We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from Home without the washing up” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Abergavenny
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Guest House
Save
You added The Guest House to your Saves list
2 Oxford Street, Abergavenny NP7 5PR, Wales   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 28 Abergavenny B&B and Inns
Germany
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Home from Home without the washing up”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2009

This was my second visit to The Guest House and we were welcomed as friends .Jen and Kevin and all the staff were friendly, the rooms well appointed with everything you need to make the stay a good experience, even a corkscrew!!. The breakfast is freshly cooked for each guest, no food that has been left in hotplates to congeal. The choice is endless. Nothing is too much trouble. I would like to congratulte Jen and Kevin on attaining the 4 star rating it is well deserved. I can wholeheartedly recommend the Guest House for excellent value and more. It's like visiting friends as you feel so welcome and Jen and Kevin always find time to chat and see how your day has gone. See you next year

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    307
    60
    6
    4
    5
See reviews for
68
132
51
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2009

My partner and I Paul stayed with Jenny & Kevin for a duration of 2 nights, from 21st to 23rd November 2009. From first speaking with Jenny over the phone a month before the booking, I had a feeling the trip would be something special...and boy was i right!! We stayed in Blorenge, the prettiest B & B we have had the pleasure of staying in... and from when we stepped through the door we were made to feel like we had arrived home! Jenny had even gone to the trouble of putting a birthday banner across the wardrobe and a birthday card in our room as it was Paul's 30th Birthday. From the slightly mad Parrots Alfie and Sammy, to the little things like the Q'tips in the en-suite! The whole place was spotless,and breakfast was outstanding.. We were offered the option of a later breakfast (which was greatly appreciated)as we had attended a Ghost hunt the previous night and arrived back at the Guesthouse approx 4.30am.. In true Welsh style the weather was pretty awful, but it was late November and to be expected.. We will 100% be re-visiting our new found friends Jenny and Kevin asap, hopefully summer 2010 so we can take advantage of the amzing l;ocal scenery and walks. We would whole-heartedly recommend the Guesthouse to all and sundry as a friendly, hostipable, welcoming place to stay!!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2009

We stayed at the Guest House during our first visit to the Abergavenny Food Festival which was perfect as it took a slow 10 minute stroll to get to in the town centre from the house. We were made to feel very welcome from the moment we arrived until we left. The rooms are clean and the breakfasts are fresh and delicious. I really enjoyed jenny's special recipe frittata that she kindly made for me one morning. Not forgetting my special blue egg! on another day. The animals are gorgeous, well cared for and part of the family. Jenny and Kevin are always willing to give advice on anything you need such as taxi's, recommended places to eat etc. While we were there Jenny phoned around and found an emergency dentist for one of the guests, she is a real diamond! Thank you Jenny, Kevin, David and the girls for making our stay so enjoyable. The Food Festival was amazing too, see you next year with our mums!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jprince73
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2009

I was staying in Abergavenny for a week-long driving course, and had been recommended 'The Guest House' by my instructor, Chris Norman of Learntodriveinaweek.co.uk. The welcome i received was fantastic, Kevin welcomed me warmly and i was quickly booked into my room.

The Guest House really does buck the trend of stuffy b&b's, i was staying for five nights and felt totally at home from day one. The rooms are clean and warm, the free wi-fi really made a difference by letting me catch up on my emails whilst away from work.

The friendly atmosphere doesn't end when you leave The Guest House, Abergavenny is a truly wonderful place with some of the most friendly people you will meet with some stunning scenery. Eating within the Town Centre is a dream, with friendly efficient staff in every shop and cafe you stop at.

I wholeheartedly recommend both Abergavenny and The Guest House to anyone traveling through South Wales. 10/10 down the line.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2009

Jenny and Kevin are the most welcoming hosts I have ever come across when staying in a Guest House. They cannot do enough for you, and Jenny in particular is a great character. The breakfasts are superb with fresh free-range eggs from their own hens, and the location is good for Abergavenny town centre. Alfie and Sammy, the two parrots, are amusing breakfast companions, and there are dogs, cats, pigs, hens, ducks and birds in an aviary to add interest to your stay.

Jenny and Kevin obviously enjoy what they do, and it really shows. They are an example to everyone who provides accommodation in the UK.

I would stay there again, like a shot!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2009

Excellent from the moment we arrived. Clean, food good hospitality was excellent. The 2 parrots were fantastic and the dog did not smell!!
Had a great time would not hesitate to return again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
firenze
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2009

Don't like pets? So do not come here. Don't like friendly hosts? Go somewhere else.
Jenny and Kevin welcome is really friendly and warm. My reservation was for a three-night stay in the Rholben room (60£/night): it was lovely, romantic, very quite and clean. I cannot say nothing about birds and chickens noise, because Rholben's window is on the street.
I really enjoyed the pets: I met a cat, a lovely white dog and parrots Sammie and Alfie (Sammy is able to imitate a mobile ringing - so funny!).
I read in a comment about bad smells in the dining room: actually, all I smelled during my stay was perfume.
What I had for breakfast was: pancakes (fluffy and delicious), smoked salmon and eggs, kippets (Jenny joked with me and the other guests about my first time eating fish at 7:30 in the morning! - anyway, kippets were fresh and delicious too).
I really hope to come back and have a longer stay in Wales: Welsh people I met were friendly, warm and very kind!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Guest House

Address: 2 Oxford Street, Abergavenny NP7 5PR, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Monmouthshire > Abergavenny
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Abergavenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Jenny's Guest House you are invited to indulge in one of our seven guest rooms, all of varying sizes to suit your needs. We are within 7 minutes walk of Abergavenny town centre, we offer secure off-road parking, a varied breakfast menu catering for all tastes, and we even have our own mini-zoo complete with chickens, pigs and rabbits! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Guest House Abergavenny, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.