudno which is worth a visit.

Room Tip: 210 was our room it was at the front but we were not disturbed by noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Stayed here for 1 night dinner b&b with a deal through Travelzoo in February as a treat for my partner's birthday. It was fantastic. Conwy is a lovely place to visit. The hotel was lovely, room was well decorated, clean etc. As everyone says on reviews this is an old inn and has creaking floorboards but this just adds to the charm. Staff at hotel were all very friendly. We had our evening meal at the hotel and it was delicious, one of the best meals we have had for a long time. Would definately recommend the Castle Hotel to anyone and hope to go and visit again next year, absolutely loved it!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We had a 2 night deal which included dinner. The receptionist was very welcoming and friendly. This is a quaint coaching inn , and the rooms are old a creaky, but that is part of it's charm. Our room was big and clean. Unfortunately the CD player was not working, but not a problem we were moved to another room immediately. The second room was also big and had a lovely view of the Castle, which was lovely lit up at night. Huge four poster bed. A corner bath tub, lots of hot water. It was very comfortable.
The dinner was nice , very large portions so good value for money, but not fine dining! Breakfast was fine, good selection of food , and cooked to order.
Overall a nice place to stay, if you get a deal, not sure we would be tempted to pay the rack rate.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plavin1906, Owner at Castle Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you very much for your positive review.

So pleased you enjoyed your stay in our characterful inn. Sorry about the Bose CD player not working - not sure why? Doesn't always play self recorded music depending on the format - much too technical for me!!

Keep an eye on our website for latest offers and packaged mini breaks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Bought a travelzoo voucher for a one night D, B&B. After reading a couple of reviews was a bit unsure. We arrived late on Thursday but reception changed our dinner booking noproblem. Lovely big room (108), complimentary champers was waiting. Dinner - what can I
we say - from start to finish a superb top wuality gastronomic delight! - wish we had arrived earlier and could have taken our time - every dish was top notch. Good nights sleep - bed nice, big and comfy. Breakfast - another excellent meal. In summary - this is one of the few hotels where we have no complaints - in fact cannot wait to go back, this time though it will be for two nights. Another plus - I enjoy cooking and the tomato soup was amazing - asked the chef for the recipe, got it, made it and it turned out very well.
To all at the Castle Hotel - well done and thanks

Room Tip: 108 is on the front - love big bay window looking onto the high street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plavin1906, Owner at Castle Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. So pleased you enjoyed room 108, it's one of my favourites too.

Obviously we try and offer a great selection of quality local food and usually get it spot on, which you clearly agree with. You're right, the tomato soup last week was fab and the chef who made it has had a 'pat on the back'!

Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We popped in for drinks on our way to our destination and wished we could have stayed longer.
Really charming bar, good hand pulled beer and helpful staff that were not over bearing.
The Castle Hotel is full of character with a good mix of the old and new.
Shame we couldn’t hang around for lunch.
If we’re ever back in the area we will definitely be calling in.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plavin1906, Owner at Castle Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you for "popping in". We have a great range of local and international beers along with 15 wines by the glass. To try them all, you'll have to stay next time!
We're pleased you were looked after.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hotel

Address: High Street, Conwy, Snowdonia National Park LL32 8DB, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Conwy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Conwy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
'Boutiquey' Town House Hotel in middle of World Heritage walled town. After many years of upgrades and restoration, this famous old Inn now offers contemporary styling mixed with 'arts & crafts' character. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hotel Conwy, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castle Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.