We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wews to die for but very basic.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of YHA Conwy

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added YHA Conwy to your Saves list
YHA Conwy
Larkhill, Sychnant Pass Rd, Conwy, Snowdonia National Park LL32 8AJ, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
GreenLeadersBronze level
Mid Wales
1 review
“Wews to die for but very basic.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2010

Super views over the Conway estuary and Llandudno. Transport needed to reach it.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
conwy2, Manager at YHA Conwy, responded to this review, August 18, 2010
Hi!
Thanks for your comments. We checked and from the Conwy Train Station, pick the 27 bus ( make sure you asked for the YHA Conwy on Sychnant Pass Road.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    103
    15
    3
    1
See reviews for
110
42
71
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
paris
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2010

As a backpacker, that's the 1st time I've stayed in such a nice hostel ! No real negative points in fact... It's family oriented so don't expect the traditional mood of youth hostels. The self-catering aera is very clean ; no need to wash up pans prior use !

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
conwy2, Manager at YHA Conwy, responded to this review, August 11, 2010
Hi Lucie78

Great to hear from you. Hope you had a safe journey back home.

Best regards

Eric
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2010

I travelled with my 9 year old son and had an ensuite room. We had a lovely 2 day stay and he loved the huge garden surrounded by trees in which to play football with friends he had made. There is a large kitchen although this could do with more utensils. The room was big enough for 2 and there were places to relax. I enjoyed sitting in the garden in the evening and eating on the patio. We didn't try the hostel food this time. Overall I would recommend this hostel for families and others alike as it has a great location with lovely views and very friendly staff. Thank you.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
conwy2, Manager at YHA Conwy, responded to this review, August 11, 2010
Dear Shazwilky

Lovely to hear from you.
Done for the selfcatering kitchen, you were right! Next time must tried our Licensed Restaurant.

Eric
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2010

We stayed at the Hostel with seven young people and two members of staff. The staff on reception were very welcoming and were great with the young peope and staff. Nothing seemed to much for the staff and we were always being asked if we were okay or we needed anything else. The rooms, breakfast and packed lunches were great and the hostel was clean with lots of space to deliver our sessions with the young people.
Thank you we really did enjoy our stay.
Fran Schofield
Sefton Youth Service

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
conwy2, Manager at YHA Conwy, responded to this review, August 11, 2010
Look forward to welcome you again at YHA Conwy

Eric
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strasbourg, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2010

The hostel location offers a beautiful view on Conwy bay. Staff is nice and helpful. Facilities like the en suite, a cupboard you can lock in your room or the restaurant are really appreciated. YHA Conwy is an ideal base to travel around North Wales.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2010

I would love to just say a huge thank you to all the staff at the youth hostel - you were all very helpful and made our stay highly enjoyable! The hostel was very clean with great facilities, the prices were amazing and the surroundings were beautiful! Me and my friends had a superb trip and will definitely be visiting again - hopefully for much longer!
Thank you for this pleasure!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
conwy2, Manager at YHA Conwy, responded to this review, August 11, 2010
Dear gemma1310

It was great to have you girls at our centre. Next time if you stay longer check our promotions. We do have from time to time 3 nights for the price of 2 nights.

Regards

Eric
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2010

Excellent! All the staff are really freindly, and are willing to go out of their way. Food is fantastic, rooms were very clean(So was everywhere else for that matter). Definately would stay again!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
conwy2, Manager at YHA Conwy, responded to this review, August 4, 2010
Dear Strothow

Thank you very much and we look forward to your next visit.

Eric
YHA Conwy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to YHA Conwy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Conwy

Address: Larkhill, Sychnant Pass Rd, Conwy, Snowdonia National Park LL32 8AJ, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Conwy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Conwy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious modern hostel with views of Conwy's Castle, medieval walls and harbour. Conwy youth hostel is an ideal base for exploring North Wales. A great location for backpackers, families, youth organization and anyone wanting easy access to the coastal resorts of Llandudno and the Snowdonia National park. The hostel is situated on hill just outside the town walls of Conwy in large grounds with a summer house, barbecue and picnic area. There are spectacular views from the roof terrace of the ancient medieval town of Conwy and the North Wales coastline. The town centre with its pubs, tea shops and local attractions is just a 10 minute walk away. The Conwy Castle is well worth a visit and the quayside is great for sitting back and watching the yachts and fishing boats go by. Guest Rooms – Spacious, light, clean with security lockers and all room fully en-suite. Bar – Relax tasting the Local beer lounging in our new Bar or admire the view from the patio/terrace overlooking the Snowdonia National Park. Outside – Plenty of room for a game of football in our large garden, enjoy the peace and quiet of the summerhouse or eat al fresco in our picnic and BBQ areas. Common areas – Relax and enjoy the views from our observation lounge and roof terrace, chill out in front of the TV with the kids in our family area, challenge someone to a game of pool or table football in the games room or if you just want peace and quiet sit and read your favourite book in our quiet lounge. Meals – All our meals are delicious and great value for money. If after a hard days sightseeing you don’t feel like cooking enjoy one of our evening meal specialties such as Welsh lamb casserole or Lemon and Herb salmon. We even have a special children’s menu with old favourites like Fish Fingers and Chips and Bangers and Mash. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your YHA Conwy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
YHA Conwy Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage YHA Conwy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.