We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place with flaws” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pizzorante

Pizzorante
Market St, Abergavenny NP7 5SD, Wales
01873 857777
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 74 Restaurants in Abergavenny
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: A new restaurant which offers fantastic Italian cuisine - all home made to order
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nice place with flaws”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Went as a group of 4 on a Friday night. Staff were friendly and attentive but it was very busy. It can get very noisy at times. Starter of fried squid, prawns and courgettes was very nice, my sausage pasta was average, I was pretty jealous of my mates pizza which was excellent. Wine wasn't great but that's personal taste. They were very helpful with my vegan girlfriends dietary requirements and did give us some free limoncello as it was my birthday. Overall slightly mixed but generally good and I would go back. Definitely going to try the take away pizza at least.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    28
    12
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Builth Wells
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Great lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

Hoping to find somewhere for lunch on the way through. Lot of restaurants closed only opening evenings. Checked Tripadvisor and found this place. Agree with others. Excellent quality food and service. Efficient staff. Good value for money.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bundaberg, Queensland, Australia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Wow !!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

Our first experience of UK food and the experience just blew is away ...Tuesday night jet lagged and tired we decided to nip out for a quick bite ... Being Tuesday night and early we thought there was no need to book and arrived to be greeted at the door and asked we we had a table reserved

Yeah yeah... being seasoned travellers ...we know this 'old trick' !!! and checking the reservations .... surprise ... surprise... although the restaurant was empty ... they managed to find us a table in the corner. !!!

I don't think I have ever experienced such efficient and professional service our needs were almost anticipated by telepathy ???all staff worked in total. unison ...the food was exceptional it really is Italian cuisine at its very best ...great choice of starters .... the lasagna just perfect and as for the pasta with prawns and chilli it was to die for !!!

We Australians are well known to hate tipping but in this instance more than happy to give more than the UK normal !!!

(As you perhaps suspected... by the time we left the restaurant was packed )

What I haven't mentioned is the stunning way this old building has been transformed into a great venue but I will leave that to be discovered during your visit..

Well.. well worth the effort to go out if your way to experience ... Oh did I mention .. you need to book !!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abergavenny
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Still the Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

My partner and I have been fairly regular visitors to this little restaurant in the two years it's been open, so at long last I have got round to reviewing it.
We visited last Friday evening, and as usual, the place was buzzing. Despite several changes of personnel lately, the warm welcome, super efficient friendly service, and fantastic food have remained the same. Although it's a fairly small menu, other than pizzas, there is pretty much something for everyone's taste and the specials are a delight.
I really cannot recommend this place highly enough. If you are in Abergavenny and want high quality genuine Italian food, wine and welcome, then this is the only place in town to visit.
Thanks to everyone on Friday for making our evening so enjoyable.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Consistent, friendly & welcoming”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

I've eaten here a few times. Nothing fancy or pretentious just good honest food cooked well and at a reasonable price. Never been disappointed. The sort of place you can call in on a weekday after work with friends or family. I've arrived just as they have opened and just before they close and you are always treated as a special guest.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pizzorante also viewed

Abergavenny, Monmouthshire
Abergavenny, Monmouthshire
 
Abergavenny, Monmouthshire
Abergavenny, Monmouthshire
 

Been to Pizzorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pizzorante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.