We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay at the Angel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Angel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Angel to your Saves list
The Angel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15 Cross Street, Abergavenny NP7 5EN, Wales   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Abergavenny
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely stay at the Angel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

The Angel is such a lovely hotel and our stay was very comfortable, specially with the upgrade to the cottage! The space is huge and you also have your own private garden where you can sit and have a coffee.
The meal at the restaurant was good. The only minor niggle was the slow bar service. Overall we had a great time and we would definitely come back.

Room Tip: The cottage is the best way to enjoy a great weekend away!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    315
    153
    40
    25
    6
See reviews for
93
248
19
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Near London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We've just enjoyed a really comfortable and very relaxing stay at The Angel. We found all the staff to be delightful and very efficient. The dreamy courtyard is the best place to chill out for a light lunch (I particularly enjoyed the crab starter, yummy) or as we did a second pot of coffee after breakfast. The rooms were spotlessly clean, obviously newly refurbished to a high standard and very comfortable. The small town of Abergavenny was bustling on Saturday afternoon and we enjoyed a stroll around some interesting shops.

Room Tip: Just look at the website, all the info you need is there, or call the hotel, staff are very efficien...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

I had a very good meal at the angel hotel on sunday June 30th.
I ordered roast chicken,it was cooked to perfection,i will have to come here more often,i would certainly recommend the restaurant,the hotel itself looks like a fine place too.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kernen im Remstal, Germany
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

we had dinner on Thursday June 27, excellent meal in restaurant, very friendly service. Then stayed for night to Friday, room in "Mews" was perfect in every respect, very clean, slept very good = could not have been better.
Then we came back on Sunday June 30, dinner in Foxhunter Bar, again excellent food, super friendly service, very nice atmosphere.
Room with window going to the courtyard was very nice, again a perfect bathroom, spotlessly clean, only problem was that room was very warm. We tried to get temperature down by opening the window, but did not succeed, although outside temperatures there much lower than in room. So my wife and I did not sleep well.
If we come back again to Abergavenny, we will definitly stay again at The Angel.
The service and friendliness are absolutly superb, restaurant, bar and rooms realy beautifull and far above other hotels and restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

My husband and I have just spent two nights at the Angel Hotel. We were given the Cottage which was a lovely surprise as it had everything we needed including privacy, comfort, and excellent facitlities, and just a short walk across the carpark. Our bedroom was delightful with lime washed beams and a large en-suite. Downstairs there was a lounge with comfortable chairs and a small kitchen. The meals taken in the hotel could not be faulted, especially the breakfasts, and the total cost was very reasonable having booked one of the champagne deals. We found all staff were attentive and friendly. Sitting out in the courtyard of the cottage garden, drinking our well chilled 'bubbly' in brilliant sunshine was indeed a real treat.
A few small negatives - the car park is too small for the number of hotel visitors and if full the resident guests have to use the pay and display carpark. The duvet on the bed was a winter weight which was far too hot for summer use, a sheet and thinner summer blanket would have been better, however there was a fan. It is not advisable to keep the windows of the cottage open during the night as the church bells chime every quarter. The second room at the back of the cottage is quite small with a compact shower room - if going away with friends then one couple would draw the short straw. Having said that, we would certainly return to what we consider as a high standard hotel with excellent service.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I ate at the hotel on Saturday 22 June.The food was marvellous,in 40 years of eating steaks I cannot think of where I have had a better one than at this hotel.I would now come out of my way to eat here it was so good.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

I was treated to Afternoon tea on thurs last week,the service was excellent ,and the selection for tea was very good,i would highly recommend this as a treat.We could not finish the tea as we were full and we were offered a box to take the cakes home,these were gratefully received !!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Angel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Angel

Address: 15 Cross Street, Abergavenny NP7 5EN, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Monmouthshire > Abergavenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Abergavenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Angel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish hotel and place to eat in the Brecon Beacons. Winner of The Tea Guild's prestigious Top City and Country Hotel Tea Award 2011. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your The Angel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Angel Hotel Abergavenny
Angel Hotel Abergavenny
The Angel Abergavenny, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Angel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.