We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and relaxing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Brasseria Italiana

La Brasseria Italiana
The Old stables | Lewis Lane, Abergavenny, Wales
01873 737937
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 75 Restaurants in Abergavenny
Price range: $9 - $25
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
bristol
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Friendly and relaxing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

Spent a Saturday lunchtime here with some family members. Food was ok but could have been better as some portions were much smaller than others. Service was ok but they sometimes needed a push. The weather was very cold outside and it could have been a bit warmer in side but the heating was obviously on low. That said, it was friendly and they were working hard to make sure we were happy. Overall good value for a lunchtime.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    35
    15
    3
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brecon, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Fantastic Quality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

This restaurant is a little expensive, but you do pay for what you receive, and you will no doubt get a delicious meal in a comfortable yet welcoming Italian atmosphere. Many of the staff are Italian I believe (unless my ears deceive me!) and you feel so welcomed and genuinely appreciated that you are choosing their restaurant. The wines on offer are absolutely gorgeous, and I recommend this restaurant to anyone wanting a romantic meal, or meal with friends and family. Take time to enjoy the atmosphere and delicious food and you will not be disappointed (but your wallet may hurt afterwards if you go the whole hog and have 3 courses with sides and drinks etc!).

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The poor service lets this restaurant down badly”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

Why don't some restaurants learn that as long as someone's got the drink they want in their hand they'll be happy and well disposed towards liking the place? Even though we sat in the downstairs area to start, next to where drinks were being prepared, no-one came to greet us and we eventually had to go to the bar to ask for someone to come and take our drinks order. I finally got a glass of wine 25 minutes after arriving; no-one came to explain that they couldn't find that bottle. And they weren't busy - only a quarter full. The food: the tagliarini with seafood, tomatoes and chili was actually excellent but the two who had the sea bass were disappointed that the breadcrumb topping was soggy rather than crispy. At the end of our main meal they cleared our plates but no-one brought us a dessert menu. In fact, 15 minutes passed when no-one - NO-ONE - from the restaurant staff were present upstairs. No-one to check whether their clientele needed anything (like a pudding!). We gave up, put coats on and walked downstairs and funnily enough three waitresses standing around came to greet us ... to make sure we paid. This was an example of some of the worst service I've experienced - as if they just couldn't care less.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brecon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fab Sunday Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We were in a bit of a hurry on Sunday but wanted to get a good meal, so we went to La Brasseria. The staff were great and once we told them of our time issue pulled out all the stops to get our main courses to us. I had the pasta with seafood and he had the veal, both were fantastic. We will be coming back to this restaurant very soon.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontyclun, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Very Impressed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We've dined here twice and loved it both times. The food is excellent and the staff friendly and helpful. Sit in the right place in the courtyard on a sunny day and one could actually be in Italy. Planning another trip to Abergavenny tomorrow and La Brasseria will be our first choice for lunch.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Brasseria Italiana also viewed

Abergavenny, Monmouthshire
Abergavenny, Monmouthshire
 
Abergavenny, Monmouthshire
Abergavenny, Monmouthshire
 

Been to La Brasseria Italiana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Brasseria Italiana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.