We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Treat Yourself!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Castle Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Castle Hotel to your Saves list
Castle Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   High Street, Conwy, Snowdonia National Park LL32 8DB, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Conwy
Certificate of Excellence
Mid Wales
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Treat Yourself!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We bought a Travelzoo deal for one night in a premium room with champagne and a four course dinner and what a fantastic deal it was! We arrived to a warm welcome from the staff and a cold bottle of champagne on ice in our beautiful room. The four course meal was absolutely gorgeous and I cannot praise the waiting staff highly enough, we were looked after splendidly and when we decided we couldn't manage a dessert an absolutely wonderful cheese board was delivered to our room for later. Nothing was too much trouble. The breakfast was fantastic with so much choice we dined like Kings. We will, without doubt, be back!

Room Tip: Although our room overlooked the High Street we were not in the least bit bothered by noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plavin1906, Owner at Castle Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you very much for your very nice review.

It's funny that some of the things the occasional guest struggles with or finds annoying - like identifying where hotel check in is located - or street noise from the medievel High Street - another guest has no problem and thinks our location is part of the charm of staying in the middle of a World Heritage site!

Very pleased you enjoyed your short break and look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

644 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    374
    174
    57
    25
    14
See reviews for
82
363
21
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We stopped one night at the Castle Hotel. We were given the wrong room but were swiftly moved when we pointed this out. I was glad as the first room was deep red and quite depressing. The second room looked out onto the high street and was very nice though again quite dark, lots of chocolate browns. The bed was not the most comfortable I have slept in. We had an evening meal in the bar which was delicious, very nice food and the service was very friendly, prompt and professional. The breakfast in the morning was lovely although the coffee in the pot was rather cold.
We really liked the Castle Hotel as it has the atmosphere of a good traditional coaching inn, warm and friendly but with a modern twist. Just a suggestion, when redecorating, please use lighter colours! It was too gloomy on a dark winters day. In saying that, I would stop again as a treat.

Room Tip: Rooms either look out onto the high street or the car park
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plavin1906, Owner at Castle Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you for your objective and friendly review.

Unfortunately, due to the age of the hotel, some of the rooms can be a little dark in the winter, due to quite small windows, so apologies if you struggled a bit with the light. And of course in these days of 'energy efficient' light bulbs, the problem can be exacerbated. We do carry additional lamps which we can put in rooms on request.
So pleased you enjoyed your food and our service during your stay - apologies for the not too hot coffee - we should be pre warming the coffee pots, but someone obviously slipped up in your case.
Look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

"Brings a lump to your throat".
Found this hotel one dreary winters day while scuttling back from Holyhead.
An absolute haven. Room upgrade offered, and accepted, giving a delightful view up and down the main street. Modern furnishings and everything as it should be. Also took advantage of the meal deal (definitely not the McDonald's kind) 3 courses and a bottle of decent wine for not much more than a pocket full of loose change. Breakfast also a delight and nothing too much trouble, commented on the delicious home made muesli and two minutes later the waiter came back with the recipe!
Visited again since, and this hotel has really become the bench mark for what we require from an establishment both in terms of comfort and customer service.
Oh, almost forgot to mention the squeaky floorboards, how original is that and certainly not something you will find in a Travelodge.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plavin1906, Owner at Castle Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thanks for the great review - so glad you found us, presumably after getting off the ferry in Holyhead?
It's always wonderful to read a review from someones who obviously 'gets us' and what we try to do here. We are what we are and definitely NOT a faceless corporate hotel, with no personality to the building or the people who work in it!
We obviously don't suit everyone........ some reviews on here prove that!.....but when it works for a guest , it can work 'in spades'!
Hope we see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Have had many lunches here as the food is always of the highest quality so when I saw a deal for B+B + 4 course meal and champagne on Travel Zoo ,booked immediately.Certainly not disappointed,we had a Premium room upgrade - lovely comfortable ,spacious room - only slight niggle were the cobwebs!Champagne was on ice when we arrived - perfect.Staff were really friendly and efficient,even when we misplaced our voucher,nothing was too much trouble.
Food was fantastic as expected from people who genuinely seem to care about cooking and provenance.Location is excellent, very central.
Would certainly stay here again,deal or no deal.If you like good food served in pleasant surroundings and friendly service give it a go.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plavin1906, Owner at Castle Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review.

So pleased you enjoyed our food and service as you expected to do from your previous visits. Sorry about the cobwebs! Being an old hotel, with lots of 'nooks and crannies', we can suffer from the occasional spider and dust can be a major challenge also! Housekeeping are usually very dilligent in their cleaning regimes, so apologies for not being 100% on this occasion.

Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heswall, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed for 1night using a travel zoo offer .We had an upgraded room which was very comfortable. Champagne was part of the deal and was the real thing served in our room,a lovely start to the evening Meal was excellent good choice 4 courses plus coffee,we had a great breakfast again lots of choice and served by friendly staff.Great value break no pool or fitness available

Room Tip: Premium room in front of hotel was quiet although on high street not a lot of traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plavin1906, Owner at Castle Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you for a nice positive review.
We're very pleased you enjoyed your stay and we looked after you. We have a great team of people who work with us here and it's nice when their efforts are recognised.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We fancied a short break in the depths of winter and wow did we find a superb place. Privately owned, attention to detail, super service, lovely bedroom, fabulous menu, in fact the lot! The hotel is very historic, and has original paintings and drawings by prominent victorian artists who worked around Conwy. The entrance hall has gorgeous Minton tiles on the floor and doors whose panels bear original paintings. The waiting staff in the dining room are well trained and efficient in all respects, conveying food promptly and very hot!

Room Tip: Rooms on the front can be troubled by early delivery to a grocery store further up the street but th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plavin1906, Owner at Castle Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
We're so very pleased you 'found' us and thank you for your lovely comments.
It's reading reviews like yours that remotivate us to do what we do best - look after our guests. Obviously being over 400 years old in parts, this famous old inn has great character and we are just custodians for a short period of time in the grand scheme of things. Please rest assured that we will take good care of her whilst we are able!

Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham Wales
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We have dined at the Castle many times but this was our first stay. I bought a voucher which was excellent value. I was a little concerned that the standard of the food might.be compromised on the table d'hôte menu but I needn't have feared we had an excellent four course meal with coffee. We also had a complimentary bottle of champagne in our room. Our room overlooked the street and had excellent ambience and facilities. If I see vouchers again I will buy one and might even be tempted to get more!

Room Tip: Can't comment on rooms but we prefer dining in the bar as it has a better atmosphere and is more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plavin1906, Owner at Castle Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you for your very nice review and your continuing good custom.
Always nice to hear from a regular visitor, as you are the people who keep us in business and help to employ over 50 locals all year round.
Look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hotel

Address: High Street, Conwy, Snowdonia National Park LL32 8DB, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Conwy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Conwy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
'Boutiquey' Town House Hotel in middle of World Heritage walled town. After many years of upgrades and restoration, this famous old Inn now offers contemporary styling mixed with 'arts & crafts' character. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, LateRooms, Priceline, Odigeo and Despegar.com so you can book your Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hotel Conwy, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castle Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.