We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OMG” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Llansantffraed Court

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Llansantffraed Court to your Saves list
Llansantffraed Court
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Llanvihangel Gobion, Abergavenny NP7 9BA, Wales   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Super Spring Special
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Abergavenny
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“OMG”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I have been here many times, we come every Xmas eve as they do a wonderful menu over Xmas which is great value with wonderful food.

I came for the £15 set lunch to try.

I want to start my review by saying we eat out regularly and Thursday passed went to the walnut tree.

The meal Thursday was top draw but I have to say today's lunch is beyond comparison.

I started with a crab dish (I now love cucumber but only if soaked in Pernod) compliment of the chef (mike) starter was trio of salmon with a main of fillet of Brecon beef with rib and roasted veg.

The salmon was simply stunning, caviar good with two separate. Salmon tartare salmon fillet in particular good.

Beef cooked to perfection! The fillet melted in the mouth and while fillet not my favourite cut it was amazing.

The menu changes daily and there is a full a la carte menu and the set lunch two choices per course. Fresh and adequate.

Overall the service (wil) in particular is faultless food nothing short of stunning.

We paid £30 for the both of us for the two courses. ( sorry it's not a typo yes it was £30. The value the setting the service is simply wow wow wow.

Thanks to Maggie our waitress who simply added to the lunch.

I can't stress strongly enough that Abergavenny's best restaurant will take much to surpass so do yourself and your family and friends a huge favour. Try try try.

P.S we shared a chocolate fondant with cookie crumble and sherry,,,,, I know it's bad of us but to add £4.50 to the bill seemed rude not to.

Nigel

Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    76
    27
    13
    4
See reviews for
43
191
6
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stayed for a couple of nights after Easter. Paid normal tariff for a standard double room. No complaints at all with the room; decent size, comfortable bed, high standard of housekeeping, good outlook (dual aspect to side and rear), very nice modern bathroom. Public areas are very pleasant indeed. Staff are on the whole extremely friendly and helpful. We were blessed with glorious weather and were able to enjoy late afternoon drinks on the terrace and the lovely grounds. The food is of a very high standard indeed. We ate in the restaurant both nights and had two super meals. A smoked mackerel and smoked eel starter in particular will live long in the memory. Although the food is "serious", service is very friendly and the waitresses obviously had real pride in the food they were serving. Breakfast is everything you would want (choice of usual cooked breakfasts, fresh fruit, pastries, very good coffee). All in all, a very relaxing break in lovely surroundings.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Wow! As we crunched up the gravel drive, I wished I had packed the empire line dresses and a bonnet! Beautiful building with a swan lake in the grounds. The tiny chapel is also available to view and is active in the parish. The staff could not have been more attentive. The room was delightful, with casement windows reminiscent of Wuthering Heights. (Sorry, English teacher- references come as standard)
And the food! Fast for a week before you get there. As we visited mid week, we were upgraded to the taster menu on our second night, at no extra cost. Everything was cooked to perfection and our maitre d' explained each course, with a recommendation of wine to complement it.
It was perfect in every way. We would recommend it highly. But perhaps we shouldn't. Don't want crowds there next time we go !

Room Tip: Try 2nd floor. Attic/garret sloped ceilings. Atmospheric!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at Llansanffraed Court for a couple of nights with a travelzoo deal including a 7 course tasting menu, we upgraded to an executive room and the hotel very kindly upgraded as again for free to the bridal suite, with four poster bed and sofa with an excellent view of the beautiful garden. The 7 course tasting menu was of a very high standard with delicious and unusual dishes. There were a couple of really minor points which I do not mention here as it would be petty. This was a very good stay in a relaxed hotel with very good service.

Room Tip: We had the bridal suite which was very spacious and decorated very tastefully, with a four poster be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This is a hotel where nothing is too much trouble. The staff are extremely relaxed and competent, ensuring your stay is exactly how you would want it to be.
Set in beautiful grounds, the views are stunning. Rooms and furnishings are comfortable but slightly lived in but this seems to add to the relaxed atmosphere!!!
The food here is excellent! There is great choice and everyone is catered for .... We are pescatarian and this was also taken into account, when free canapés are given with our dinner drinks.
Everything is just right!

Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leominster, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A wonderful Easter Monday lunch, in the gardens, by the lake. The food was excellent, the staff were friendly and helpful. Extra complimentary taster, home baked cookies with our coffee and ice cream because the kids were well behaved.
The surroundings are idyllic, the swans stayed at the far end of the lake and there is plenty of space for all to enjoy.
It is an ideal spot for a wedding.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

well what an utter disappointment ! Living locally we decided to try out the full afternoon tea menu and what a let down ! Two rooms with glorious fires and we are seated in a back room over looking builders renovations ! The sandwiches were very poor ! Plastic ham boring cheese and tomato and tinned tuna and sweet corn on basic white and brown bread ! The scones were over baked the welsh cakes dry and the cake selection reminiscent of Aldis on a bad day ! Will not be going back there the only redeeming element was a good pot of coffee !

Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Llansantffraed Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Llansantffraed Court

Address: Llanvihangel Gobion, Abergavenny NP7 9BA, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Monmouthshire > Abergavenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Abergavenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Llansantffraed Court 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stunning Four Star Country House Hotel, Best Small Restaurant in the National Tourism Awards for Wales 2013, set in 20 acres of landscaped grounds. 21 Individually appointed luxury bedrooms, elegant drawing rooms and lounges, real log fires, traditional afternoon tea, fine wine cellar, an amazing restored victorian walled vegetable garden and breath taking views from every room. Close to the Wye Valley and the Brecon Beacons National Park, just 2 hours from Heathrow and 20 minutes from Junction 24 of the M4. Spoil yourself here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Llansantffraed Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Llansantffraed Court Abergavenny, Wales
Llansantffraed Court Hotel Abergavenny

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Llansantffraed Court, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.