We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible cakes, truly a must stop destination.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cwtch Cafe

Cwtch Cafe
58, Cross Street, Abergavenny NP75EU, Wales
01873855466
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 74 Restaurants in Abergavenny
Cuisines: European, Coffee Shop, Café
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
1 review
“Incredible cakes, truly a must stop destination.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012 via mobile

The decor is lovely, clean but Cosy and makes the most of the architectural features inside. We were served by the baker himself and he happily shared some secrets with us. On offer were sponge cakes the size of which I've never seen in my life. We tried jacket potatoes with three bean salad all salads home made and were treated to Beetroot chutney with cumin and orange on the house. The real stars were the cakes- a truly incredible raspberry ruffle cake which is defying recreation at home and a rhubarb muffin which was light and tangy. Only sad that Abergavenny is a once a year stop at most.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    32
    10
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very yummy!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

I was greeted by a lovely gentleman & made to feel very welcome. Fantastic menu, had a truly delicious milkshake & only wish I'd been hungrier so I could have tried one of the cakes! I'll be back next time in Abergavenny! :)

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The place to go a cracker”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

My wife and i were on a short break in ross. It was a dull day so we got in the car and ended up in Abergavenny. After sometime in the flea market we went into Cwtch. What a delight it was, the service, the food, the atmosphere, top class. Try the Buck Rarebit superb.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Best toasted tea cakes in town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

Have to rave about the toasted tea cake. It was exceptionally good. (told it came from a bakery in Talgarth). Best I have ever had.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Town Cafe”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

The work Cwtch means cuddle, but I didn't feel the warmth in this cafe - it was ok, but a little too pretentious for the name.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cwtch Cafe also viewed

Abergavenny, Monmouthshire
Abergavenny, Monmouthshire
 
Abergavenny, Monmouthshire
Abergavenny, Monmouthshire
 

Been to Cwtch Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cwtch Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.