We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“things have changed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Coffee#1

Coffee#1
14 High Street, Abergavenny NP7 5RY, Wales
01873 737 800
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #54 of 75 Restaurants in Abergavenny
Price range: $2 - $16
Cuisines: Café
Restaurant details
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“things have changed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

seems to be going down hill. my last visit was not a good one and i haven't been back since. It is a shame because i did love my weekly coffee there.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    3
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pontypool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Coffee, Great Service by a Nice group of Barristas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

My partner and I go to this coffee shop a few times week, The shop is run by a lovely group, the bottom line is that the coffee here is excellent, whether you enjoy Lattes, Cappuccino, Flat Whites etc, they are all good!!! If you are not happy they will always make you another cup. I do admit that around a year ago the coffee and service was not as good, however its excellent now!!! It is a little small downstairs to be fair, however you can go upstairs and grab a comfy chair!!!

One final point, the Cakes are excellent too.

My favourite drink is a flat white, Strong taste but simply stunning!!

Keep up the good work Coffee #1 Abergavenny

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales UK
Top Contributor
235 reviews 235 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
“So packed together”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

It's in a great position but, the tables are jam packed together downstairs it's difficult not to tune into the adjacent tables!! Staff are polite, service takes a little while because of the limitations of the coffee machine. Food is a tad expensive to say the least and, either cakes/pastries or a savoury such as a sandwich!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cwmbran, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

This used to be our favourite coffee shop in Abergavenny. It used to have great coffee (still good), and fantastic cakes - particularly their carrot cake and Almond Croissant. We revisited after some time using elsewhere as they could never get the temperature right, and it really is too small to be comfortable. It still hadn't solve the problems with the air conditioning, and the furniture is long overdue replacement. The most disappointing thing was that the cakes, and in particular the carrot cake, had shot up in price and been reduced in size by about one third! Shame, it seems that the principles that made it so good are being eroded in the search for bigger profits.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“the best coffee in Abergavenny?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Astonished to see the negative reviews on this site! You will find us here most Saturdays en famille enjoying good coffee and chocolate with the kids. Fabulous bacon sarnies and great millionaires shortbread. We will keep going. Much more authentic than the big coffee chains!
But then trip advisor lists the walnut tree as the 8thbest in Abergavenny! Try explaining that to Michelin?

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coffee#1 also viewed

Abergavenny, Monmouthshire
Abergavenny, Monmouthshire
 
Abergavenny, Monmouthshire
Abergavenny, Monmouthshire
 

Been to Coffee#1? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coffee#1, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.