We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“J&H, thank you for sharing your home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Castlebank Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Conwy
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Castlebank Hotel
Save
You added Castlebank Hotel to your Saves list
Mount Pleasant, Conwy, Snowdonia National Park LL32 8NY, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Conwy
Boise, Idaho
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“J&H, thank you for sharing your home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

Jo & Henrique have made this 1850ish home into a marvelous B&B. As other reviewers have said, the views & location are terrific. Short walk through the town wall into the charming old town, restaurants & the castle.

We spent two nights here & would have liked to have spent a week. Very well-equipped & lighted lounge/study, cozy bar & lovely, classy breakfast area. Breakfast were terrific & the duties were shared by Henrique & an employee. Although the hotel was filled (9 rooms), it was very quiet & we felt like we were by ourselves.

Jo recommended the Castle Hotel's restaurant, which is terrific (see seperate review).

Terrific location for anything you wish to do in North Wales.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    295
    43
    10
    3
    2
See reviews for
44
203
17
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warrington, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Beautiful rooms, delicious breakfast and warm welcome. Pity the weather wasn't up to much. Would definitely recommend this Hotel .

Room Tip: Green room was perfect for couple although overlooked the back of Hotel, very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Manchester
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

My partner and I stayed here over Valentine's weekend '12.

Set right alongside the castle this bed and breakfast is in an ideal location for exploring the town of Conwy.

Very warm welcome, private car park and a truely beautiful and very clean hotel. We had the Venetian room on the first floor, very spacious, yet cosy, with tea/coffee making facilities, freeview TV and plenty of wardrobe space. Cleaned each morning to a good standard.

Breakfast was gorgeous and the dining area was very atmospheric, quick service and well cooked, it set us up for our day ahead.

The host was very knowledgeable about the local area, and even recommended a place to eat out one night, which turned out to be amazing!

Conwy itself was a bit of a let down, the castle is very imposing but really is the only thing there. A few shops to look around but mostly geared towards walkers/hiking. Wouldn't recommend the town for people with walking difficulties, as lots of hills and steps!

Overall, we would return to this lovely hotel and would happily advise all to visit!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrance
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

My wife and I are 70 and come from Los Angeles. What a great place. It is a 1 minute walk through a hole in the wall to enter Conwy. no car worries, they have a private lot.
Jo cooks a great hot breakfast, but the magic man is Henrique who does everything from serve, advise and entertain in the evening with great stories.
If you are going to Conwy-this is the place.
Make sure Henrique pours you a glass of port at the bar in the evening and have fun.

Room Tip: stay two nights and get a room on a lower floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in room 8, at the top of the hotel, in a lovely family room. Had a lovely nights sleep and a great breakfast. Friendly owner, lovely bar and a relaxing lounge with board games. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

My husband had a marvelous stay at the Castlebank. Our hotel room was big and well-appointed with amazing views of the castle, and even the ocean (we had great weather). The hotel is well-situated for exploring Conwy and other nearby towns. We didn't have a car, but public transportation was no problem since bus-stops and the train station are within easy walking distance of the hotel. Breakfast every morning (served by owner Henrique himself--great guy) was terrific, offering options for people with big appetites as well as vegetarians and cold cereal-types. The hotel is homey, comfortable, and a welcoming place to return to after tramping around Northern Wales. I highly recommend Castlebank and I can't wait till we make it back!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

We stayed at the Castlebank hotel for two nights and enjoyed every minute of our stay there and in Conwy. We arrived early on our motor bike but Henrique allowed us to leave our gear in the lounge till checking in time. When we returned from a look around the town it was to find that he had kindly taken all our stuff to our room for us. And what a room it was ! We didn't have much of a view but the room itself more than made up for that. It was beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean.The hotel is very homely and welcoming with two comfortable lounge areas with lots of books, games and even a telescope to look at the views. Our breakfast was delicious, freshly cooked to order and piping hot with endless top ups of fresh coffee. There is ample private parking, always a bonus, and an easy walk into the town centre where there are lots of bars and cafes. Henrique and his wife Jo have obviously put a lot of love and thought into the Castlebank and we wish them luck for the future with it . It's delightful and we really hope to return there some time.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Castlebank Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castlebank Hotel

Address: Mount Pleasant, Conwy, Snowdonia National Park LL32 8NY, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Conwy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Conwy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Castlebank Hotel Conwy, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castlebank Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.