We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“October Half Term” 4 of 5 stars
Review of YHA Conwy

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added YHA Conwy to your Saves list
YHA Conwy
Larkhill, Sychnant Pass Rd, Conwy, Snowdonia National Park LL32 8AJ, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
GreenLeadersBronze level
Lancashire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“October Half Term”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Excellent location, clean & tidy, room reasonable size for type of accommodation & en suite. Good self catering kitchen, only complaint is the small size of the cups - take one of your own! Book early for holiday times, became full.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    103
    15
    3
    1
See reviews for
110
42
71
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Could'nt have had a better hostel ,the food was excelent ,nothing to much trouble for the staff,lovely and clean and very comfortable lounges also kitchen very modern,bit of a pull up the hill to the hostel,so stayed in at night, Sheila C.H.A Bradford

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Staying with a large group. Had a v good time and found hostel to be spacious with good views from dining areas. Staff were friendly, helpful and food was of a very good standard for a youth hostel. Good location for walking in Snowdon area. Would thoroughly recommend

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

YHA conwy is typical YHA hostel. The house is clean and they have homy common room, which has several board games. We used the private bunk room. The room is small but clean. The bathrooms were clean and the the hot water worked fine.

There is a nearby car park.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Had a great stay here with my walking friends from Bradford CHA. Have stayed here twice before and think this visit was the best. The food was excellent and some of our friends staying in B&Bs came in for the evening meal, all thought it was excellent. The accommodation is great although a bit small for 4 ladies sharing a room. Loved the views from the observatory too.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We stayed at the YHA hostel recently and found it more than met expectations; we have stayed in many hostels and would say this is one of the best; great views from the dining room; good breakfasts; friendly & helpful staff; liked the availability of en suite rooms and there's Cumberland Ale - what more could you ask for - less rain perhaps!

Paul

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

One of my favourite Youth Hostels. Friendly patient staff (even when I was faffing around a bit). Food excellent (catered for me being a veggie and supplied soya milk)
The observation tower is wonderful and I watched the sunset and 2 lots of fireworks.
YHA Conwy is within easy reach of the train station and is in the fasinating pretty town of Conwy, very historic with a classic castle and the wonderful Plas Mawr Elizabethan house. Easy to get to Llandudno with its wonderful pier and Bronze Age copper mines.
I arrived by and used public transport for my whole trip and travelled all over and the area and Anglesey; is well worth repeated visits

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to YHA Conwy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Conwy

Address: Larkhill, Sychnant Pass Rd, Conwy, Snowdonia National Park LL32 8AJ, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Conwy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Conwy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious modern hostel with views of Conwy's Castle, medieval walls and harbour. Conwy youth hostel is an ideal base for exploring North Wales. A great location for backpackers, families, youth organization and anyone wanting easy access to the coastal resorts of Llandudno and the Snowdonia National park. The hostel is situated on hill just outside the town walls of Conwy in large grounds with a summer house, barbecue and picnic area. There are spectacular views from the roof terrace of the ancient medieval town of Conwy and the North Wales coastline. The town centre with its pubs, tea shops and local attractions is just a 10 minute walk away. The Conwy Castle is well worth a visit and the quayside is great for sitting back and watching the yachts and fishing boats go by. Guest Rooms – Spacious, light, clean with security lockers and all room fully en-suite. Bar – Relax tasting the Local beer lounging in our new Bar or admire the view from the patio/terrace overlooking the Snowdonia National Park. Outside – Plenty of room for a game of football in our large garden, enjoy the peace and quiet of the summerhouse or eat al fresco in our picnic and BBQ areas. Common areas – Relax and enjoy the views from our observation lounge and roof terrace, chill out in front of the TV with the kids in our family area, challenge someone to a game of pool or table football in the games room or if you just want peace and quiet sit and read your favourite book in our quiet lounge. Meals – All our meals are delicious and great value for money. If after a hard days sightseeing you don’t feel like cooking enjoy one of our evening meal specialties such as Welsh lamb casserole or Lemon and Herb salmon. We even have a special children’s menu with old favourites like Fish Fingers and Chips and Bangers and Mash. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your YHA Conwy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
YHA Conwy Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage YHA Conwy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.