We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“weekend away” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Lodge Conwy

Save Saved
You added The Lodge Conwy to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Lodge Conwy
Tal y Bont, Conwy, Snowdonia National Park LL32 8YX, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 hotels in Conwy
west midlands UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“weekend away”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

When we booked this hotel we were not sure we had done the right thing
But on arrival being greeted by christian names all fears started to vanish and the staff were so friendly The room was very clean and had everything we needed for a weekend stay
Both the breakfast and evening meals were first class
will look forward to staying there again next time we are in the area

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    46
    26
    5
    4
    5
See reviews for
14
50
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
wales
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Stayed at the lodge on a Groupon deal for 2 nights this week. First of all,when I booked over the phone the lady I spoke to was lovely, friendly and informative, I was told about breakfast being £5pppn-no problem.
When we arrived first impression was how clean the Lodge is, second was how friendly everyone is.
Checking in was a breeze and when we got to our room it was SPOTLESS. The 3 couse meal included in the Groupon price didn't have massive choice but what we had was fresh,home made, piping hot on hot plates and plentiful.
The shower was great-no prob with water pressure or temp.
Slept well on both nights.
Breakfast on both mornings had a good choice was fresh and again served on hot plates (and not the kind of sitting under a lamp, hot)
The tea at breakfast actually had enough tea bags in the pot to still be good after topping up with hot water!
Would I have paid £296 for 2 nights(if the groupon full price quote is correct) ? No
Would I be happy to go back if I could get a good price? YES. It would be the first place I would check when going back to North Wales,

Room Tip: We had room 7-lovely aspect over looking a garden and patio area
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Recently stayed here for 2 nights at the Lodge in Conwy. The owners were very friendly and hospitable. Rooms were very clean and the food was excellent,the location is great as you are close to Conwy centre with attractions such as Conwy Castle and not far from the very scenic Betws y coed - also not far from Llanndudno. Would definitely recommend!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

We stayed in August using a groupon voucher. We had an amazing stay. The owners and staff were all extremely freindly and helpful and would go out of their way to make you feel welcome.
Food was also amazing all homemade and to a high standard. The pictures do not do the place justice! A great place to stay and would recomend to friends, a great base!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chalfont Saint Peter, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

We came to The Lodge Hotel for four nights (KGB Deals offer). The owner and all the staff were very friendly and helpful. We needed appointment with a doctor for our daughter and they arranged everything within 1 hour. They were very welcoming and giving us amazing service every day. We had brilliant three courses dinner on the first evening. The owner advised us what are the nearest tourist attractions and what was the most important some practical information regarding car parks, best times to visit attractions or ways of avoiding long waiting. Overall it was great place to stay and close to all nice places to visit.
FROM ALL OF US (10 people) BIG THANK YOU FOR YOUR HOSPITALITY AND SUPPORT.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Somerset
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

We stayed for two nights in July, using a Groupon Discount voucher, which entitled us to a double room (but breakfast not included - £5 per person per breakfast additional charge) with dinner on the first of the two nights. The list price was £296.90, but we paid £129.00, or £139.00 if you include the breakfasts.

The dinner was excellent - good quality ingredients, well-prepared and attractively served. The waiting staff, both at dinner and breakfast, were very helpful and accommodating and entertaining to talk to.

The breakfast was substantial and good value at £5.00 per person.

The accommodation is in motel-style lodges, which had all the facilities you would normally need, although it has to be said that the furnishing and decorations were a little dated and the walls separating the cabins were rather thin.

While we feel we had a good deal for the price we paid, our views might have been different if we had paid the full list price.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

My mum & I recently stayed here for 2 nights & must say, after looking at photographs, we were a little unsure, however they really do not do the place justice.

We arrived to friendly faces & throughout our stay, staff really couldn't do enough to help, even the housekeepers offered to help us with our luggage.

Room was a little on the small side but not too much of a problem, we couldn't believe how immaculately clean the room was. Had adequate facilities which were replenished on second day. Room had a large window with a lovely view of the hills.

I had the best sleep ever here, bed was comfortable with crisp, clean sheets & plenty of plump pillows. We did not hear any other guests & as room was set back from the main road, we did not hear any traffic.

Breakfast was lovely, a choice of cereals followed by a cooked breakfast, enough to set you up for the day. We ate at a local pub a few yards down the road & food was amazing.

Hotel is ideally located, we visited Llandudno, Welsh mountain zoo, Betws-y-coed, Snowdon Mountain & The Great Orme, nearby although we did drive past a few other places of interest.

We are glad we found this place & would definately visit again, in fact we did ask if we could stay an extra night but they were fully booked.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Lodge Conwy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge Conwy

Address: Tal y Bont, Conwy, Snowdonia National Park LL32 8YX, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Conwy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 hotels in Conwy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your The Lodge Conwy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge Conwy Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lodge Conwy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.