We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"The Lodge": nice place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lodge Conwy

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Lodge Conwy to your Saves list
The Lodge Conwy
Tal y Bont, Conwy, Snowdonia National Park LL32 8YX, Wales   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
33% Saving *Dinner, B&B*
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Conwy
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Wullersdorf
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“"The Lodge": nice place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This June we stayed for 4 nights at "The Lodge". Rooms are quite comfortable and offer every thing you need for your stay.
As we had a time of really cold temperatures, Neil (the manager) offered us a heater that turned temperature wihin our room to absolutely comfortable ones. In our sense best of this hotel is that everyone here is absolutely relaxed and gives you the feeling of being really welcome. Every question we had, we got a really good answer.
Breakfast has been served on all our wishes. Getting weather-report and tipps for the day has been just one of the things making us feel very well.
The restaurant of "The Lodge" is one thing you should not miss. Delicious food, vegetables coming directly from the garden, ...
We enjoyed our stay and recommend this hotel to every one planning a trip to Conwy / Snowdown and its environment.
Best regards to Diane, Neil and their team from Austria, Ingrid und Werner

Room Tip: Just choose the room you want - anyone is OK.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    40
    8
    7
    5
See reviews for
21
69
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Conwy, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Called for Sunday Lunch. Lovely food but found the dining room noisey and clautrophobic. It was a great shame as we were regular diners with the previous owners but they always used the other dining room.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

What a fantastic time my husband and I had with our eldest daughter and son-in-law with Neil and Diane at their truly amazing hotel. The executive suites where we stayed were of the finest quality you could imagine. The rooms were decorated and furnished to the highest standard possible. The cleanliness was nothing short of perfect. Very comfortable beds. The food was of very fine quality, and lots of it. All of the staff made us all feel very welcome and could not do enough for us. A great place to stay for a relaxing week-end in a beautiful area of Wales

Room Tip: All the rooms are accessible for all guests even with mobility problems. All the rooms are of the hi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

this Hotel with a superior rating. It IS! Owners Diane and Neil have created from an older hotel a perfect place to relax and to enjoy fine fine food. We spent two afternoons just talking with them. Their plans for adding to the Hotel went down with the credit crunch. Too bad. But they have made the VERY best of the economy. The staff was also superior. Friendly and helpful. Ate two dinners in the hotel. BOTH were simply wonderful. I have eaten in many places in my life and encountered here two "new to me" creations.
The attention to detail(s) is what I believe makes it so attractive. Do not be "put off" by the appearance from the street. Walk in.
The rooms are not new but comfortable. Being a smoker, Diane pointed just outside my door a railing to use as my "smoking table." So convenient! They have established two areas outside under umbrellas and shade trees smoking areas and places to simply kick back and enjoy.
Would go back to stay longer if the chance presented itself.
Diane and Neil...you know who I really am. :-) Have a fine summer 2013!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Thank you to the staff at this hotel, the place was clean and the meals were excellent. THe Staff made the holiday so relaxing and they were so friendly and couldnt do enough for us. We met some Americans from Utah and spent time with them explaining some of our English customs. The weekend was absolutely brill and I would recommend this hotel to everyone without reservation.
Thank you so much everybody

Room Tip: WE had room 10 and it was marvelous to walk out in the sunshine of the balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We stayed in the cottage for 3 nights over the weekend. We were in the area for a wedding, so a number of rooms had also been taken up by wedding guests.

We had the Cottage, which was lovely. It was very clean and well kept, although fixtures and fittings appeared to be slightly dated. The only down side was, when the Sun came up, which was very welcome during our visit, you got up, because the light flooded through the Curtains.!!
The option of breakfast was available, however, at £8.50 per head, we decided to be economical, and provide our own.

Hotel staff were very friendly, and informative, providing us with local information to help us get the best out of our visit.

I was under the knowledge that we were getting a reduced rate, however at £160 per night, I believe this was excessive for what you got. I also had the chance to view the Executive room (£120) and standard (£85). Since this was the reduced rates for the room, I would be very reluctant to pay anymore.

The bar and restaurant looked nice, but were empty over the weekend, other than the wedding guests meeting on the Friday for a meal, which was reasonable 'Pub Grub'.

To conclude, for a 3 star, the Hotel was good, better than other 3 stars I have stayed prior, but slightly overpriced.

I would stay again, but, as other reviews have pointed out, only with some kind of Deal (groupon etc)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lodge5243, Owner at The Lodge Conwy, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
May we thank you for your recent valued comments, it is good to know that our staff and standards are appreciated. May we however take this opportunity to clarify some of your comments. You were mis-informed by the bride as no discount was offered as this has to be balanced with the fact that with all the guests being at a wedding at a different venue, this has an impact on our restaurant and bar sales, which is also the reson why we appeared quiet. The "Pub Grub" was dictated to us by the bride, she chose the menu and the price point, but having said this, everything was home made and we had numerous positive comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

The hotel was extremely friendly, Neil, Diane and all the staff were really welcoming. The rooms were very clean and tidy. We were attending a wedding in Wales and nor knowing the area at all the staff were weel informed of where to go and see if we had the time. The hotel was recommended to us by the Bride and her Husband and we were very pleased with her recommendation. I would advise anyone going to Wales to go to the lodge.

Room Tip: rooms the the south side are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lodge Conwy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge Conwy

Address: Tal y Bont, Conwy, Snowdonia National Park LL32 8YX, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Conwy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Conwy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your The Lodge Conwy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge Conwy Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lodge Conwy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.