We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We could have been in France” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Sugarloaf Vineyard

The Sugarloaf Vineyard
Pentre Lane, Abergavenny NP7 7LA , Wales
44 (0)1873 853066
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 15 Attractions in Abergavenny
Attraction details
Workington, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“We could have been in France”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Had a lovely hour sitting eating cheese platter and trying out the wines - too hot to look round vines -will have to return to do that. Bought 3 bottles of wine - they're much nicer than we expected British wine to be and reasonably priced. Also bought some yummy sounding cheese....sadly left in father-in-law's fridge - hope he enjoys it!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    6
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“On a hot sunny day, simply stunning”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We were down in Abergavenny for our anniversary, and after a leisurely breakfast, decided to visit the Sugarloaf Vineyard. I suppose we were more than fortunate in that it was a bright, hot, sunny day, so that the lunch of local cheeses, bread, olives and onion relish, accompanied by a glass of the vineyard's own wine, sitting outside on the terrace shaded by some of the vines, was simply idyllic. The undivided attention of two King Charle's spaniels whilst there was still food on the plate was also quite amusing.

The vineyard is not large, so the self-guided tour does not take too long, and it's interesting to see the different forms of viticulture used by the vineyard. The views over the Usk valley are fabulous. The little brook that flows thriugh the vineyard is ideal for cooling your feet, after the tour and a fun for small children to paddle in.

We left well stocked with samples to help us remember this pleasant spot, if we continue to have a summer and I can ever get out the barbecue!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Wines to enjoy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We made a point of calling into The Sugarloaf Vineyard on our day out as we haven't been since originally finding them back in 2007 on a drive out when new to the area - just due to a hectic life.

Anyway, Hubby picked up their Hallow Meadow Dry 2011 to try and while I appreciate there was two of them drinking it it didn't last long, they really did enjoy it and I do believe we'll be visiting again in the not to distant future for a few more bottles.

We didn't stay for anything to eat or a tour on this visit mainly because we were heading for Llanwrtyd Wells and a dinner reservation, though there were a few things on the menu that I would quite like to try and cheese board with olives seemed a lovely way to just relax and take in the view on a summers afternoon with a glass of wine.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hull,england
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Excellent cheese platter”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

A little surprised to see signs for a vineyard in Wales! We stopped off here for a glass of vino and a rather splendid cheese platter to share, following climbing Sugarloaf mountain. A beautiful May afternoon and quite a crowded outside dinning area. Maybe a group visit to the wine fermenting areas which are open to tours. we really enjoyed the platter, hearty chunks of bread with a good selection of chees, olives and chutney. Side salad of mixed leaves , all served on a traditional wooden board. I had a tea whist the wife had a glass of white which she said was surprisingly very good.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melksham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Excellent Wines”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We have stopped here a couple times after our walks up Sugarloaf Mountain. The cream tea is a good motivator when you are struggling back down the mountain. Had to purchase a couple bottles of dry white (can't visit a vineyard and go home empty handed)! We haven't had the vineyard tour yet, maybe next time. A great place to stop and recover, highly recommended.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Sugarloaf Vineyard also viewed

Abergavenny, Monmouthshire
 
Abergavenny, Monmouthshire
 

Been to The Sugarloaf Vineyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sugarloaf Vineyard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.