We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Flavour of the month!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of GUrkhar Corner

GUrkhar Corner
10 Nevill Street, Abergavenny NP7 5AD, Wales
1873 855800
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 74 Restaurants in Abergavenny
Cuisines: Asian, Indian, Nepali
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Flavour of the month!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Obviously THE new place to go as it was full and they had to turn people away. There was also a steady flow of takeaway custom too and the phone hardly stopped. The menu was short (particularly mains) and not inspiring however when the food arrived it was tasty and different. We ate the lot.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    26
    6
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
wales
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Something different to try”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Went out with the girls from work a leaving party we went early after work, the restaurant soon filled up. I would not normally go to this type of resaurant as I like plain food but I certainly found something to order.Lamb shank was to die for very very tasty...Would definately go back .When we left it was full and still people coming in, please try it here well worth a visit, there is somethig for everyone.NO CHIPS thank goodness! but plenty of rice .....varied menu, fabulous service well done. PEOPLE of Abergavenny Please TRY HERE........

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Looking forward to returning!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Dined on sunday evening with a friend who had eaten here before. The menu choices were very varied and it was hard to decide what to eat as it all sounded very interesting. I had chicken with chilli and tomato for a starter, which was spicy and hot but delicious. I normally don't like very hot foods but this was fine and not too hot. For main course I selected the prawns which were flavoured with orange, ginger and garlic and served with seafood rice. The food was amazing. I could taste all the flavours and it was delightful. I could see other diners were also enjoying their meals too. The service was excellent and the waiters were very helpful and friendly. The house merlot was also very good. We are looking forward to returning to this super restaurant. The price was very reasonable and made it an affordable and enjoyable evening out.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raglan, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food, well worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

My wife and I were keen to try Gurkha food and were pleased to see that the Gurkha Corner had opened nearby in Abergavenny. We were certainly not disappointed, as the food was of excellent quality and very tasty. If you like curry, this restaurant is definitely worth a try. The service was faultless, even though it was a busy Saturday night. The welcome was also warm, and we will definitely be back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

I visited the Gurkha Corner last night with three friends, all of whom said would be returning with their partners. The service was genuinely friendly, nothing was too much trouble. We asked for extra chilli in one of the main dishes and were advised to ask for any extras or amendments to the menu when we visited again.

I chose the pork dumplings to start and a slow cooked lamb and spinach dish for my main. I would go back tonight for more of the same if I could! I can't rate this restaurant highly enough and I can't wait for my next visit.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed GUrkhar Corner also viewed

Abergavenny, Monmouthshire
Abergavenny, Monmouthshire
 
Abergavenny, Monmouthshire
Abergavenny, Monmouthshire
 

Been to GUrkhar Corner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage GUrkhar Corner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.