We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, friendly and relaxing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coed Mawr Hall and Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Conwy
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Coed Mawr Hall and Cottages
Rowen | Conwy, Conwy, Snowdonia National Park LL32 8YN, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Stroud, Gloucestershire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful, friendly and relaxing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2011

We arrived at Coed Mawr Cottages and immediately slowed down and relaxed. Coed Mawr enjoyes a peaceful setting with fabulous views and countryside trails that begin in the grounds. Wildlife was everywhere (including pheasants who enjoyed zig zagging in front of our car!) and the lambs were taking their first steps in the local fields.

Ty Canol, our cottage, was very comfortable and beautifully clean. The owners had thoughtfully provided doggie treats, bowls and a bed for our four legged friends. There were treats for the humans too which were gratefully received!

Thank you to Craig and Ian for a lovely stay (and also to a very friendly woman whose name we didn't catch).

We hope to return very soon!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    48
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
19
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochdale, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2011

This place was such a wonderful find. We were working in Llandudno at the theatre and travelled back every night to the most amazing countryside and setting. We had a fabulous time. The cottage we stayed in was perfect. The rooms were lovely, clean and tidy. I will be going back for a holiday soon with my niece.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2010

This is the second time I have stayed at Coed Mawr Hall, last time in the cottages which were lovely and this time in the main house B&B. The room was absolutely beautiful, the decor so decadent you just never wanted to leave! The bed also gave me one of the soundest night sleep in a long while. The roll-top bath just had to be used for a long bubble bath of course!
We visited the Dutch Pancake House twice we loved it so much, it is only round the corner. But the lovely English breakfast served to us each morning gave us a good start to the day, Chef Craig lent himself well to his perfectly poached fresh eggs. We also visited Bodysgallen Spa for the day which was superb and very close, also a spot of shopping in Llandudno which had every shop you could think of!

We shall definately return, and I urge everyone to head to Coed Mawr as it truly is a place for peace and harmony, to forget all your troubles and relax.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhyl, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2010

We had intended celebrating our anniversay in Malta but due to the Eyjafjallajokull volcano we had a wonderful holiday much closer to home. Arriving at Coed Mawr Hall & Cottages our initial reaction was 'Wow'. We were then greeted by Craig & Ian & their delightful dogs Dewi & Llinos. After taking in the view we were shown into Ty Gosa which is the cottage adjoing the Hall itself - Simply Beautiful. There was a greeting basket of wine & sweets but as it was our Anniversary we had brought some champagne with us. Our hosts conjured up some champagne flutes & we celebrated out in the gardens toasting our good forture in choosing such a spectacular place. As we wanted to walk Ian & Craig gave us directons for one of their favourite walks which took you up to an isolated chapel, beautiful views of the Conwy Valley.
Next morning we enjoyed an al fresco breakfast of duck & chicken eggs supplied from Ian & Criag's own coop whilst gazing occross the valley to the hills & beyond - idyllic. Followed by another walk from Trefriw to Llanrhychwyn & on to lake Geirionydd. On our return we were invited to tour the newly renovated hall & we promised ourselves that we would return in the Autumn. October saw our return to Coed Mawr B & B & a stay in the luxurious accommodation sleeping on an oh so comfortable four poster bed. The views were still stunning but with the added bonus of Autmn colouring & two beautiful horses - Craig & Ian's pride & joy grazing in the paddocks below. Such a beautiful place to stay & can't reccommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2010

I recently stayed in the main house at Coed Mawr and had the most blissful time.

The location is stunning; incredible views from the house and beautiful walks on your doorstep. Ian and Craig are the perfect hosts, welcoming yet unobtrusive and happy to go out of their way to ensure you have a wonderful stay. They are very knowledgeable about the local area, i would advise picking their brains should you want advice about what to get up to during your stay!

The house itself is beautiful, immaculately decorated and spotless. Beds are enormous and difficult to leave, they're so comfortable!

I spent a glorious week exploring the local area, horse riding, visiting some wonderful local restaurants and enjoying a week of much needed peace and quiet. Hugely reluctant to leave and already planning a return trip.

Thanks guys for the perfect short break!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2010

We recently spent a long weekend at Coed Mawr Hall and had the most wonderful time. Ian and Craig were so welcoming and our room was absolutely stunning. The views are breathtaking and we had fantastic food everywhere we went. Can't wait to go back again!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2010

Just returned from a week at Ty Gosa at Coed Mawr. Ian and Craig were fab hosts, very friendly and welcoming. There was a basket of goodies waiting for us which we thought was a lovely touch. The cottage was beautiful and very well equipped with everything you could think of including freshly laid hens eggs.

The location is unbeatable – we had two dogs with us and the walks you can do from the back of the house are great. Venturing a bit further afield it’s only 15 minutes drive into Betws Y Coed and loads of walking and biking etc.

I can't stress the levels of customer service of the owners, our washing machine broke during our stay and Craig came round and collected our washing and brought it back washed and dried!

We had a look around the Bed and Breakfast while we were there and we will definitely be back to stay (minus the dogs!).

If you are looking for peace and tranquillity, a romantic getaway or an outdoors extravaganza then look no further.

Good luck Ian and Craig, we’re already looking forward to a return visit next year.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Coed Mawr Hall and Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coed Mawr Hall and Cottages

Address: Rowen | Conwy, Conwy, Snowdonia National Park LL32 8YN, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Conwy
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Specialty lodging in Conwy
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ty Gosa, Ty Pella and Ty Canol make up Coed Mawr Cottages. They were once the ballroom but were converted into self-catering cottages in 2002. Coed Mawr Hall was built around 1810, it is approached by a 3/4 mile long private drive from the Conwy to Rowen road. It possesses extensive grounds and commands a fine view of the valley below and the mountains beyond. The cottages consist of three WTB 5 star, self catering cottages. They are tastefully furnished and well equipped. Each cottage enjoys shared use of the delightful rear landscape garden and its own secluded patio area. As guests you are also free to relax on the well tended front lawns. Positioned centrally for the coast, countryside and the mountains. An excellent area for walking, mountain biking and bird watching. Lake, river and sea fishing are all available locally. Nearby golf course, Tree-top walking,dry ski slope and horse riding. These cottages are popular with groups and families alike. It is also possible to accept visitors with restricted mobility. There are no steps at the rear of the cottages, although there are stairs with robust handrails to the first floor. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Coed Mawr Hall And Cottages Conwy, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coed Mawr Hall and Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Coed Mawr Hall and Cottages to your Saves list