We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“yummy cream tea” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pen-y-Bryn Tearooms

Pen-y-Bryn Tearooms
28 Lancaster Square, Conwy, Snowdonia National Park LL32 8HT, Wales (Formerly Pen Y Bryn Tearooms)
01492 596445
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 46 restaurants in Conwy
Cuisines: Tea Room
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“yummy cream tea”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

stopped off at Conwy on an open top bus trip. Popped in for tea or coffee and ended up trying the Welsh cream tea. MMM yummy. Fluffy scones, jam, clotted cream and some Barra Breith, made by the owner's mother. Locals were popping in. Slow service, but we had plenty of time so did not storm out, as some folk did.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

69% Recommend
    20
    25
    6
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
“ripped off”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

orderd sunday lunch it came with two tiny roasties and very little gravey asked could we have more and was told there was nothing left. The beef was the burnt end that was left, the bit you give to your dog when you have cut what you can of it. We did complaine but the girl didnt care she had taken our money. We had three childeren with us thinking we would give them a treat instead of cooking in the caravan. would not go back because we were rippppp offff

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“God only knows!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012 via mobile

Gave up waitiing for a simple sandwich and, tea. After 30 minutes had to catch a bus in hurry, left a jacket and 15 pounds for a meal that hadn't, arrived. Contacted them to get the jacket posted, which they promised. Never saw the jacket again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abergele
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Overpriced, average food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Lovely setting, but I do think for the price, of the food they should do waitress/waiter service. Wish they would change their menu more often too. Staff should wear a uniform of some kind, you have no idea if folk are staff or not!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle under Lyme
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Long wait and bad service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Had this tea room recomended to us so were looking forward to it. Gave our order, after about half an hour 2 out of the three meals we ordered arrived, one burnt Rarebit, no sign of the other rarebit which finally arrived some 10 minutes after the first two, in which time 3 other tables who arrived after us had been served, not even an apology from the waitress. Seemed to be one cook and one waitress for the whole the place, not somewhere I would vist or recommend.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pen-y-Bryn Tearooms also viewed

Conwy, Snowdonia National Park
Conwy, Snowdonia National Park
 
Conwy, Snowdonia National Park
Conwy, Snowdonia National Park
 

Been to Pen-y-Bryn Tearooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pen-y-Bryn Tearooms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.