We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding Chris and Vicky” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Llansantffraed Court

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Llansantffraed Court to your Saves list
Llansantffraed Court
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Llanvihangel Gobion, Abergavenny NP7 9BA, Wales   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Abergavenny
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wedding Chris and Vicky”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We recently had our wedding here on june 29th 2012 and we were not disappointed. Lauren, Mike and the staff did an amazing job at making our day extra special. We booked rooms the night before and the day of the wedding. I would highly recommend doing this as it meant we had exclusivity of the hotel and this was very important to us. Our wedding guests were completely blown away by the service, food and the friendliness of the staff. They could not do enough for us and our guests.
Having spent many years working in the hotel industry in 5 and 7 stars hotels we felt llansantffraed court exceeded our expectations in every way.

We wished we could relive the whole day again.

Both Chris and myself can not wait to visit again sometime soon.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    74
    25
    12
    4
See reviews for
41
177
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
newport ,uk
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

went for wedding ,lovely surrounding's,however very poor meal,roast potatoes so hard they were like rock's,beef very fatty,veg also hard,best thing was the dessert cheese cake was very nice,staff were helpful,toilet's were clean,Outside the patio is uneven, cracked and an accident waiting to happen with no lighting to the one side,how one never happened i don't know.scenery lovely .

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

We have spent two really enjoyable stays at the classic Llansantffraed Court Hotel. Each visit was part of a Groupon deal which included an evening meal based on a five course taster menu. On each visit the staff were so friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean and comfortable and appropriately appointed. The grounds and surroundings of the hotel are equisite and if you are lucky enough to have good weather as well, then you can really enjoy the whole experience. We love it so much that we have seriously thought that this would be a perfect pace for our daugther's wedding (whenever that will happen!!). Thanks Llansantffraed Court Hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We held our wedding reception at Llansantffraed Court on the 7th July 2012. Lauren and her team were brilliant on both the lead up and on the day itself. It was great how we had exclusive use of the hotel making the day so much more personal.
The hotel was very flexible and accommodating to all our ideas for the big day. We even had our dog there for the reception! We were allowed to decorate the venue exactly how we wanted. Lauren organised a little marquee on the terrace for the band and dancing which seemed to work really well.

The food was delicious on the wedding day itself and the breakfast on the following morning. We could relax during the meal, knowing at the team at the LLansantffraed would ensure all the timings ran smoothly.

All our guests keep commenting on what a lovely day it was.

If you are looking for a personal, intimate wedding venue set in beautiful grounds then we would definitely recommend the Llansantffraed Court.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Our wedding was held at the Llansantffraed on 5th June but it is only now that I feel strong enough to write a review as sadly my mum passed away four days before the wedding after a very short illness.

All at the hotel were absolutely brilliant from the time we booked the venue to the time we checked out. Mike helped us initially and then handed over to new recruit Lauren, who was wonderful throughout. Nothing was ever too much trouble and we were always greeted with a radiant smile.
The day was of course tinged with much sadness, but the staff at the hotel also helped to make it a very special day with their care and sensitivity throughout. …‘Thank you all at the Llansantffraed, particularly Lauren, Ethan, Charlotte and Kasha’

Mike you have a wonderful team. You should be very proud of them. The service was impeccable and the food was a gastronomic delight. While I remember - please thank the Chef for the best fillet of Beef Wellington we have ever tasted and the pineapple tarte tatin…mmmm

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

What a lovely hotel. Very picturesque setting, in terms of both grounds and the surrounding countryside. Our room was very comfortable, with everything you could need, including complimentary snacks. Food was also very tasty, especially breakfast, though the service was a little slow (a lot of people came in at once so perhaps this is why).
I think the bathrooms/rooms are in the process of being refurbished, we saw our friends room and they had a much nicer bathroom, but regardless of what you get I don't think there's anything to complain about.
Staff are friendly and efficient. If I were in the area again I'm sure I'd come back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, England
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Stayed here as part of a wedding at Llansantffraed Court (which itself was superb - keeping it brief, it was great and the staff / hotel were superb).

I will admit initially I thought the cost of the hotel room was very expensive but actually come the end of my stay I couldnt complain.

Room was very comfortable and very clean. Spacious and equipped with TV, iPod dock, nice selection of teas / biscuits / complimentary water, towels and toileteries. Location / grounds / surroundings are stunning. Very nice views also. For a wedding, having a room upstairs is very convenient so strongly recommend it regardless of whether other B&B's around are cheaper.

I went to another friends room on the 2nd floor and it was nicer (not to say mine wasnt good) - perhaps rooms on this floor have been refurbished more recently (specifically the bathroom).

Breakfast was excellent - very impressed indeed!

Would happily stay again!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Llansantffraed Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Llansantffraed Court

Address: Llanvihangel Gobion, Abergavenny NP7 9BA, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Monmouthshire > Abergavenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Abergavenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Llansantffraed Court 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stunning Four Star Country House Hotel, winner of Best Small Restaurant in the National Tourism Awards for Wales, set in 20 acres of landscaped grounds. 21 individually appointed luxury bedrooms, elegant drawing rooms and lounges, real log fires, traditional afternoon tea, fine wine cellar, an amazing restored victorian walled vegetable garden and breath taking views from every room. Close to the Wye Valley and the Brecon Beacons National Park, just 2 hours from Heathrow and 20 minutes from Junction 24 of the M4. Spoil yourself here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Llansantffraed Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Llansantffraed Court Abergavenny, Wales
Llansantffraed Court Hotel Abergavenny

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Llansantffraed Court, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.