We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Lamb & Flag

The Lamb & Flag
Brecon Road, Abergavenny NP7 7EW, Wales
+44 1873 857611
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #40 of 74 Restaurants in Abergavenny
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Cornwall
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

When we visited we had our dog with us so we had to sit out on terrace area which was a bit chilly, but on the plus side had a fantastic view. The food was good -there was plenty of choice - and out meals were very tasty when they arrived. The service was swift and friendly although we visited outside the main lunch hour "rush".

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    34
    11
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Wales
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Lovely but starting to go slightly downhill”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

I am a regular at the Lamb, it has a lovely atmosphere and good food (some of the best steak I have ever had). The outdoor seating is lovely with a stunning view. I usually go 7/8 times a year but sadly in the last year the service has gone slightly downhill.

Food is brilliant, drink is brilliant, interior is brilliant but staff are less than OK

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abertillery, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lovely food service can be poor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

On my first visit here was last summer, we selected a table outside as it was a lovely day, ordered drinks and was told there was an hour wait for food, which was fine we had all evening. On selecting our food about 10 minutes after drinks we was told at the bar that they was not taking orders which was annoying so we left and went to The Bayleaf Indian restaurant in Abergavenny town, on my second attempt at visiting the lamb and flag was a more positive occasion we arrived at 1pm and was told food may take an hour as there was a function going on which we was happy with, within half an hour we had our starter king prawn and calamari which was lovely so was the mains, good service this time and will try again.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Quality Food! ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We came here as a party of 12. There were already a party of 15 + the pub was full anyway, so the staff were pushed beyond their limits yet still provided quality service, the food was great, top notch pub food borderline resturant food. Friendly atmosphere, Friendly staff. Will definitely be going there more often!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Sunday Lunch in the Welsh Valley's”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Booked in with 3 adults, you young men and a toddler...... We were greeted with cheer and smiles and made to feel at home even though they were very very busy. The staff were very attentive but not pushy to get the orders taken. Two Roast Beefs and a Roast Chicken with a field of potato's and medium sized veg patch. 2 steak and Ale pie's and chips and Popcorn Chicken and Chips for Lucy and we were set. There was enough to go around and them some and with two hungry boys to feed and eat like lions it was a great meal. The play area for the little on was great and well thought out.

Great value for money with the meals and drinks we had.

Great service

Highly recommended

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lamb & Flag also viewed

Abergavenny, Monmouthshire
Chepstow, Monmouthshire
 
Abergavenny, Monmouthshire
Abergavenny, Monmouthshire
 

Been to The Lamb & Flag? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lamb & Flag, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.