We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spell Binding!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Conwy Castle

Conwy Castle
Rosehill Street | Conwy, Conwy, Snowdonia National Park LL32 8AY, Wales
44 1492 592358
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 19 Attractions in Conwy
Type: Castles, Historic Sites, Museums, Cultural
Activities: City walk sightseeing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Built in the late 13th century and reputed to be haunted by a past resident, this picturesque castle was built for King Edward I and is a perfect example of the "concentric castle" design.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Spell Binding!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Yesterday was the most recent of many visits to Conwy and its exceptional castle. Every time I visit I learn something new; find a new nook; or discover a new viewpoint and/or perspective. Yesterday i enjoyed sharing some of these with my Grand Daughter. As a child its just great to explore.

As an Adult who enjoys history its great to admire the engineering that made the medieval castle the most advanced military technology of its day. The thing that makes Conwy stand out is the town walls and harbour and how they complete the story of how the castle dominated the surrounding area. its also great to see the excitement on the faces of your children.

As a Grumpy Old Man its just great to see your children run round after your Grand Children whilst you just relax and laugh at them. The views from the towers are wonderful. The climbs to the top are not easy and some children will not find them easy. Indeed some adults baulk at the prospect! But if you can grit your teeth and persevere the rewards are worth it.

One thing I did notice this time was the subtle, almost subliminal message of English bad / Poor Welsh indoctrination. I've never noticed it before. Come on CADR. We are all British now and it was 800 years ago. That said I envisage that one day I will maraud across the border and have to decline the opportunity to climb the towers because my knee's wont be able to get me up the stairs. I'll still take pleasure in waving to the smiling faces of my Grand Children at the top of the towers, And hopefully one day my Great Grand Children.

If you are going to Conwy you will obviously be going to visit the castle. If its your first visit i would order the guide book before you travel because it will give you a head start about where to go and what to do. If you are a visitor to the UK and wish to explore its history, do not miss Conwy and its castle. Widely regarded as one of the best preserved Medieval Town Wall and Castle Fortification in Europe.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

891 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    537
    304
    45
    5
    0
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Not good if you're scared of heights!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

The castle is very impressive and the story you read as you walk round is interesting. Possibly not the best place to visit if (like me) you are scared of heights though! The stairways are very narrow and steep up to the tower... I powered on through though... Mostly because there was a little 7 year old girl virtually running up the stairs whilst I was clinging to the walls for dear life... Anyway... if you're not a wimp and scared of heights like I am, I certainly would recommend it! :)

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conwy, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Excellent value for money - when I visited there was a reconstruction day and it really added life to the castle. Highly recommended

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Brilliant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Best castle around, views across the bay a must from towers. Conwy is a lovely town quiet and pretty. Castle has to be on visitors list.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhyl
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great day out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

Took the wife and kids to the castle yesterday. Very reasonable entrance prices and kids were given cards with things to find round the castle. They all loved exploring the castle and reading the info boards and the views were fantastic.
The steps are steep and one if the kids was a bit warey, not a major problem

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Conwy Castle also viewed

Conwy, Snowdonia National Park
Conwy, Snowdonia National Park
 
Conwy, Snowdonia National Park
 

Been to Conwy Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Conwy Castle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.