We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional staff and first class food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Llansantffraed Court

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Llansantffraed Court to your Saves list
Llansantffraed Court
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Llanvihangel Gobion, Abergavenny NP7 9BA, Wales   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Abergavenny
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Exceptional staff and first class food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights for a wedding in May. This is a beautiful location and a lovely wedding venue especially as we had exclusivity for the day and night of the wedding. Nothing was too much trouble for all members of staff and they were extremely friendly and courteous throughout. Despite wet weather they were able to serve canapés and reception drinks in the lobby areas before the wedding breakfast. Guests at each table were served at the same time so that there were no delays waiting for meals and the quality of all meals was excellent. We particularly noticed that all staff mucked in and did a job if it needed doing - very impressive. Our room on the second floor was large and had a modern bathroom but we did notice that some were a little less smart although clean and functional. All in all a delightful couple of nights spent here.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    73
    25
    12
    4
See reviews for
41
177
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

We initially looked at this venue for our wedding day in 2012, and it was only the distance for family members to travel that stopped us booking. But on a whim we decided to go for a Bank Holiday one nighter away, and luckily were able to get a room. It's just wonderful here, setting is fairy tale, service is fab and the food is excellent (with the lowest carbon footprint ever!) The meal my wife and I had in the restaurant that evening, the veg literally had a journey of a 100 yards from the walled garden. A walk around the grounds the next day, and a lengthy chat that morning with the gardner, who showed us all around, and shared her plans fro future veg in the greenhouses was just lovely. Really didn't want to leave, and would highly recommend for a special treat.

Room Tip: Room 8 over looks the front of the Hall, pond, fountain and church in the distance. I would try and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

A little late leaving this review as we stayed here in Feb but can't imagine much has changed in the last couple of months. Hubby and l stayed here over the Valentine period. The hotel is stunning with gorgeous grounds. As others have said the only let down being the rooms . We paid for a room upgrade, but to be honest l don't know what we got for the upgrade. Some elements of the room were quite tired -the TV bracket was broken and so the television hung down at an angle making it unwatchable had we wanted to watch TV. Also the windows did not shut properly and were very drafty. If this was the upgrade I'm not sure what the standard room would be like - certainly not what I would expect for 4 star accommodation . But that is where the negatives end . After checking in hubby and I wandered to the bar area . Sat in front of a wonderful open fire -the setting was perfect. Unfortunately we were too late for a bar meal but a member of staff said she could get us some snacks. She returned with a couple of bowls of 'posh crisps' (parsnip, beetroot, carrot crisps etc) and a fruit and nut mix. We were amazed at check out to find that they had been free of charge !

We had booked the 6 course taster menu and accompanying flight of wine. Superb! Every course was fantastic and the wines matched brilliantly. Breakfast the next day was equally delicious - all ingredients provided by local suppliers, the quality of which was unbeatable. So to sum up - lovely venue, beautiful grounds, incredible food, great staff, but rooms a let down. ( not bad enough to deter me from visiting again however)

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for a family wedding the whole day was lovely. The wedding meal was excellent as was the breakfast and the waiting staff were very efficient and attentive as we're all the hotel staff. The hotel is very welcoming and clean. The only down fall was the bedrooms.. Very old fashioned and cold, the carpets had seen better days as had the furniture and the bathroom could definitely use an update, although the bed was very comfortable, for the money we paid for this room I would expect a better standard.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

Enjoyed a set dinner to celebrate my Mum's 80th birthday. The meal was excquisite, with huge amount of care and attention paid to every aspect of the food, from the canapes, through the amuse bouche, and right through to the petit fours after dinner. Just fab ... and a lovely evening in a beautiful environmnet which my Mum loved!! We'll be back!

Room Tip: we didn't stay overnight ... just had a great meal!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014 via mobile

We had our wedding in Llansantffread Court in July and have returned on a few occasions for food. Every time we have been we have received excellent service and the staff are always friendly and professional.

When we were planning our wedding nothing was to much trouble and Lauren the wedding planner was so helpful and professional. On the day of our wedding the service was seamless and the food excellent.

Having returned to the restaurant for Sunday lunch and to try the tasting menus the food is magnificent! In fact everything we go back it seems that's the food improves. Equally the service remains exceptional!

To date we have not had bad experience and we love retuning to Llansantffraed Court!! We can not wait till out next visit!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

A great hotel that really is in the middle of nowhere. The hotel itself was nice, the rooms also adequate, nothing really special though. What makes this hotel fantastic is both the staff and the food.
The staff could not do enough for you, attentive and genuine. The food was out of this world. We had the 7 course taster menu and it was a culinary experience that we both thought WOW. The courses were simply the best and the service as good. Breakfast was what one would usually expect of this class of hotel. Not a lot to do in the area for an overnight visit but the food was worth the travel. We would certainly go again and a big thank you to the staff

Room Tip: The lake view rooms are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Llansantffraed Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Llansantffraed Court

Address: Llanvihangel Gobion, Abergavenny NP7 9BA, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Monmouthshire > Abergavenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Abergavenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Llansantffraed Court 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stunning Four Star Country House Hotel, winner of Best Small Restaurant in the National Tourism Awards for Wales, set in 20 acres of landscaped grounds. 21 individually appointed luxury bedrooms, elegant drawing rooms and lounges, real log fires, traditional afternoon tea, fine wine cellar, an amazing restored victorian walled vegetable garden and breath taking views from every room. Close to the Wye Valley and the Brecon Beacons National Park, just 2 hours from Heathrow and 20 minutes from Junction 24 of the M4. Spoil yourself here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Llansantffraed Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Llansantffraed Court Abergavenny, Wales
Llansantffraed Court Hotel Abergavenny

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Llansantffraed Court, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.