We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“okay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Castle Tea Gardens

Castle Tea Gardens
27 Castle Street, Conwy, Snowdonia National Park LL32 8AY, Wales (Formerly castle tea garden)
01492 583 888
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 49 Restaurants in Conwy
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Sandwiches, Tea Room
Restaurant details
Trinidad
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“okay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

Had a wonderful cup of tea here but the scones were not the best. Just okay.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    14
    6
    0
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Pricey”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

The food is veeeery nice, but prices are quite high for the size of portions. had a 2 course dinner and was hungry afterwards

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Quaint with great views (from the terrace)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

The tea gardens have a lovely feel and are very clean and tidy. The staff are well organised. However, although, polite when we entered, I found the lady who served me to be a little stand offish but this may be just general for people in this area of Wales, as she wasn't the first in Conwy.

The views from the upper terrace were fantastic - looking over the town walls at the Conwy Estuary. (You have to be careful which direction you are looking though, as my partner was told off by a miserable old man for looking towards his garden!)

I had a breakfast and so did my daughter. Unfortunately the bacon was extremely hard and over cooked, but my partner had a ham and cheese panini which was fine. It would not put me off going again, but I would mention how I would like my bacon.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Okay for a quick bite”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

Upon leaving the castle, we stopped here for take-away sandwiches for our trip to Caernarfon. The service was adequate - a bit rushed and impatient. Our cheddar/pickle sandwiches were stuffed full..very hearty sandwich, and tasty.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good Sandwiches”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

We stopped here to grab a sandwich to take with us . They were very busy but got our food to us very quickly.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Castle Tea Gardens also viewed

Conwy, Snowdonia National Park
Conwy, Snowdonia National Park
 
Conwy, Snowdonia National Park
Conwy, Snowdonia National Park
 

Been to Castle Tea Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castle Tea Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.